Journal of the House

FIFTY-FIRST DAY

HALL OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, TOPEKA, KS, Thursday, March 31, 2022, 10:00 a.m.

The House met pursuant to adjournment with Speaker Ryckman in the chair.

The roll was called with 121 members present.

Reps. Estes, Poetter Parshall and Schmidt were excused on verified illness.

Rep. Baker was excused on legislative business.

Excused later: Reps. Burroughs, Coleman, Finney, Helmer, Neighbor, L. Ruiz, Samsel, Thompson, Victors and Winn.

Present later: Reps. Baker and Thompson.

Prayer by Rep. Humphries:

Dear God.

Thank You for this day You have given us.

In Proverbs You tell us that "where there is no vision, the people will perish."

Everyone here today has a vision of making things better for Kansans.

However great and good our visions are, they are limited by the fact that we can only see today. Give us your vision as you know what lies ahead for us.

Reveal to us your vision and may we work together in accomplishing that. As we serve you, as well as serve the people of Kansas. I pray this in Your Son's Name, Amen.

i pray tins in roar son sixame, rin

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Rep. Samsel.

PERSONAL PRIVILEGE

There being no objection, the following remarks of Rep. Ballard are spread upon the Journal:

Rep. Ballard was joined at the well by Reps. Megan Lynn, Annie Kuether, Mari-Lynn Poskin, Ponka-We Victors-Cozad, Brenda Landwehr, Sydney Carlin and Kristey Williams.

Good evening, On this final day of Women's History month, we thought we would share a few of the "21 Fascinating Women's History Month Facts" compiled by Jo Yurcaba and Elizabeth Berry:

As recent years have painfully indicated, inequality and sexism are still very much

alive and prevalent in the United States and across the world. A recent Pew Research Center survey, 42% of women said they'd experienced gender discrimination at work. They face the "motherhood penalty," in which women earn less money after they become mothers while men who become fathers actually earn more. These prevailing inequities are exactly why **Women's History Month**, which is recognized in March, matters so much.

Sharing Women's History Month facts and the stories of historic women isn't trivial — it helps celebrate those women who paved the way, and those who are fighting for and representing women now.

Representative Megan Lynn:

The first Women's History Day was held in 1909. February 28, 1909, marked the first Woman's History Day in New York City. It commemorated the one-year anniversary of the garment workers' strikes when 15,000 women marched through lower Manhattan. From 1909 to 1910, immigrant women who worked in garment factories held a strike to protest their working conditions. Most of them were teen girls who worked 12-hour days. In one factory, Triangle Shirtwaist Company, employees were paid only \$15 a week. *History.com* describes it as a "true sweatshop." Young women worked in tight conditions at sewing machines, and the factories' owners didn't keep the factory up to safety standards. In 1911, the factory burned down, and 145 workers were killed. It pushed lawmakers to finally pass legislation meant to protect factory workers.

Representative Annie Kuether:

Women's History: from a day, to a week, to a month. An education task force in Sonoma County, California kicked off Women's History Week in 1978 on March 8, International Women's Day, according to the National Women's History Alliance. They wanted to draw attention to the fact that women's history wasn't really included in K-12 school curriculums at the time.

Women's organizations, including the National Women's History Alliance, campaigned yearly to recognize Women's History Week. In 1980, President Jimmy Carter declared the week of March 8 Women's History Week across the country. By 1986, 14 states had declared the entire month of March Women's History Month, according to the Alliance. The following year, in March of 1987, activists were successful: They lobbied Congress to declare March Women's History Month.

Representative Mari-Lynn Poskin:

Every Women's History Month has a theme. "Generations of Courage, Compassion, and Conviction" was the theme of the first Women's History Month in 1987. The 2020 theme was "Valiant Women of the Vote" and honored women from the original suffrage movement, as well as women who continued the struggle in the 20th and 21st century, in recognition of the centennial of the 19th Amendment.

The 2003 theme of "Women Pioneering the Future" seems especially appropriate as women's history hit a milestone in the American West. It was the Wyoming Territorial Legislature that gave every woman the right to vote in 1869. They elected the country's first female governor, Nellie Tayloe Ross, in 1924.

Representative Ponka-We Victors-Cozad:

2016's theme was "Working to Form a More Perfect Union: Honoring Women in Public Service and Government." Today women make up 27 percent of Congress. One-

hundred and forty-five women serve in the United States Congress out of 535 total members. 50 women serve across the Kansas Legislature, 30% of the total.

34 women serve in the Kansas House, 27% of the total. The Kansas Senate counts 16 women members, 40% of that chamber. Though the number of women representatives continues to rise, it's important to keep in mind that the United States population is 50.8 percent female, according to Census data.

This month we lost the first female Secretary of State, Madeleine Albright. As the 64th Secretary of State, she became the highest-ranking woman in the U.S. government. Because of women public servants past and present, society continues to make strides.

Representative Brenda Landwehr:

2018's theme was "Nevertheless, She Persisted: Honoring Women Who Fight All Forms of Discrimination against Women" remains important as the gender pay gap persists. Despite the ever-growing number of women getting degrees, the gender pay gap has narrowed by less than half a cent per year since the Equal Pay Act was signed in 1963, according to *Forbes.com*. Women are paid 82 cents for every dollar that a man makes, with that gap widening even more for women of color, according to 2020 data by the National Women's Law Center.

1991's theme "Nurturing Tradition, Fostering Change" as Eleanor Roosevelt did when she held all-women press conferences. The First Lady held the first press conference for women reporters on March 6, 1933. She would cover issues "of special interest and value to the women of the country," according to the National Women's History Museum. Over the next 12 years she held 348 press conferences for women reporters.

Representative Sydney Carlin:

The 2017 theme was "Honoring Trailblazing Women in Labor and Business."

Women make up 57.8 percent of the labor force. And nearly a million women returned to the workforce in 2021, almost double that of men. According to research, 3.3 million of all the jobs added to the economy went to women, while 3.1 million went to men. This, however, should not overlook the jobs women, in particular women of color, lost during the pandemic. Two million women left the workforce as responsibilities such as childcare often fell on their shoulders.

Until Congress passed the Equal Credit Opportunity Act of 1974, women couldn't get credit cards in their own name. They faced hurdles obtaining mortgages and apartment leases without male co-signers. In 2020, women lost a champion: Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsburg, who laid the foundation for the Equal Credit Opportunity Act. She also protected many other basic rights women have today, including serving on juries.

Representative Kristev Williams:

"Celebrating Women of Courage and Vision" was the theme for 2001. Today, women make up 14 percent of active-duty military members. Women also make up 23% of officers in the Coast Guard. In January 2013, the U.S. government lifted its ban on women serving in combat positions.

2013's theme "Women Inspiring Innovation Through Imagination: Celebrating Women in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics" was especially appropriate. Marie Skłodowska Curie shared a Nobel Prize in Physics in 1903 with her

husband Pierre for their work in radioactivity. In 1911 she became one of the few people, and only woman, to be awarded a second Nobel Prize, this time in chemistry for her discovery of two new elements, polonium and radium. Curie's research served as the foundation for scientific advancements related to atomic bombs and nuclear medicine. Her daughter and son-in-law also shared a Nobel Prize for Chemistry in 1935 for work in radioactive materials.

Representative Barbara Ballard:

"Providing Healing, Promoting Hope" this year's theme not only honors the tireless work of caregivers and frontline workers during the Covid-19 pandemic, but also women of all backgrounds who have provided compassionate healing and hope for the betterment of patients, friends, and family.

In closing, we should remember the first woman inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. Known as the "Queen of Soul," Aretha Franklin was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1987 for songs of her own like "(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman." She was also involved in civil rights activism and performed at President Barack Obama's inauguration in 2009.

And what better way to close out Women's History Month than Aretha's popular song R-E-S-P-E-C-T for women everywhere!

Thank you to our assistant, Travis, for your help in preparing this tribute for Women's History Month.

REFERENCE OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bill was referred to committees as indicated: Redistricting: **SB 577**.

MESSAGES FROM THE SENATE

The Senate accedes to the request of the House for a conference on **HB 2237** and has appointed Senators Olson, Hilderbrand and Faust-Goudeau as conferees on the part of the Senate.

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report on Sub SB 563.

The Senate announced the appointment of Senator Olson to replace Senator Alley as a conferee on **HB 2138**.

The Senate announced the appointment of Senators Baumgardner, Erickson and Skyes to replace Seantors Warren, Wilborn and Haley as conferees on **SB 160**.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the House recessed until 10:25 a.m.

