2020 Kansas Statutes

50-1118. Same; licensing required to conduct credit services organization business;
application. (a) No person shall engage in, or hold such person out as willing to engage
in any credit services organization business with a resident of this state without first
obtaining licensing from the commissioner. Any person required to be licensed as a
credit services organization shall submit to the commissioner an application for
licensing on forms prescribed and provided by the commissioner. The application for
licensing shall include:

(1) The applicant's name, business address, telephone number and website address,
if any;

(2) the name and address of each owner, officer, director, member or partner of the
applicant;

(3) a description of the ownership interest of any officer, director, member, partner,
agent or employee of the applicant in any affiliate or subsidiary of the applicant or in
any other entity that provides any service to the applicant or any consumer relating to
the applicant's credit services organization business;

(4) a description of the applicant's consumer education program; and

(5) any other information the commissioner may deem necessary to evaluate the
financial responsibility and condition, character, qualifications and fitness of the
applicant.

(b) Each application for licensing shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee
which shall be established by the commissioner through the adoption of rules and
regulations.

(c) The application shall be approved and a nontransferable and non-assignable
license shall be issued to the applicant provided:

(1) The commissioner has received the complete application and fee required by this
section; and

(2) the commissioner determines the financial responsibility and condition,
character, qualifications and fitness of the applicant warrants a belief the business of
the applicant will be conducted competently, honestly, fairly and in accordance with
all applicable state and federal laws.

(d) Each credit services organization license issued under this section shall expire
on April 30 of each year. A license shall be renewed by filing with the commissioner,
at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the license, a complete renewal application,
containing information the commissioner requires to determine the existence and
effect of any material changes from the information contained in the applicant's
original application, annual reports or prior renewal applications. Each renewal shall
be accompanied by a nonrefundable renewal fee which shall be established by rules
and regulations of the commissioner.

(e) If the commissioner fails to issue a license within 60 days after a filed application
is deemed complete by the commissioner, the applicant may make written request for
hearing. The commissioner shall conduct a hearing in accordance with the Kansas
administrative procedure act.

History: L. 2004, ch. 22, § 3; L. 2017, ch. 52, § 14; July 1.



