2020 Kansas Statutes

65-6612. Temporary permit to engage in clinical addiction counseling; time limitations; fees,
fines, cease and desist orders. (a) Upon written application and board approval, an
individual who is licensed to engage in the independent clinical practice of addiction
counseling at the clinical level in another jurisdiction and who is in good standing in
that other jurisdiction may engage in the independent practice of clinical addiction
counseling as provided by the addiction counselor licensure act, in this state for not
more than 15 days per year upon receipt of a temporary permit to practice issued by
the board.

(b) Any clinical addiction counseling services rendered within any 24-hour period
shall count as one entire day of clinical addiction counseling services.

(c) The temporary permit to practice shall be effective on the date of approval by the
board and shall expire December 31 of that year. Upon written application and for
good cause shown, the board may extend the temporary permit to practice no more
than 15 additional days.

(d) The board shall charge a fee for a temporary permit to practice and a fee for an
extension of a temporary permit to practice as fixed under K.S.A. 65-6618, and
amendments thereto.

(e) A person who holds a temporary permit to practice clinical addiction counseling
in this state shall be deemed to have submitted to the jurisdiction of the board and
shall be bound by the statutes and regulations that govern the practice of clinical
addiction counseling in this state.

(f) In accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act, the board may issue
a cease and desist order or assess a fine of up to $1,000 per day, or both, against a
person licensed in another jurisdiction who engages in the independent practice of
clinical addiction counseling in this state without complying with the provisions of this
section.

History: L. 2010, ch. 45, § 6; L. 2016, ch. 92, § 56; July 1.