LATE MORNING SESSION

The House met pursuant to recess with Speaker Ryckman in the chair.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2476** submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on

conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with Senate Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 4, following line 24, by inserting:

- "New Sec. 4. (a) On and after January 1, 2023, any owner or lessee of one or more passenger vehicles or trucks registered for a gross weight of 20,000 pounds or less who is a resident of Kansas, upon compliance with the provisions of this section, may be issued one city of Hutchinson license plate for each such passenger vehicle or truck. Such license plates shall be issued for the same time as other license plates upon proper registration and payment of the regular license fee as provided in K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and either the payment to the county treasurer of the logo use royalty payment or the presentation of the annual logo use authorization statement provided for in subsection (b).
- (b) The city of Hutchinson may authorize the use of its flag image as its logo to be affixed on license plates as provided by this section. Any royalty payment received pursuant to this section shall be used to support the Hutch rec foundation and park development in Hutchinson. Any motor vehicle owner or lessee may apply annually to the city of Hutchinson for use of such logo. Such owner or lessee shall pay an amount of not less than \$25 nor more than \$100 to the city of Hutchinson as a logo use royalty payment for each such license plate to be issued. The logo use royalty payment shall be paid to either:
- (1) The city of Hutchinson, who shall issue to the motor vehicle owner or lessee, without further charge, a logo use authorization statement that shall be presented by the motor vehicle owner or lessee at the time of registration; or
 - (2) the county treasurer.
- (c) Any applicant for a license plate authorized by this section may make application for such license plate, not less than 60 days prior to such person's renewal of registration date, on a form prescribed and furnished by the director of vehicles. Any applicant for such license plate shall either provide the annual logo use authorization statement provided for in subsection (b) or pay to the county treasurer the logo use royalty payment. Application for registration of a passenger vehicle or truck and the issuance of the license plate under this section shall be made by the owner or lessee in a manner prescribed by the director of vehicles upon forms furnished by the director.
- (d) No registration or license plate issued under this section shall be transferable to any other person.
- (e) The director of vehicles may transfer a city of Hutchinson license plate from a leased vehicle to a purchased vehicle.
- (f) Renewals of registration under this section shall be made annually, upon payment of the fee prescribed in K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and in the manner prescribed in K.S.A. 8-132(b), and amendments thereto. No renewal of registration shall be made to any applicant until such applicant provides to the county treasurer either the annual logo use authorization statement provided for in subsection (b) or the payment of the annual royalty payment. If such statement is not presented at the time of registration or sent by the city of Hutchinson, or the annual royalty payment is not made to the county treasurer, the applicant shall be required to comply with the

provisions of K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and return the license plate to the county treasurer of such person's residence.

- (g) The city of Hutchinson shall provide to all county treasurers an electronic mail address where applicants can contact the city of Hutchinson for information concerning the application process or the status of such applicant's license plate application.
- (h) The city of Hutchinson, with the approval of the director of vehicles, shall design a plate to be issued under the provisions of this section.
- (i) As a condition of receiving the city of Hutchinson license plate and any subsequent registration renewal of such license plate, the applicant shall consent to the division authorizing the division's release of motor vehicle record information, including the applicant's name, address, royalty payment amount, plate number and vehicle type to the city of Hutchinson and the state treasurer.
- (j) The collection and remittance of annual royalty payments by the county treasurer shall be subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 8-1,141(h), and amendments thereto, except that payments from the city of Hutchinson royalty fund shall be made on a monthly basis to the appropriate designee of the Hutch rec foundation. A change of the city's designee shall occur only by mutual agreement of the city of Hutchinson and the Hutch rec foundation.
- New Sec. 5. (a) On and after January 1, 2023, any owner or lessee of one or more passenger vehicles or trucks registered for a gross weight of 20,000 pounds or less who is a resident of Kansas, upon compliance with the provisions of this section, may be issued one daughters of the American revolution license plate for each such passenger vehicle or truck. Such license plate shall be issued for the same time as other license plates upon proper registration and payment of the regular license fee as provided in K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and either the payment to the county treasurer of the logo use royalty payment or the presentation of the annual logo use authorization statement provided for in subsection (b).
- (b) The daughters of the American revolution may authorize the use of the organization's logo to be affixed on license plates as provided by this section. Any motor vehicle owner or lessee may apply annually to the daughters of the American revolution for use of such logo. Such owner or lessee shall pay an amount of not less than \$25 nor more than \$100 to the daughters of the American revolution as a logo use royalty payment for each such license plate to be issued. The logo use royalty payment shall be paid to either:
- (1) The daughters of the American revolution, which shall issue to the motor vehicle owner or lessee, without further charge, a logo use authorization statement that shall be presented by the motor vehicle owner or lessee at the time of registration; or
 - (2) the county treasurer.
- (c) Any applicant for a license plate authorized by this section may make application for such license plate not less than 60 days prior to such person's renewal of registration date, on a form prescribed and furnished by the director of vehicles, and any applicant for such license plate shall either provide the annual logo use authorization statement provided for in subsection (b) or pay to the county treasurer the logo use

royalty payment. Application for registration of a passenger vehicle or truck and issuance of the license plate under this section shall be made by the owner or lessee in a manner prescribed by the director of vehicles upon forms furnished by the director.

- (d) No registration or license plate issued under this section shall be transferable to any other person.
- (e) The director of vehicles may transfer a daughters of the American revolution license plate from a leased vehicle to a purchased vehicle.
- (f) Renewals of registration under this section shall be made annually, upon payment of the fee prescribed in K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and in the manner prescribed in K.S.A. 8-132(b), and amendments thereto. No renewal of registration shall be made to any applicant until such applicant provides to the county treasurer either the annual logo use authorization statement provided for in subsection (b) or the payment of the annual royalty payment. If such statement is not presented at the time of registration or sent by the daughters of the American revolution, or the annual royalty payment is not made to the county treasurer, the applicant shall be required to comply with the provisions of K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and return the license plate to the county treasurer of such person's residence.
- (g) The daughters of the American revolution shall provide to all county treasurers an electronic mail address where applicants can contact the daughters of the American revolution for information concerning the application process or the status of such applicant's license plate application.
- (h) The daughters of the American revolution, with the approval of the director of vehicles, shall design a plate to be issued under the provisions of this section.
- (i) As a condition of receiving the daughters of the American revolution license plate and any subsequent registration renewal of such license plate, the applicant shall consent to the division authorizing the division's release of motor vehicle record information, including the applicant's name, address, royalty payment amount, plate number and vehicle type to the daughters of the American revolution and the state treasurer.
- (j) The collection and remittance of annual royalty payments by the county treasurer shall be subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 8-1,141(h), and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 8-161 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-161. (a) Any disabled veteran as defined in K.S.A. 8-160, and amendments thereto, who resides in Kansas and who makes application to the director of vehicles on a form furnished by the director for registration of a motor vehicle that is a passenger vehicle, a truck with a gross weight of not more than 20,000 pounds, or a motorcycle and is owned or leased and used by such veteran may have such motor vehicle registered, and the director shall issue a distinctive license plate for it. Such license plate shall be issued for the same period of time as other license plates are issued. Such registration shall be made and such license plates issued free of charge to the disabled veteran. The director of vehicles shall also issue to the disabled veteran an individual identification card which must be carried by the disabled veteran when the motor vehicle being operated by the disabled veteran or used for the transportation of such disabled veteran is parked in a designated

accessible parking space. Such distinctive license plate shall not be printed with the international symbol of access to the physically disabled unless the disabled veteran meets the definition of a person with a disability as defined in K.S.A. 8-1,124, and amendments thereto.

- (b) Any Kansas resident who owns or leases a motor vehicle and who is responsible for the transportation of a disabled veteran or any resident disabled veteran desiring a distinctive license plate for a vehicle other than a motor vehicle owned or leased by the veteran may make application to the director of vehicles for such a license plate. Such license plate shall be issued for the same period of time as other license plates are issued. There shall be no fee for such license plates in addition to the regular registration fee. Such license plates shall not be printed with the international symbol of access to the physically disabled unless the applicant is responsible for the transportation of the disabled veteran who meets the definition of a person with a disability as defined in K.S.A. 8-1,124, and amendments thereto.
- (c) (1) The director of vehicles shall design a special license plate to be issued as provided in this act. No registration or license plates issued under this act shall be transferable to any other person. No registration under this act shall be made until the applicant has filed with the director acceptable proof that the applicant is a disabled veteran as defined by K.S.A. 8-160, and amendments thereto, or is responsible for the transportation of such veteran. Any applicant who requests the international symbol of access to be printed on the applicant's distinctive license plate shall provide the director with acceptable proof that the applicant meets the definition of a person with a disability as defined in K.S.A. 8-1,124, and amendments thereto.
- (2) Motor vehicles displaying the distinctive license plates provided for in this act with the international symbol of access displayed on such license plates shall be permitted to:
- (A) Park in any parking space on public or private property which is clearly marked as being reserved for the use of persons with a disability or persons responsible for the transportation of a person with a disability, except a parking space on private property which is clearly marked as being reserved for the use of a specified person with a disability;
- (B) park without charge in any metered zone—and. Such motor vehicle shall be exempt from any time limitation imposed on parking in any zone designated for parking, during the hours in which parking is permitted in any city; or
- (C) park without charge in any parking space in a public parking facility or public parking lot if such parking space is clearly marked as being reserved for the use of persons with a disability or persons responsible for the transportation of a person with a disability and such public parking facility or public parking lot employs persons who are parking attendants—to and who collect payment. Any parking occurring under the provisions of this subparagraph shall also comply with all regulations and restrictions posted at the entrance of the public parking facility or public parking lot by—its_the management thereof.
- (3) Motor vehicles displaying the distinctive license plates without the international symbol of access on such license plates shall be permitted to:
- (A) Park without charge in any metered zone. Such motor vehicle shall be exempt from any time limitation imposed on parking in any zone designated for parking during the hours in which parking is permitted in any city; or

