2020 Kansas Statutes

79-32,110. Tax imposed; classes of taxpayers; rates. (a) Resident Individuals. Except as
otherwise provided by K.S.A. 79-3220(a), and amendments thereto, a tax is hereby
imposed upon the Kansas taxable income of every resident individual, which tax shall
be computed in accordance with the following tax schedules:
(1) Married individuals filing joint returns.
(A) For tax year 2012:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $30,000 3.5% of Kansas taxable income
Over $30,000 but not over $60,000 $1,050 plus 6.25% of excess
over $30,000
Over $60,000 $2,925 plus 6.45% of excess
over $60,000
(B) For tax year 2013:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $30,000 3.0% of Kansas taxable income
Over $30,000 $900 plus 4.9% of excess over
$30,000
(C) For tax year 2014:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $30,000 2.7% of Kansas taxable income
Over $30,000 $810 plus 4.8% of excess over
$30,000
(D) For tax years 2015 and 2016:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $30,000 2.7% of Kansas taxable income
Over $30,000 $810 plus 4.6% of excess over
$30,000
(E) For tax year 2017:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $30,000 2.9% of Kansas taxable income
Over $30,000 but not over $60,000 $870 plus 4.9% of excess over
$30,000
Over $60,000 $2,340 plus 5.2% of excess over
$60,000
(F) For tax year 2018, and all tax years thereafter:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $30,000 3.1% of Kansas taxable income
Over $30,000 but not over $60,000 $930 plus 5.25% of excess
over $30,000
Over $60,000 $2,505 plus 5.7% of excess
over $60,000
(2) All other individuals.
(A) For tax year 2012:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $15,000 3.5% of Kansas taxable income
Over $15,000 but not over $30,000 $525 plus 6.25% of excess
over $15,000
Over $30,000 $1,462.50 plus 6.45% of excess
over $30,000
(B) For tax year 2013:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $15,000 3.0% of Kansas taxable income
Over $15,000 $450 plus 4.9% of excess over
$15,000
(C) For tax year 2014:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $15,000 2.7% of Kansas taxable income



Over $15,000 $405 plus 4.8% of excess over

$15,000
(D) For tax years 2015 and 2016:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $15,000 2.7% of Kansas taxable income
Over $15,000 $405 plus 4.6% of excess over

$15,000
(E) For tax year 2017:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $15,000 2.9% of Kansas taxable income
Over $15,000 but not over $30,000 $435 plus 4.9% of excess over

$15,000
Over $30,000 $1,170 plus 5.2% of excess over

$30,000
(F) For tax year 2018, and all tax years thereafter:
If the taxable income is: The tax is:
Not over $15,000 3.1% of Kansas taxable income
Over $15,000 but not over $30,000 $465 plus 5.25% of excess

over $15,000
Over $30,000 $1,252.50 plus 5.7% of excess

over $30,000
(b) Nonresident Individuals. A tax is hereby imposed upon the Kansas taxable
income of every nonresident individual, which tax shall be an amount equal to the tax
computed under subsection (a) as if the nonresident were a resident multiplied by the
ratio of modified Kansas source income to Kansas adjusted gross income.
(c) Corporations. A tax is hereby imposed upon the Kansas taxable income of every
corporation doing business within this state or deriving income from sources within
this state. Such tax shall consist of a normal tax and a surtax and shall be computed
as follows:
(1) The normal tax shall be in an amount equal to 4% of the Kansas taxable income
of such corporation; and
(2) (A) for tax year 2008, the surtax shall be in an amount equal to 3.1% of the
Kansas taxable income of such corporation in excess of $50,000;
(B) for tax years 2009 and 2010, the surtax shall be in an amount equal to 3.05% of
the Kansas taxable income of such corporation in excess of $50,000; and
(C) for tax year 2011, and all tax years thereafter, the surtax shall be in an amount
equal to 3% of the Kansas taxable income of such corporation in excess of $50,000.
(d) Fiduciaries. A tax is hereby imposed upon the Kansas taxable income of estates
and trusts at the rates provided in subsection (a)(2) hereof.
(e) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsections (a) and (b): (1) For tax years 2016
and 2017, married individuals filing joint returns with taxable income of $12,500 or
less, and all other individuals with taxable income of $5,000 or less, shall have a tax
liability of zero; and (2) for tax year 2018, and all tax years thereafter, married
individuals filing joint returns with taxable income of $5,000 or less, and all other
individuals with taxable income of $2,500 or less, shall have a tax liability of zero.
() No taxpayer shall be assessed penalties and interest arising from the
underpayment of taxes due to changes to the rates in subsection (a) that became law
on July 1, 2017, so long as such underpayment is rectified on or before April 17, 2018.
History: L. 1967, ch. 497, § 3; L. 1969, ch. 454, § 1; L. 1970, ch. 394, § 1; L. 1977, ch.
344, § 3; L. 1978, ch. 407, § 2; L. 1979, ch. 321, § 1; L. 1988, ch. 381, § 2; L. 1989, ch.
303, § 1; L. 1992, ch. 280, § 55; L. 1997, ch. 41, § 13; L. 1998, ch. 130, § 19; L. 2008,
ch. 182, § 22; L. 2012, ch. 135, § 10; L. 2013, ch. 135, § 1; L. 2015, ch. 99, § 25; L.
2015, ch. 102, § 3; L. 2017, ch. 84, § 4; July 1.



