2020 Kansas Statutes

65-1455. Licensing of dental hygienists; examination, fee; license fee; temporary license;
qualifications; display of license; approval of schools of dental hygiene, criteria; unlawful
practice of dental hygiene, penalties. (a) No person shall practice as a dental hygienist in
this state until such person has passed an examination by the board under such rules
and regulations as the board may adopt. The board shall accept clinical board
examination results for graduates of dental hygiene schools approved by the board
from all nationally recognized regional dental hygiene clinical testing agencies and
from individual state dental hygiene licensure authorities. The fee for such
examination shall be fixed by the board pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1447, and amendments
thereto. A license fee shall be paid to the board in the amount fixed by the board
pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1447, and amendments thereto.

(b) Any graduate of an accredited dental hygiene school, dental college or dental
department of a college or university who: (1) Has a R.D.H. (registered dental
hygienist) or L.D.H. (licensed dental hygienist) and is otherwise qualified; (2) is not
licensed to practice as a dental hygienist in Kansas; and (3) holds a license to practice
in the state from which they are applying, upon application, may be issued a
temporary license of not more than 14 days to provide dental hygienist services under
subsection (f)(4) of K.S.A. 75-6102, and amendments thereto.

(c) The board shall issue licenses as dental hygienists to those who have passed the
examination in a manner satisfactory to the board. Each license shall be posted and
displayed in the office in which the hygienist is employed, but no person shall be
entitled to such license unless such person is more than 18 years of age, of good
moral character and a graduate of a school approved by the board for dental
hygienists. The board shall approve only those dental hygiene schools which require
the study of dental hygiene and which the board determines have standards of
education not less than that required for accreditation by the commission on dental
accreditation of the American dental association or its equivalent.

(d) The board shall adopt rules and regulations establishing the criteria which a
school for dental hygienists shall satisfy in meeting the standards of education
established under subsection (b). The board may send a questionnaire developed by
the board to any school for dental hygienists for which the board does not have
sufficient information to determine whether the school meets the requirements of
subsection (b) and rules and regulations adopted under this section. The
questionnaire providing the necessary information shall be completed and returned to
the board in order for the school to be considered for approval. The board may
contract with investigative agencies, commissions or consultants to assist the board in
obtaining information about schools. In entering such contracts the authority to
approve schools shall remain solely with the board.

(e) Any person practicing dental hygiene in violation of the provisions of this act
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, and the board may revoke or suspend such person's
license therefor.
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