- (B) park without charge in any parking space in a public parking facility or public parking lot if such parking space is clearly marked as being reserved for the use of persons with a disability or persons responsible for the transportation of a person with a disability and such public parking facility or public parking lot employs persons who are parking attendants and who collect payment. Any parking occurring under the provisions of this subparagraph shall also comply with all regulations and restrictions posted at the entrance of the public parking facility or public parking lot by the management thereof.
- (d) Any person who willfully and falsely represents that such person has the qualifications to obtain the distinctive license plates provided for by this section, or who falsely utilizes the parking privilege accorded by this section, shall be guilty of an unclassified misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than \$250.";

On page 6, following line 14, by inserting:

- "Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 8-1,146 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-1,146. (a) Any owner or lessee of one or more passenger vehicles, trucks of a gross weight of 20,000 pounds or less, motorcycles or travel trailers; who is a resident of the state of Kansas, and—who submits satisfactory proof to the director of vehicles as provided in subsection (c), in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the secretary of revenue; that such person has proof of: (1) Having served and is designated as a veteran, and has had an honorable discharge from the United States army, navy, air force, marine corps, coast guard, space force or merchant marines; or (2) currently serving in the United States army, navy, air force, marine corps, coast guard, space force or merchant marines, upon compliance with the provisions of this section, may be issued one distinctive license plate for each such passenger vehicle, truck, motorcycle or travel trailer designating such person as an United States military veteran. Such license—plates plate shall be issued for the same period of time as other license plates upon proper registration and payment of the regular license fee as provided in K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto.
- (b) On and after January 1, 2005, Any person issued a license plate under this section may request a decal for each license plate indicating the appropriate military branch in which the person served or is currently serving.
- (b)(c) Any person who is a veteran or current member of the United States army, navy, air force, marine corps, coast guard, space force or merchant marines may make application for such distinctive license-plates plate, not less than 60 days prior to such person's renewal of registration date, on a form prescribed and furnished by the director of vehicles, and. Any applicant for the distinctive license-plates plate shall furnish the director with proof as the director shall require that the applicant is a veteran or current member of the United States army, navy, air force, marine corps, coast guard, space force or merchant marines. As proof of military veteran status, an applicant may provide a DD214 form, a DD form 2 (Retired) or a Kansas driver's license with a veteran designation pursuant to K.S.A. 8-243(e), and amendments thereto. Application for the registration of a passenger vehicle, truck, motorcycle or travel trailer and issuance of the license plates under this section shall be made by the owner or lessee in a manner prescribed by the director of vehicles upon forms furnished by the director.
- (e)(d) No registration or distinctive license plates issued under the authority of this section shall be transferable to any other person.
 - (d)(e) Renewals of registration under this section shall be made annually, upon

payment of the fee prescribed in-subsection (a) K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and in the manner prescribed in-subsection (b) of K.S.A. 8-132(b), and amendments thereto. No renewal of registration shall be made to any applicant until such applicant has filed with the director a form as provided in subsection (b) (c). If such form is not filed, the applicant shall be required to comply with K.S.A. 8-143, and amendments thereto, and return the distinctive license plates to the county treasurer of such person's residence.

(e)(f) A fee of \$2 shall be paid for each decal issued under subsection (a). The director of vehicles shall design such decals. Such decals shall be affixed to the license plate in the location required by the director.";

On page 8, in line 33, after "Supp." by inserting "8-161,"; also in line 33, after "8-1,141" by inserting ", 8-1,146";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 2, by striking "and" and inserting a comma; also in line 2, after the second "medal" by inserting ", city of Hutchinson and daughters of the American revolution"; in line 4, after the semicolon by inserting "allowing the printing of the international symbol of access for disabled veteran distinctive license plates and certain parking privileges for disabled veterans who meet certain physical disability definitions; allowing veteran distinctive license plate applicants to provide a DD214 form, DD form 2 (Retired) or a Kansas veteran driver's license as proof of veteran status;"; in line 5, after "Supp." by inserting "8-161,"; also in line 5, after "8-1,141" by inserting ", 8-1,146":

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Mike Petersen
Elaine Bowers
Tom Hawk
Conferees on part of Senate

RICHARD PROEHL
LEO DELPERDANG
HENRY HELGERSON
Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Proehl, the conference committee report on ${\bf HB}$ 2476 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 115; Nays 5; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 5.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Awerkamp, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Finney, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson,

Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Winn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: Arnberger, Carmichael, Esau, Landwehr, Samsel.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Baker, Estes, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2478** submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with Senate Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 2, following line 28, by inserting:

- "Sec. 3. The portion of United States highway 69 from the northern junction of United States highway 69 and United States highway 54 in Bourbon county, then north on United States highway 69 to the Linn county line is hereby designated as the Senator Tom R Van Sickle memorial highway. Upon compliance with K.S.A. 68-10,114, and amendments thereto, the secretary of transportation shall place suitable signs to indicate that the highway is the Senator Tom R Van Sickle memorial highway.
- Sec. 4. Bridge No. 19-0115 located between the intersections with K-126 and north grand street and K-126 and north rouse street in the city of Pittsburg in Crawford county is hereby designated as the Dennis Crain memorial bridge. Upon compliance with K.S.A. 68-10,114, and amendments thereto, the secretary of transportation shall place suitable signs to indicate that the bridge is the Dennis Crain memorial bridge.
- Sec. 5. The portion of United States highway 69 from the northern junction of United States highway 69 and K-52 highway in Linn county, then south on United States highway 69 to the southern junction of United States highway 69 and K-52 highway is hereby designated as the AMM2c Walter Scott Brown memorial highway. Upon compliance with K.S.A. 68-10,114, and amendments thereto, the secretary of transportation shall place suitable signs to indicate that the highway is the AMM2c Walter Scott Brown memorial highway.
- Sec. 6. Bridge no. 0011-B0072 located on K-66 highway in Cherokee county and bridge no. 0011-B0005 located on K-66 highway in Cherokee county are each hereby designated as the veterans memorial bridge. Upon compliance with K.S.A. 68-10,114, and amendments thereto, the secretary of transportation shall place suitable signs to indicate that each bridge is the veterans memorial bridge.";

And by renumbering sections accordingly:

On page 1, in the title, in line 4, after "highway" by inserting "; designating a portion of United States highway 69 as the Senator Tom R Van Sickle memorial highway; designating a certain bridge on K-126 as the Dennis Crain memorial bridge; designating a portion of United States highway 69 as the AMM2c Walter Scott Brown memorial highway; designating bridges on K-66 highway as veterans memorial bridge";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Mike Petersen
Elaine Bowers
Tom Hawk
Conferees on part of Senate

RICHARD PROEHL
LEO DELPERDANG
HENRY HELGERSON
Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Proehl, the conference committee report on HB 2478 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 120; Nays 0; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 5.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Finney, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Winn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: None.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Baker, Estes, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2595** submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with Senate Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 1, in line 32, by striking "50" and inserting "60";

On page 2, in line 1, by striking "50" and inserting "60";

On page 1, in the title, in line 3, by striking "50" and inserting "60";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

MIKE PETERSEN ELAINE BOWERS TOM HAWK

Conferees on part of Senate

RICHARD PROEHL
LEO DELPERDANG
HENRY HELGERSON
Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Proehl, the conference committee report on HB 2595 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 119; Nays 1; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 5.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Awerkamp, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Finney, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Winn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: Arnberger.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Baker, Estes, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt.

MOTION TO CONCUR AND NONCONCUR

On motion of Rep. Arnberger, the House nonconcurred in Senate amendments to **HB 2644** and asked for a conference.

Speaker Ryckman thereupon appointed Reps. Barker, Arnberger and Ruiz, L. as conferees on the part of the House.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the House recessed until 2:00 p.m.

EARLY AFTERNOON SESSION

The House met pursuant to recess with Speaker Ryckman in the chair.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the House recessed until 2:30 p.m.

MID-AFTERNOON SESSION

The House met pursuant to recess with Speaker Ryckman in the chair.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2448** submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on

conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed as Senate Substitute for House Bill No. 2448, as follows:

On page 9, in line 12, after "to" by inserting ":

(i)";

Also on page 9, in line 13, after "dependents" by inserting "; and

(ii) individuals who are not employed at least 30 hours per week";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

RICHARD HILDERBRAND
BEVERLY GOSSAGE
PAT PETTEY
Conferees on part of Senate
SEAN TARWATER
AVERY ANDERSON
STEPHANIE CLAYTON
Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Tarwater, the conference committee report on S Sub for HB 2448 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 70; Nays 46; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 9.

Yeas: Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clifford, Collins, Corbet, Croft, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Hawkins, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ryckman, Sanders, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Toplikar, Turner, Wasinger, Waymaster, K. Williams.

