2020 Kansas Statutes

66-1,114. Public motor carriers certificates of convenience and necessity; to transport
household goods or passengers; procedure to obtain; basis for issuance. (a) Except as
hereinafter provided, it shall be unlawful for any public motor carrier to operate as a
carrier of household goods or passengers in intrastate commerce within this state
without first having obtained from the commission a certificate of convenience and
necessity to transport household goods or passengers. The commission, upon the
filing of an application for a certificate, shall fix a time and place for hearing thereon,
which shall be not less than 20 and not more than 60 days after the filing and shall be
conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure
act. Notices of hearings shall be published electronically on the commission's web site
within three days of the filing of the application. Any person may offer testimony at
such hearing.

(b) If the commission finds that the proposed service or any part thereof is proposed
to be performed by the applicant, that the applicant is fit, willing and able to perform
such service, and that the applicant is in compliance with the commission's safety
rules and regulations, liability and cargo insurance requirements and other applicable
state laws, the commission shall issue the certificate of convenience and necessity to
transport household goods and passengers, except that if the commission finds that
the proposed service is inconsistent with the public convenience and necessity, the
commission shall not issue the certificate.

(c) Within 18 months of the issuance to a public motor carrier of a certificate of
convenience and necessity to transport household goods or passengers, the
commission shall verify that such public motor carrier continues to be fit,
knowledgeable and in compliance with the commission's safety rules and regulations,
liability and cargo insurance requirements and other applicable state laws.
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