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75-2748. Prohibited acts; criminal and civil penalties. (a) On and after January 1, 1990, no
person shall, unless such person holds a permit issued by the board to do so or is
exempt pursuant to subsection (b):

(1) Willfully disturb an unmarked burial site;

(2) knowingly possess human skeletal remains known to have been from an
unmarked burial site, or goods interred with such remains;

(3) display human skeletal remains known to have been from an unmarked burial
site, or goods interred with such remains;

(4) sell, trade or give away human skeletal remains known to have been from an
unmarked burial site, or goods interred with such remains; or

(5) throw away or discard human skeletal remains known to have been from an
unmarked burial site, or goods interred with such remains.

(b) Subsection (a)(2) shall not apply to possession of human skeletal remains or
burial goods by the state historical society or institutions of higher education
represented on the Kansas antiquities commission pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5402, and
amendments thereto, but the board, in consultation with interested parties, shall
review the collections of such society and institutions and report to the legislature on
or before January 13, 1992, any recommendations it has concerning human skeletal
remains and burial goods which are part of such collections and are from unmarked
burial sites. Subsections (a)(1) through (5) shall not apply to:

(1) Disinterment, possession, display, transfer, reinterment or disposition of human
skeletal remains, or goods interred with such remains, which are determined by a
coroner to be remains described by K.S.A. 22a-231, and amendments thereto; and
(2) private collections of burial goods acquired prior to January 1, 1990.

(c) Violation of this section is a crime punishable:

(1) Upon conviction of a first offense, by a fine of not more than $10,000, if the
commercial and archeological value of the remains and goods involved and all costs
related to their restoration and repair is $5,000 or less;

(2) wupon conviction of a first offense, by a fine of not more than $20,000, if the
commercial and archeological value of the remains and goods involved and all costs
related to their restoration and repair is more than $5,000; and

(3) upon conviction of the second or a subsequent offense, by a fine of not more than
$100,000.

(d) In addition to or in lieu of any penalty imposed pursuant to subsection (c), the
board, upon a finding that a person has violated any provision of this section or any
term of a permit issued under this act, may impose on such person a civil fine of not
more than $2,000 for each violation. Imposition of any such fine shall be only upon
notice and a hearing conducted in accordance with the Kansas administrative
procedure act and shall be subject to review in accordance with the Kansas judicial
review act.

History: L. 1989, ch. 234, § 8; L. 2010, ch. 17, § 196; July 1.