Nays: Alcala, Amyx, Baker, Ballard, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, Clayton, Coleman, Concannon, Curtis, Esau, Featherston, Gartner, Haswood, Henderson, Highberger, Hoye, Kelly, Kuether, Meyer, Miller, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Poskin, Probst, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Samsel, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Stogsdill, Vaughn, Victors, Weigel, Wheeler, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Estes, Finney, Helgerson, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt, Thompson, Waggoner, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House amendments to **SB 446** submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with House Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 1, by striking all in lines 5 through 11; following line 11, by inserting:

"Section 1. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 8-2,101 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-2,101. (a) (1) The division of vehicles may issue a restricted class C or M driver's

license in accordance with the provisions of this section. A restricted class C license issued under this section shall entitle the licensee, while possessing the license, to operate any motor vehicle in class C, as designated in K.S.A. 8-234b, and amendments thereto. A restricted class M license shall entitle the licensee, while possessing such license, to operate a motorcycle.

- $\frac{\text{(a)}(2)}{\text{(b)}}$ The division may issue a restricted class C or M driver's license to any person who:
 - (1)(A) Is at least 15 years of age;
 - (2)(B) has successfully completed an approved course in driver training;
- (3)(C) has held an instructional permit issued under the provisions of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 8-2,100, and amendments thereto, for a period of at least one year and has completed at least 25 hours of adult supervised driving or has obtained an instructional permit from another state or the District of Columbia—which that has equivalent or greater requirements; and
- (4)(D) upon the written application of the person's parent or guardian, which shall be submitted to the division.
- (3) Any licensee issued a restricted license under this subsection, shall provide, prior to reaching 16 years of age, a signed affidavit of either a parent or guardian, stating that the applicant has completed the required 25 hours prior to being issued a restricted license and 25 hours of additional adult supervised driving. Of the 50 hours required by this subsection, at least 10 of those hours shall be at night. The adult supervised driving shall be conducted by an adult who is at least 21 years of age and is the holder of a valid commercial driver's license, class A, B or C driver's license.
- (b) (1) A restricted license issued under subsection (a) shall entitle a licensee who is at least 15 years of age but less than 16 years of age, to operate the appropriate motor vehicles at any time:
- (A) While going to or from or in connection with any job, employment or farm-related work;
- (B) on days while school is in session, over the most direct and accessible route between the licensee's residence and school of enrollment for the purposes of school attendance:
- (C) from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. while going directly to or from any religious activity held by a religious organization;
- (C)(D) when the licensee is operating a passenger car, at any time when accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid commercial driver's license, class A, B or C driver's license and who is actually occupying a seat beside the driver; or
- (D)(E) when the licensee is operating a motorcycle, at any time when accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid class M driver's license and who is either operating a motorcycle in the general proximity of the licensee or is riding as a passenger on the motorcycle being operated by the licensee.
- (2)(A) For a period of six months, a restricted license issued under subsection (a) shall entitle a licensee who is at least 16 years of age to operate the appropriate motor vehicles at any time:
 - (A)(i) From 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.;
- (B)(ii) while going to or from or in connection with any job, employment or farm-related work;
 - (C)(iii) while going to or from authorized school activities;

- (D)(iv) while going directly to or from any religious—worship service activity held by a religious organization;
- (E)(v) when the licensee is operating a passenger car, at any time when accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid commercial driver's license, class A, B or C driver's license and who is actually occupying a seat beside the driver; or
- (F)(vi) when the licensee is operating a motorcycle, at any time when accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid class M driver's license and who is either operating a motorcycle in the general proximity of the licensee or is riding as a passenger on the motorcycle being operated by the licensee.
- (B) After such six-month period, if the licensee has complied with the provisions of this section, such restricted license shall entitle the licensee to operate the appropriate motor vehicles at any time without any of the restrictions required by this section.
- (c) (1) The division may issue a restricted class C or M driver's license to any person who is under 17 years of age but at least 16 years of age, who:
- (A) Has held an instructional permit issued under the provisions of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 8-2,100, and amendments thereto, for a period of at least one year, and
- (B) has submitted a signed affidavit of either a parent or guardian, stating that the applicant has completed at least 50 hours of adult supervised driving with at least 10 of those hours being at night. The required adult supervised driving shall be conducted by an adult who is at least 21 years of age and is the holder of a valid commercial driver's license, class A, B or C driver's license.
- (2) (A) For a period of six months, a restricted license issued under subsection (c) (1) shall entitle a licensee to operate the appropriate motor vehicles at any time:
 - (A)(i) From 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.;
- (B)(ii) while going to or from or in connection with any job, employment or farm-related work;
 - (C)(iii) while going to or from authorized school activities;
- (D)(iv) while going directly to or from any religious-worship service activity held by a religious organization;
- (E)(v) when the licensee is operating a passenger car, at any time when accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid commercial driver's license, class A. B or C driver's license and who is actually occupying a seat beside the driver: or
- (F)(vi) when the licensee is operating a motorcycle, at any time when accompanied by an adult, who is the holder of a valid class M driver's license and who is either operating a motorcycle in the general proximity of the licensee or is riding as a passenger on the motorcycle being operated by the licensee.
- (B) After such six-month period, if the licensee has complied with the provisions of this section, such restricted license shall entitle the licensee to operate the appropriate motor vehicles at any time without any of the restrictions required by this section.
 - (d) (1) Any licensee issued a restricted license under subsection (a) who is:
- (A) Who is Less than 16 years of age shall not operate any motor vehicle with nonsibling minor passengers; or
- (B) who is at least 16 years of age, for a period of six months after reaching 16 years of age, shall not operate any motor vehicle with more than one passenger who is less than 18 years of age and who is not a member of the licensee's immediate family.
- (2) Any licensee issued a restricted license under subsection (c), for a period of six months after such restricted license is issued, shall not operate any motor vehicle with

more than one passenger who is less than 18 years of age and who is not a member of the licensee's immediate family.

- (3) Any conviction for violating this subsection shall be construed as a moving traffic violation for the purpose of K.S.A. 8-255, and amendments thereto.
- (e) Any licensee issued a restricted license under this section shall not operate a wireless communication device while driving a motor vehicle, except that a licensee may operate a wireless communication device while driving a motor vehicle to report illegal activity or to summons medical or other emergency help.
- (f) (1) A restricted driver's license issued under this section is subject to suspension or revocation in the same manner as any other driver's license.
- (2) A restricted driver's license shall be suspended in accordance with K.S.A. 8-291, and amendments thereto, for any violation of restrictions under this section.
- (3) The division shall suspend the restricted driver's license upon receiving satisfactory evidence that the licensee has been involved in two or more accidents chargeable to the licensee and such suspended license shall not be reinstated for one year.
- (g) Evidence of failure of any licensee who was required to complete the 50 hours of adult supervised driving under this section shall not be admissible in any action for the purpose of determining any aspect of comparative negligence or mitigation of damages.
 - (h) Any licensee issued a restricted license under:
 - (1) Subsection (a) who:
- (A) Is under the age of 16 years and is convicted of two or more moving traffic violations committed on separate occasions shall not be eligible to receive a driver's license—which that is not restricted in accordance with the provisions of subsection (b) (1) until the person reaches 17 years of age;
- (B) is under 17 years of age but at least 16 years of age and is convicted of two or more moving traffic violations committed on separate occasions shall not be eligible to receive a driver's license which that is not restricted in accordance with the provisions of subsection (b)(2) until the person reaches 18 years of age; or
- (C) fails to provide the affidavit required under subsection (a) shall not be eligible to receive a driver's license which is not restricted in accordance with the provisions of subsection (b)(1) until the person provides such affidavit to the division or the person reaches 17 years of age, whichever occurs first.
- (2) Subsection (c) who is under the age of 17 years and is convicted of two or more moving traffic violations committed on separate occasions shall not be eligible to receive a driver's license which is not restricted in accordance with the provisions of subsection (c) until the person reaches 18 years of age.
- (i) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the motor vehicle driver's license act.
- Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 8-1324 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-1324. (a) Any resident who does not hold a current valid Kansas driver's license may make application to the division of vehicles and be issued one identification card.
- (b) (1) Each application for an identification card shall include a question asking if the applicant is willing to give such applicant's authorization to be listed as an organ, eye and tissue donor in the Kansas donor registry in accordance with the revised uniform anatomical gift act, K.S.A. 65-3220 through 65-3244, and amendments thereto.

The gift would become effective upon the death of the donor.

