2020 Kansas Statutes

76-14a03. Sale of home; sealed bids; notice; minimum sale price; reservation of minerals;
reversionary interest; deed, approval; disposition of moneys. The state board of social
welfare is hereby authorized and empowered to sell the property known as the
Ellsworth home for the aged, and more particularly described as the southwest
quarter (SW 1/4) of section twenty-nine (29), township fifteen (15), range eight (8),
except the portion thereof used for cemetery purposes. The board of social welfare
shall solicit sealed bids by public notice inserted in one publication in the Kansas
register. Sale of such property shall be made to the highest responsible bidder who
submits a bid within 30 days after publication of such notice, except that in no case
shall such property be sold for less than the sum of $20,000. The conveyance of said
property shall provide for the retention by the state of Kansas of all mineral rights in
and under such property, together with ingress and egress thereto for production of
any oil, gas, or other mineral, and shall also provide for the reversion of said title to
the state of Kansas in the event said property ceases to be used, operated and
maintained by said society for charitable purposes as a home for the aged or infirm.
The deed to said property shall be approved by the attorney general, and shall be
executed by the chairperson of the board of social welfare and duly acknowledged by
the chairperson before an officer authorized by law to take acknowledgments. The
amount received from the sale of said property shall be credited to the state general
fund.

History: L. 1959, ch. 328, § 1; L. 1981, ch. 324, § 31; Jan. 1, 1982.



