2020 Kansas Statutes

50-1006. Disclosure document to be provided by loan broker; when; contents; amendment of
document; estimated disclosure documents and additional documents detailing specific loan
information to be provided. (a) At least seven days before the time any person signs a
contract for the services of a loan broker, or seven days before the loan broker
receives any consideration upon the contract, whichever occurs first, the loan broker
must provide to the contracting person a written disclosure document that meets the
requirements set forth in subsection (b).

(b) A written disclosure document shall contain the following information:

(1) A disclosure statement which shall be the cover sheet and shall be entitled in at
least 10 point boldface capital letters "DISCLOSURES REQUIRED BY KANSAS LAW."
Under this title shall appear the statement in at least 10 point type that "The Kansas
securities commissioner has not reviewed and does not approve, recommend, endorse
or sponsor any loan brokerage contract. The information contained in this disclosure
has not been verified by the commissioner. If you have any questions see an attorney
before you sign a contract or agreement." Nothing except the title and the required
statement shall appear on the cover sheet;

(2) the name and form of organization of the broker, the names under which the
broker has done, is doing, or intends to do business, and the name of any parent
organization or affiliate of the broker;

(3) the names, addresses and titles of the broker's officers, directors, trustees,
general partners, general managers, principal executives and any other person
performing similar duties;

(4) the length of time the broker has conducted business as a loan broker;

(5) a full and detailed description of the actual services that the loan broker
undertakes to perform for the prospective borrower;

(6) the number of loan brokerage contracts the broker has entered into within the
past 12 months;

(7) the number of loan brokerage contracts in which the broker has successfully
obtained a loan for the prospective borrower within the last 12 months and the dollar
amount of the loans;

(8) financial statements for the loan broker's last fiscal year presented in accordance
with generally accepted accounting principles, and reviewed by an independent
accountant in accordance with standards established by the American institute of
certified public accountants, except that for initial applications for registration, the
financial statements shall include a balance sheet dated within four months of filing
for registration;

(9) a specific statement of the circumstances under which the broker will be entitled
to obtain or retain consideration from the party with whom the broker contracts; and
(10) any other information the commissioner may require.

(c) Aloan broker shall amend the disclosure document required by subsection (b)
whenever necessary to prevent it from containing any false or misleading statement
of a material fact and shall deliver a copy of the amended disclosure document to the
commissioner on or before the date of the amendment.

(d) A loan broker shall deliver to any person who proposes to become obligated for a
loan an estimated disclosure document if the creditor would be required to deliver to
the person a disclosure document under the Truth-in-Lending Act (15 U.S.C. 1601-
1667e) for the transaction. The estimated disclosure document shall:

(1) Be delivered to the person before the person becomes contractually obligated on
the loan; or

(2) be delivered or placed in the mail to the person not later than three business
days after the person enters into an agreement with the loan broker whichever occurs
first. The estimated disclosure document must contain all of the information and be in
the form required by the Truth-in-Lending Act (15 U.S.C. 1601-1667¢e) and regulations
under the act. However, the annual percentage rate, finance charge, total of
payments and other matters required under the Truth-in-Lending Act (15 U.S.C.
1601-1667e) shall be adjusted to reflect the amount of all fees and charges of the loan
broker that the creditor could exclude from an estimated disclosure document. The



estimated disclosure document must state at the top in at least 10 point type: "The
following is an estimated disclosure document showing your loan transaction as if the
fees and charges you are scheduled to pay us were charged to you directly by the
creditor." After the estimated disclosure document is delivered to any person, the
loan broker shall deliver to the person an additional statement redisclosing all items if
the actual annual percentage rate will vary from the annual percentage rate
contained in the original estimated disclosure by more than 0.125%. Any required
additional disclosure document shall be delivered or placed in the mail before
consummation of the loan or after three days from when the information that requires
redisclosure becomes available, whichever occurs first.

History: L. 1988, ch. 328, § 6; L. 1992, ch. 226, § 9; July 1.