- (2) For the purpose of obtaining an identification card, an applicant shall submit, with the application, proof of age, proof of identity and proof of lawful presence. An applicant shall submit with the application a photo identity document, except that a non-photo identity document is acceptable if it includes both the applicant's full legal name and date of birth, and documentation showing the applicant's name, the applicant's address of principal residence and the applicant's social security account number. The applicant's social security number shall remain confidential and shall not be disclosed, except as provided pursuant to K.S.A. 74-2014, and amendments thereto. If the applicant does not have a social security number, the applicant shall provide proof of lawful presence and Kansas residency. The division shall assign a distinguishing number to the identification card. Before issuing an identification card to a person, the division shall make reasonable efforts to verify with the issuing agency the issuance, validity and completeness of each document required to be presented by the applicant to prove age, identity and lawful presence.
- (c) The division shall not issue an identification card to any person who fails to provide proof that the person is lawfully present in the United States. If an applicant provides evidence of lawful presence as set out in K.S.A. 8-240(b)(2)(E) through (2)(I), and amendments thereto, or is an alien lawfully admitted for temporary residence under K.S.A. 8-240(b)(2)(B), and amendments thereto, the division may only issue a temporary identification card to the person under the following conditions: (A) A temporary identification card issued pursuant to this subparagraph shall be valid only during the period of time of the applicant's authorized stay in the United States or, if there is no definite end to the period of authorized stay, a period of one year; (B) a temporary identification card issued pursuant to this subparagraph shall clearly indicate that it is temporary and shall state the date upon which it expires; (C) no temporary identification card issued pursuant to this subparagraph shall be for a longer period of time than the time period permitted by K.S.A. 8-1325, and amendments thereto; and (D) a temporary identification card issued pursuant to this subparagraph may be renewed, subject at the time of renewal, to the same requirements and conditions set forth in this subsection (e) for the issuance of the original temporary identification card.
- (d) The division shall not issue an identification card to any person who holds a current valid Kansas driver's license unless such driver's license has been physically surrendered pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 8-1002(e), and amendments thereto.
- (e) The division shall refuse to issue an identification card to a person holding a driver's license or identification card issued by another state without confirmation that the person is terminating or has terminated the license or identification card.
- (f) The parent or guardian of an applicant under 16 years of age shall sign the application for an identification card submitted by such applicant.
- (g) (1) The division shall require payment of a fee of \$14 at the time application for an identification card is made, except that persons who are 65 or more years of age or who are handicapped, as defined in K.S.A. 8-1,124, and amendments thereto, shall be required to pay a fee of only \$10. In addition to the fees prescribed by this subsection, the division shall require payment of the photo fee established pursuant to K.S.A. 8-243, and amendments thereto, for the cost of the photograph to be placed on the identification card.
 - (2) The division shall not require or accept payment of application or photo fees

under this subsection for any person 17 years of age or older for purposes of meeting the voter identification requirements of K.S.A. 25-2908, and amendments thereto. Such person shall:

- (A) Swear under oath that such person desires an identification card in order to vote in an election in Kansas and that such person does not possess any of the forms of identification acceptable under K.S.A. 25-2908, and amendments thereto. The affidavit shall specifically list the acceptable forms of identification under K.S.A. 25-2908, and amendments thereto; and
 - (B) produce evidence that such person is registered to vote in Kansas.
- (3) The secretary of revenue shall adopt rules and regulations in order to implement the provisions of paragraph (2).
- (h) All Kansas identification cards shall have physical security features designed to prevent tampering, counterfeiting or duplication for fraudulent purposes.
- (i) For the purposes of K.S.A. 8-1324 through 8-1328, and amendments thereto, a person shall be deemed to be a resident of the state if:
 - (1) The person owns, leases or rents a place of domicile in this state;
 - (2) the person engages in a trade, business or profession in this state;
 - (3) the person is registered to vote in this state;
 - (4) the person enrolls the person's child in a school in this state; or
 - (5) the person registers the person's motor vehicle in this state.
- (j) The division shall require that any person applying for an identification card submit to a mandatory facial image capture. The captured facial image shall be displayed on the front of the applicant's identification card by either:
 - (1) A digital color image or photograph; or
 - (2) a laser-engraved photograph of the licensee.
- (k) (1) Any person who is a veteran may request that the division issue to such person a nondriver identification card which shall include the designation "VETERAN" displayed on the front of the nondriver identification card at a location to be determined by the secretary of revenue. In order to receive a nondriver identification card described in this subsection, the veteran must provide proof of the veteran's military service and honorable discharge or general discharge under honorable conditions, including a copy of the veteran's DD214 form or equivalent.
 - (2) As used in this subsection, "veteran" means a person who:
- (A) Has served in: The army, navy, marine corps, air force, coast guard, air or army national guard or any branch of the military reserves of the United States; and
- (B) has been separated from the branch of service in which the person was honorably discharged or received a general discharge under honorable conditions.
- (3) The director of vehicles may adopt any rules and regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of this subsection.
- (l) The director of vehicles may issue a temporary identification card to an applicant who cannot provide valid documentary evidence as defined by subsection (c), if the applicant provides compelling evidence proving current lawful presence. Any temporary identification card issued pursuant to this subparagraph shall be valid for one year.
- (m) Upon payment of the required fee, the division shall issue to every applicant qualifying under the provisions of this act an identification card. Such identification card shall bear a distinguishing number assigned to the cardholder, the full legal name,

date of birth, address of principal residence, a brief description of the cardholder, either: (1) A digital color image or photograph; or (2) a laser engraved photograph of the cardholder, and a facsimile of the signature of the cardholder. An identification card which does not contain the address of principal residence of the cardholder as required may be issued to persons who are program participants pursuant to K.S.A. 75-455, and amendments thereto.

- (n) An identification card issued to any person who indicated on the application that the person wished to make an anatomical gift in accordance with the revised uniform anatomical gift act, K.S.A. 65-3220 through 65-3244, and amendments thereto, shall have the word "Donor" placed on the front of the applicant's identification card.
- (o) (1) Any person who submits satisfactory proof to the director of vehicles, on a form provided by the director, that such person needs assistance with cognition, including, but not limited to, persons with autism spectrum disorder, may request that the division issue to such person a nondriver identification card, that shall note such impairment on the nondriver identification card at a location to be determined by the secretary of revenue.
- (2) Satisfactory proof that a person needs assistance with cognition shall include a statement from a person licensed to practice the healing arts in any state, an advanced practice registered nurse licensed under K.S.A. 65-1131, and amendments thereto, a licensed physician assistant or a person clinically licensed by the Kansas behavioral sciences regulatory board certifying that such person needs assistance with cognition.
- (p) (1) The secretary of revenue shall permit an electronic online renewal of an identification card if the electronic online renewal applicant previously provided documentation of identity, lawful presence and residence to the division for electronic scanning. For purposes of this subsection, the division may rely on the division's most recent, existing color digital image and signature image of the applicant for the nondriver's identification card if the division has such images on file. The determination on whether an electronic online renewal application or equivalent of a nondriver's identification card is permitted shall be made by the director of vehicles or the director's designee. The division shall not renew a nondriver's identification card through an electronic online or equivalent process if the identification card has been previously renewed through an electronic online application in the immediately preceding card's expiration period. No renewal under this subsection shall be granted to any person who is a registered offender pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4901 et seq., and amendments thereto.
- (2) Prior to February 1, 2023, the division shall report to the house of representatives and the senate committees on transportation regarding the online renewal process of this subsection and the effects of implementing such process.
 - Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 8-2,101 and 8-1324 are hereby repealed.";

Also on page 1, in line 13, by striking "Kansas register" and inserting "statute book"; And by renumbering sections accordingly;

Also on page 1, in the title, in line 1, by striking all after "concerning"; in line 2, by striking all before the period and inserting "driver's licenses and nondriver's identification cards; allowing restricted driver's license holders beginning at age 15 to drive to and from religious activities held by any religious organization; providing for the electronic renewal of nondriver's identification cards; amending K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 8-2,101 and 8-1324 and repealing the existing sections";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

RICHARD PROEHL
LEO DELPERDANG
HENRY HELGERSON
Conferees on part of House
Mike Petersen

Mike Petersen
Elaine Bowers
Tom Hawk
Conferees on part of Senate

Conjerces on part of Senate

On motion of Rep. Proehl, the conference committee report on **SB 446** was adopted. On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 87; Nays 30; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 8.

Yeas: Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clifford, Coleman, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Hawkins, Helgerson, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Newland, Orr, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Toplikar, Turner, Victors, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams.

Nays: Alcala, Amyx, Ballard, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carmichael, Clayton, Curtis, Featherston, Gartner, Haswood, Henderson, Highberger, Hoye, Kuether, Landwehr, Meyer, Neighbor, Ohaebosim, Osman, Ousley, Poskin, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Stogsdill, Vaughn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt, Thompson, Waggoner, Winn.

EXPLANATION OF VOTE

Mr. Speaker: I vote no on **CCR for SB 446**. I support the House version of this bill that we passed and I voted FOR last week. I even considered cosponsoring it. However, I saw the possibilities for legal issues if religious "worship" was expanded to "activity," which it was in the CCR. This creates a situation where 15 year olds will be allowed to drive to school sponsored extracurricular activities such as FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes), but not NHS (National Honor Society). They will be allowed to drive to play practice at their church, but not play practice at their school. It sets up more rights for religious activities than school activities. Therefore, I vote NO on **SB 446**. — Mari-Lynn Poskin, Linda Featherston, Brandon Woodard, Jo Ella Hoye, Sydney Carlin, Lindsay Vaughn

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House amendments to **SB 215** submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with House Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 1, following line 9, by inserting:

"New Section 1. (a) The board of education of a school district may contract with a transportation network company to transport eight persons or fewer to and from school or school-related activities, where appropriate, as the contract with the transportation network company may establish.

