
2020	Kansas	Statutes

66-1,140. Rules	and	regulations	governing	registration	and	fees	for	certain	vehicles	used
temporarily;	vehicles	entering	state	on	occasional	trips;	designation	of	superintendent	of	the
highway	patrol	as	issuing	agent;	acknowledgments.	(a)	The	commission	shall	make
reasonable	rules	and	regulations	specifying	circumstances	under	which	substitute	or
extra	trucks,	truck	tractors	or	passenger	vehicles	to	be	used	temporarily	in	cases	of
emergency	or	for	special	occasional	trips	by	carriers	currently	licensed	by	the
commission	may	be	registered	and	shall	prescribe	and	collect	a	reasonable
registration	fee	therefor,	not	exceeding	$10	for	each	truck,	truck	tractor	or	passenger
vehicle.	The	term	of	such	registration	shall	be	for	such	period	of	time	as	the
commission	shall	prescribe	by	rules	and	regulations.
(b) The	commission	shall	also	provide	for	special	registration	for	trucks,	truck
tractors	or	passenger	vehicles	not	registered	under	the	provisions	of	K.S.A.	66-1,139,
and	amendments	thereto,	which	enter	the	state	only	on	an	occasional	trip	or	in
temporary	service	and	shall	collect	$15	as	a	fee	therefor.
(c) By	contract	entered	into	by	the	commission,	the	superintendent	of	the	Kansas
highway	patrol	and	the	secretary	of	the	department	of	revenue,	the	commission	may
designate	the	superintendent	and	secretary	as	agents	authorized	to	provide	the
special	registrations	under	either	subsection	(a)	or	(b)	so	that	such	registrations	will
be	obtainable	at	motor	carrier	inspection	stations	and	department	of	revenue	offices.
In	such	event,	the	superintendent	or	the	superintendent's	designee	and	the	secretary
or	the	secretary's	designee	may	provide	such	special	registrations	pursuant	to	the
terms	and	conditions	of	the	applicable	contract.	The	commission	or	its	designated
agent	shall	acknowledge	special	registration	under	either	subsection	(a)	or	(b),	which
acknowledgment	shall	accompany	the	vehicle	and	be	used	and	accepted	as	evidence
of	such	registration;	and	when	necessary,	such	acknowledgment	shall	be	by	telegram.
History: L.	1955,	ch.	297,	§	3;	L.	1956,	ch.	50,	§	3;	L.	1957,	ch.	350,	§	3;	L.	1977,	ch.
304,	§	21;	L.	1988,	ch.	266,	§	5;	L.	2003,	ch.	124,	§	31;	July	1.