- (b) In addition to the requirements of this act for transportation network companies and transportation network company drivers, the board of education of a school district may establish additional requirements in the contract with the transportation network company. The department of education, in consultation with a transportation network company that will provide services pursuant to this section, may issue guidance to school districts contracting with a transportation network company to provide transportation services.
 - (c) Transportation network companies shall:
- (1) Require transportation network company drivers providing services pursuant to this section to undergo a criminal history record check pursuant to K.S.A. 75-712i, and amendments thereto; and
- (2) obtain and review a driving history research report for each transportation network company driver providing services pursuant to this section.
- (d) A transportation network company that provides transportation services pursuant to this section shall provide an annual safety report to the state board of education for any safety incidents that occurred in the previous calendar year.
- (e) A transportation network company shall name as an additional insured on such transportation network company's insurance policy any school district that contracts with such transportation network company to provide transportation services pursuant to this section.
- (f) The Kansas transportation network company services act and the contract between the board of education of a school district and the transportation network company shall exclusively govern the services provided pursuant to this section, and all rules and regulations of the state board of education concerning the transportation of students shall not apply.
- (g) The board of education of a school district that contracts for school transportation services pursuant to this section shall:
- (1) Provide notice to the parent or guardian of a student that such student will be riding with a transportation network company;
- (2) provide an annual disclaimer to the parent or guardian of a student that may be transported by a transportation network company that the school district uses transportation network company services for school transportation purposes and that the relationship between the school district and the transportation network company is governed by a contract and not the rules and regulations of the state board of education;
- (3) permit the parent or guardian of a student to not allow such student to ride with a transportation network company; and
 - (4) maintain insurance coverage or endorsement for students transported by a

transportation network company that covers the students as though the students were in the care, custody and control of the school district even when being transported by a transportation network company.

(h) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the Kansas transportation network company services act.";

On page 9, following line 13, by inserting:

- "Sec. 12. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 8-2708 is hereby amended to read as follows: 8-2708. On January 1, 2016, and thereafter, (a) A transportation network company driver or vehicle owner or transportation network company on the driver's behalf shall maintain primary automobile insurance that:
- (a)—recognizes that the driver is a transportation network company driver and covers the driver while the driver is logged on to the transportation network company's digital network, while the driver is engaged in a prearranged ride or while the driver otherwise uses a vehicle to transport passengers for compensation.
- (b) (1) The following automobile insurance requirements shall apply while a participating transportation network company driver is logged on to the transportation network company's digital network and is available to receive transportation requests but is not engaged in a prearranged ride:
- (A) Primary automobile liability insurance in the amount of at least \$50,000 for death and bodily injury per person, \$100,000 for death and bodily injury per incident, and \$25,000 for property damage; and
- (B) primary automobile liability insurance that meets the minimum coverage requirements where required by K.S.A. 40-284 and 40-3107(f), and amendments thereto.
- (2) The coverage requirements of this subsection (b) may be satisfied by any of the following:
- (A) Automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company driver or vehicle owner:
 - (B) automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company; or
 - (C) any combination of subparagraphs (A) and (B).
- (c) (1) The following automobile insurance requirements shall apply while a transportation network company driver is engaged in a prearranged ride:
- (A) Primary automobile liability insurance that provides at least \$1,000,000 for death, bodily injury and property damage; and
- (B) primary automobile liability insurance that meets the minimum coverage requirements where required by K.S.A. 40-284 and 40-3107(f), and amendments thereto.
- (2) The coverage requirements of this subsection (c) may be satisfied by any of the following:
- (A) Automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company driver or vehicle owner;
 - (B) automobile insurance maintained by the transportation network company; or
 - (C) any combination of subparagraphs (A) and (B).
- (d) If insurance maintained by the driver or vehicle owner in subsection (b) or (c) has lapsed or does not provide the required coverage, insurance maintained by a transportation network company shall provide the coverage required by this section

beginning with the first dollar of a claim and shall have the duty to defend such claim.

- (e) Coverage under an automobile insurance policy maintained by the transportation network company shall not be dependent on a personal automobile insurer first denying a claim nor shall a personal automobile insurance policy be required to first deny a claim.
- (f) A transportation network company that contracts with the board of education of a school district to provide transportation services pursuant to section 1, and amendments thereto, shall name such school district as an additional insured party on such transportation networks company's automobile insurance policy.
- (f)(g) Insurance required by this section may be placed with an insurer licensed under K.S.A. 40-208 or 40-209, and amendments thereto, or with a surplus lines insurer eligible under K.S.A. 40-246b, and amendments thereto.
- (g)(h) Insurance satisfying the requirements of this section shall be deemed to satisfy the financial responsibility requirement for a personal vehicle under the Kansas automobile injury reparations act, K.S.A. 40-3101 et seq., and amendments thereto.
- (h)(i) A transportation network company driver shall carry proof of coverage satisfying subsections (b) and (c) with such driver at all times during such driver's use of a vehicle in connection with a transportation network company's digital network. In the event of an accident, a transportation network company driver shall provide this insurance coverage information to the directly interested parties, automobile insurers and investigating police officers, upon request pursuant to K.S.A. 8-173, and amendments thereto. Upon such request, a transportation network company driver shall also disclose to directly interested parties, automobile insurers and investigating police officers, whether such driver was logged on to the transportation network company's digital network or on a prearranged ride at the time of an accident.";

Also on page 9, in line 15, by striking the third "and" and inserting a comma; also in line 15, after "8-272" by inserting "and 8-2708";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 1, by striking all after the semicolon; in line 2, by striking the first "education" and inserting "authorizing the board of education of a school district to contract with transportation network companies to provide certain transportation services; specifying requirements therefor"; in line 7, by striking the first "and" and inserting a comma; also in line 7, after "8-272" by inserting "and 8-2708";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Steve Huebert Adam Thomas Jerry Stogsdill Conferees on part of House

MOLLY BAUMGARTNER
RENEE ERICKSON
DINAH STKES
Conferees on part of Senate

On motion of Rep. Huebert, the conference committee report on SB 215 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 117; Nays 0; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 8.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: None.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt, Thompson, Waggoner, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2005** submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with Senate Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 3, following line 3, by inserting:

"New Sec. 2. The provisions of sections 2 through 21, and amendments thereto, shall be known and may be cited as the elevator safety act.

New Sec. 3. As used in sections 1 through 20, and amendments thereto:

- (a) "Act" means the elevator safety act.
- (b) "Board" means the elevator safety advisory board.
- (c) (1) "Elevator" means any device for lifting or moving people, cargo or freight within, or adjacent and connected to, a structure or excavation, including, but not limited to, an escalator, power-driven stairway, moving walkway or stairway chair lift.
 - (2) The term "elevator" does not mean any:
- (A) Amusement ride or other device subject to the Kansas amusement ride act, K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 44-1601 et seq., and amendments thereto;
 - (B) mining equipment;
- (C) aircraft, railroad car, boat, barge, ship, truck or other self-propelled vehicle or component thereof;
- (D) a dumbwaiter, conveyor, chain or bucket hoist, construction hoist or similar device used for the primary purpose of elevating or lowering materials;
- (E) boiler grate stoker or other similar firing mechanism subject to the boiler safety act, K.S.A. 44-913 et seq., and amendments thereto; or

- (F) lift, manlift, belt manlift, chain hoists, climb assists, special purpose personnel elevator, automated people mover or similar device in wind turbine towers, grain elevators, grain warehouses, seed processing facilities, grain processing facilities, biofuel processing facilities, feed mills, flour mills or any similar pet food, feed or agricultural commodity processing facilities.
- (d) "Elevator apprentice" means an individual who works under the supervision or general direction of a licensed elevator mechanic.
- (e) "Elevator contractor" means a sole proprietorship, firm, partnership, corporation or association that is engaged in the business of erecting, constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing or maintaining elevators.
- (f) "Elevator inspector" means an individual engaged in the business of inspecting elevators.
- (g) "Elevator mechanic" means an individual engaged in the business of erecting, constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing or maintaining elevators under the direct supervision of an elevator contractor.
- (h) "Licensee" means an elevator contractor, inspector or mechanic who is licensed pursuant to this act.
- New Sec. 4. (a) The provisions of this act shall apply to the design, construction, installation, operation, inspection, testing, maintenance, alteration and repair of elevators.
 - (b) The provisions of this act shall not apply to elevators that are:
- (1) In or adjacent to a building or excavation owned by or under the operational control of any federal agency or located on property owned by the United States or any federally recognized native American Indian tribe:
 - (2) in a single family residence; or
- (3) in or adjacent to a building or structure within a manufacturing, utility or other industrial facility.
- (c) Any elevator described in subsection (b) shall be inspected by a licensed elevator inspector upon request by the owner or the owner's agent and payment of the inspection fee.
- (d) Nothing in this act shall be construed to relieve or lessen the responsibility or liability of any individual, firm or corporation owning, operating, controlling, maintaining, erecting, constructing, installing, altering, inspecting, testing or repairing any elevator for damages to a person or property caused by any defect therein, or as an assumption of any such liability or responsibility or any liability to any person for whatever reason by the state by enactment of this act or any acts or omissions arising under the provisions of this act.
- New Sec. 5. Nothing in this act shall be construed to preempt or otherwise restrict a city or county from adopting or continuing any requirements or standards that meet or exceed those of this act and any rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto. Any city or county that has adopted such requirements or standards shall notify the state fire marshal of such adoption on or before June 30, 2023, and on each June 30 thereafter.

- New Sec. 6. (a) No individual shall erect, construct, alter, replace, maintain, remove or dismantle any elevator contained within a building or other structure in this state or wire any elevator from the mainline feeder terminals on the controller unless such individual is a licensed elevator mechanic and such individual is working under the direct supervision of a licensed elevator contractor. An elevator mechanic's license or elevator contractor's license is not required for removing or dismantling elevators that are destroyed as a result of a complete demolition of a secured building or structure, or where the hoistway or wellway is demolished back to the basic support structure whereby no access is permitted therein to endanger the safety and welfare of a person.
- (b) No individual shall inspect any elevator within a building or other structure in this state, including, but not limited to, private residences, unless such individual is a licensed elevator inspector. This subsection shall not apply to any individual employed as an elevator inspector by a city or county who performs inspections only while engaged in the performance of such individual's duties as an employee of such city or county.
- (c) No individual, firm, partnership, corporation, association or other entity shall erect, alter, replace, maintain, remove, dismantle or operate any elevator in this state or construct any elevator for use in this state in violation of this act or rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
- (d) All elevators shall conform to the rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this act. Where any material alteration is made, the elevator shall conform to applicable requirements of the code. Nothing in this act shall be construed so as to prevent the use, sale or reinstallation of an elevator installed in this state prior to the effective date of this act, provided that such elevator has been made to conform to the rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this act and has not been found upon inspection to be in an unsafe condition or in violation of this act or rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
- New Sec. 7. (a) There is hereby established the elevator safety advisory board. The elevator safety advisory board shall consist of the following eleven members who shall be residents of this state:
 - (1) Seven members, to be appointed by the governor as follows:
- (A) One representative from a major elevator manufacturing company or its authorized representative;
 - (B) one representative from an elevator servicing company;
 - (C) one representative of the architectural design or elevator consulting profession;
 - (D) one representative of a city or county in this state;
 - (E) one representative of a building owner or building manager;
- (F) one representative of labor involved in the installation, maintenance and repair of elevators; and
 - (G) one representative from the general public;
 - (2) one member to be appointed by the president of the senate;

- (3) one member to be appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives;
- (4) the state fire marshal or the state fire marshal's designee, who shall serve ex officio; and
- (5) the secretary of administration or the secretary's designee, who shall serve ex officio.
- (b) Each member of the board appointed under subsections (a)(1) through (3) shall serve a term of three years or until a successor is appointed and qualified. Whenever a vacancy occurs, a successor shall be appointed in accordance with subsection (a). The members of the board shall elect one of the members to serve as chairperson.
- (c) The members of the board shall serve without compensation. Members who are not state officers or employees and who are attending meetings of such committee, or attending a subcommittee meeting thereof authorized by such committee, shall be paid amounts provided in K.S.A. 75-3223(e), and amendments thereto.
- (d) The board shall meet at least six times each year at a time and place to be fixed by the state fire marshal and at such other times as the state fire marshal deems necessary for the consideration of rules and regulations and for the transaction of such other business as may come properly before the board.
- (e) The board shall advise the state fire marshal and make recommendations regarding rules and regulations necessary to implement and enforce the provisions of this act. The board shall annually review any rules and regulations adopted by the state fire marshal pursuant to this act.
- New Sec. 8. (a) (1) Any individual, firm, partnership, corporation, association or other entity wishing to engage in the business of installing, altering, servicing, replacing or maintaining elevators shall make application for an elevator contractor's license in such form and manner as prescribed by the state fire marshal and shall pay the required initial application fee, which shall not exceed \$500. An applicant shall demonstrate that such applicant employs a licensed elevator mechanic or mechanics to perform the work described in section 6, and amendments thereto, and shall provide proof of compliance with the insurance requirements set forth in section 9, and amendments thereto.
- (2) Any individual wishing to engage in installing, altering, repairing or servicing of elevators shall make application for an elevator mechanic's license in such form and manner as prescribed by the state fire marshal and shall pay the required initial application fee, which shall not exceed \$150.
- (3) Any individual wishing to engage in the business of inspecting elevators shall make application for an elevator inspector's license in such form and manner as prescribed by the state fire marshal and shall pay the required initial application fee, which shall not exceed \$250. An applicant shall provide proof of compliance with the insurance requirements set forth in section 9, and amendments thereto.
- (b) No license shall be issued to any applicant that has not demonstrated the requisite qualifications and abilities required by this act and rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto. Upon the state fire marshal's approval of an application as having met the requirements for licensure, the state fire marshal shall issue a license. Such license shall be valid for a period of two years and shall be renewable biennially

upon submission of a renewal application and payment of the required renewal application fee, which shall not exceed the initial application fee.

- (c) An elevator mechanic license shall be issued, upon application, to an applicant that holds a certificate of completion from the national association of elevator contractors certified elevator technician certification program, national elevator industry education apprenticeship program or other equivalent nationally approved apprenticeship program; holds a valid license from a state having standards substantially equal to those of this act and the rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto; or those persons who can demonstrate within the first year following enactment that such person has worked as an elevator mechanic without supervision for at least 8,000 hours within six years prior to the date of application.
- (d) An elevator contractor's license may be issued, upon application, to an applicant that holds a valid license from a state having standards substantially equal to those of this act and rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
 - (e) An elevator apprentice is not required to hold a license.
- (f) Any city or county that has adopted requirements and standards that meet or exceed the requirements and standards of this act and any rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto may issue an elevator contractor's license or elevator mechanic's license in accordance with such requirements and standards. Any such license shall specify that it is issued by such city or county. No such license shall be issued in lieu of any license issued by the state fire marshal or authorize the licensee to perform work as an elevator contractor or elevator mechanic outside the jurisdiction of the issuing city or county.
- New Sec. 9. (a) Elevator contractors shall submit proof to the state fire marshal of a current insurance policy issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in this state that provides general liability coverage of at least \$1,000,000 for injury or death of any number of persons in any one occurrence, with coverage of at least \$500,000 for property damage in any one occurrence and proof of workers compensation insurance coverage as required by Kansas law.
- (b) Elevator inspectors, except those employed by an agency, city or county, shall submit to the state fire marshal proof of a current insurance policy issued by an insurance company authorized to do business in this state that provides general liability coverage of at least \$1,000,000 for injury or death of any number of persons in any one occurrence, with coverage of at least \$500,000 for property damage in any one occurrence and proof of statutory workers compensation insurance coverage.
- (c) Proof of such policies shall be delivered to the state fire marshal with the application for the license. A licensee shall provide the state fire marshal of notice of any material alteration or cancellation of any policy at least 10 days prior to the effective date of such change in the policy.
- New Sec. 10. (a) Whenever the state fire marshal determines an emergency exists in the state due to a disaster, an act of God or work stoppage and the number of persons in the state holding elevator mechanic's licenses is determined by the state fire marshal to be insufficient to cope with the emergency, the state fire marshal may issue emergency elevator mechanic's licenses as necessary to assure the safety of the public.

An elevator contractor or applicant for an emergency mechanic's license shall furnish such proof of competency as may be required by rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this act.

- (b) An elevator contractor shall notify the state fire marshal when there are no licensed elevator mechanics available to perform work requiring such license. The elevator contractor may request that the state fire marshal issue temporary elevator mechanic's licenses to individuals certified by the licensed elevator contractor to have an acceptable combination of documented experience and education to perform such work without the direct and immediate supervision of a licensed elevator mechanic. Any individual who is certified as such by an elevator contractor may apply for a temporary elevator mechanic's license in such form and manner as prescribed by the state fire marshal. The applicant shall pay the required application fee with such application, which shall not exceed \$50. The state fire marshal may issue a temporary elevator mechanic's license if the state fire marshal finds that the requirements for such licenses have been met.
- New Sec. 11. (a) An application for a license may be denied or a license may be suspended or revoked by the state fire marshal upon a finding that one or more of the following have been committed by the applicant or licensee:
- (1) Any willfully false statement or willful omission as to a material matter made in the process of securing a license or renewal of a license. A material matter is a fact relevant to a question or line of inquiry in the applicable application form or in additional inquiry of the applicant by the state fire marshal that if made known to the state fire marshal could constitute a basis for a denial of the application under this act or rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto;
 - (2) fraud, misrepresentation or bribery in securing a license;
- (3) failure to notify the state fire marshal and the owner of an elevator or the owner's agent when:
- (A) Any elevator is being operated in this state that is not in compliance with this act or rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto; and
- (B) that such noncompliance was known by the licensee or reasonably should have been known by the licensee;
- (4) failure to maintain any requirement or to notify the state fire marshal of any material alteration or change relating to any requirement that is necessary to obtain or renew a license that is in nature a continuing requirement, including, but not limited to, insurance requirements; or
 - (5) any violation of this act or rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
- (b) A license may be suspended or revoked upon a finding by the state fire marshal that facts and circumstances exist that require suspension or revocation of the license to protect the safety of the public, including, but not limited to, facts and circumstances going to the competence, ability or fitness of the licensee to safely conduct the work or activities permitted by the license in a manner that does not risk the safety or well-being of co-workers, employees or the public.

- (c) An elevator inspector license may be suspended or revoked upon a finding by the state fire marshal that the licensed elevator inspector has performed duties incompetently, demonstrated untrustworthiness, falsified any matter or statement contained in any application or report or failed to report findings of any inspection made by such licensee to the state fire marshal as required under section 16, and amendments thereto. Such a suspension or revocation shall be effective upon receipt of notice of the suspension or termination by the licensee or the licensee's employer.
- (d) Except as otherwise provided by this act, no license shall be suspended or revoked until after a written order issued by the state fire marshal has been served to the licensee who committed the violation. Such order shall state the violation, the penalty to be imposed and the right of the person to request a hearing as provided in section 13, and amendments thereto. The state fire marshal may issue emergency orders, including, but not limited to, immediate suspensions or revocations of a license, as provided by the Kansas administrative procedure act.
- New Sec. 12. (a) In addition to any other penalty provided by law, the state fire marshal, upon a finding that any owner, lessee or operator of an elevator, or owner or lessee of a building or structure in which an elevator is located, has violated, knowingly permitted a violation or negligently failed to detect, report or correct a violation of any provision of this act or rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto with regard to the construction, installation, maintenance, inspection or operation of an elevator, is authorized to impose a civil penalty not to exceed \$1,000 per violation for each day of such unlawful operation or violation. Such civil penalty shall constitute an actual and substantial economic deterrent to the violation for which the penalty is assessed.
- (b) In addition to any other penalty provided by law, the state fire marshal, upon a finding that any licensee has violated, knowingly permitted a violation or negligently failed to detect, report or correct a violation of any provision of this act or rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto, is authorized to impose a civil penalty not to exceed \$1,000 per violation. Such civil penalty shall constitute an actual and substantial economic deterrent to the violation for which the penalty is assessed.
- (c) No civil penalty shall be imposed except upon the written order of the state fire marshal to the person who committed the violation. Such order shall state the violation, the penalty to be imposed and the right of the person to request a hearing as provided in section 13, and amendments thereto.
- (d) All fines assessed and collected under this section shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the elevator safety fee fund.
- New Sec. 13. (a) Any individual, sole proprietor, firm, partnership, association or corporation aggrieved by an order issued by the state fire marshal pursuant to the provisions of this act may request a hearing on such order within 15 days from the date of the service of such order by filing such request in writing with the state fire marshal. Such hearing shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act. The filing of a request for a hearing shall not abate or operate as a stay of the effect of an emergency order or an order to cease and desist or a

stop work order unless otherwise stated in such order.

- (b) Except as otherwise provided, all administrative proceedings by the state fire marshal under this act shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act.
- (c) Judicial review and civil enforcement of agency actions under this act shall be in accordance with the Kansas judicial review act.
- New Sec. 14. It shall be the responsibility of a licensee to ensure that the design, construction, installation, operation, inspection, testing, maintenance, alteration and repair of an elevator is performed in compliance with the provisions of the state safety and fire prevention act, K.S.A. 31-132 et seq., and amendments thereto.
- New Sec. 15. (a) No elevator shall be erected, constructed, installed or altered within or adjacent to a building or structure unless a valid permit is obtained from the state fire marshal. Such permit shall be issued prior to the commencement of any work on such elevator. A permit shall only be issued to a licensed elevator contractor. A copy of such permit shall be kept at the construction site at all times while the work is in progress. Notwithstanding the issuance of a permit, no work shall be performed on any such elevator if the state fire marshal has issued a stop work order for such elevator.
- (b) A licensed elevator contractor may apply for a permit in such form and manner as prescribed by the state fire marshal. The applicant shall pay the required permit fee with such application, which shall not exceed \$400.
- (c) A permit may be revoked by the state fire marshal for any of the following reasons:
- (1) Any false statement or misrepresentation exists as to the material facts in the application, or in the plans or specifications on which the permit was based;
- (2) the permit was issued in error and should not have been issued in accordance with the provisions of this act;
- (3) the work detailed under the permit is not being performed in accordance with the provisions of the application, or in the plans or specifications on which the permit was based, or is not in accordance with the code; or
- (4) the licensed elevator contractor to whom the permit was issued fails or refuses to comply with a stop work order issued by the state fire marshal.
 - (d) (1) A permit shall expire:
- (A) If the work authorized by such permit is not commenced within six months after the date of issuance, or within a shorter period of time specified by the state fire marshal, in the state fire marshal's discretion, at the time the permit is issued; or
- (B) if, after the work has been commenced, the work is suspended or abandoned for a period of 60 days, or such shorter period of time as specified by the state fire marshal, in the state fire marshal's discretion, at the time the permit is issued.
- (2) For good cause, the state fire marshal, in the state fire marshal's discretion, may allow an extension of any of the periods of time set forth in this subsection.
 - (e) This section shall not apply to any elevator to be erected, constructed, installed

or altered in any city or county that has adopted requirements or standards that meet or exceed the requirements or standards of this act and any rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.

- New Sec. 16. (a) It shall be the responsibility of the owner of any new or existing elevator or the owner's agent to have such elevator inspected annually by a licensed elevator inspector. Upon such inspection, the licensed elevator inspector shall provide the owner of the elevator or the owner's agent, the owner or lessee of the property where such elevator is located and the state fire marshal with a written inspection report describing any and all code violations. The owner of the elevator or the owner's agent shall have 30 days from the date of the inspection report to be in full compliance by correcting such violations. The state fire marshal may grant additional 30-day extensions of time if the state fire marshal determines good cause has been shown and the safety of the public will not be endangered.
- (b) It shall be the responsibility of the owner of any elevator or the owner's agent to have a licensed elevator contractor conduct all required tests at the intervals required by this act and rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto. All tests shall be performed by a licensed elevator mechanic.
- (c) This section shall not apply to any elevator located in a city or county that has adopted requirements or standards that meet or exceed the requirements or standards of this act and any rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
- New Sec. 17. (a) For any elevator installed prior to July 1, 2022, the owner of the elevator or the owner's agent shall apply for a certificate of operation on or before July 1, 2023. Such application shall be in such form and manner as prescribed by the state fire marshal and shall include a copy of the most recent inspection report required pursuant to section 16, and amendments thereto, and payment of the required application fee, which shall not exceed \$100.
- (b) For any elevator installed on or after July 1, 2022, and prior to January 1,2023, the owner of such elevator or the owner's agent shall apply for a certificate of operation within six months after such elevator is placed into operation. Such application shall be in such form and manner as prescribed by the state fire marshal and shall include a certification by the licensed elevator contractor that such installation was performed in compliance with the applicable provisions of this act and rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto and payment of the required application fee, which shall not exceed \$100.
- (c) On and after January 1, 2023, before a newly installed elevator may be placed into operation, the licensed elevator contractor that performed the new installation shall apply for a certificate of operation. Such application shall be in such form and manner as prescribed by the state fire marshal and shall include a certification by the licensed elevator contractor that such installation was performed in compliance with the applicable provisions of this act and rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto and payment of the required application fee, which shall not exceed \$100.
- (d) The state fire marshal shall grant applications and renewal applications for certificates of operation if the state fire marshal finds the applicant has demonstrated to the state fire marshal's satisfaction that all applicable provisions of this act and rules and

regulations adopted pursuant thereto have been met, the elevator will be operated in accordance with the rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this act and operation of the elevator will not present a danger to the public.

- (e) A certificate of operation shall be valid for one year from the date of issuance and may be renewed upon application submitted to the state fire marshal and payment of the required renewal fee, which shall not exceed the initial application fee. An application for a renewal certificate shall be accompanied by an inspection report for an inspection performed within the immediately preceding 12 months.
- (f) Certificates of operation shall be clearly displayed on or in each elevator or in the machine room for such elevator. Each certificate of operation shall state that the elevator has been inspected, tested and found to be in compliance with all applicable standards of operation.
- (g) This section shall not apply to any elevator located in a city or county that has adopted requirements and standards that meet or exceed the requirements and standards of this act and any rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto.
- New Sec. 18. (a) The state fire marshal shall establish a registry of elevators that are in operation and for which a certificate of operation has been issued and shall maintain the information provided under subsection (b) as part of such registry.
- (b) On or before July 1, 2023, each elevator that was in operation on or before July 1, 2022, for which a certificate of operation has been issued pursuant to section 17, and amendments thereto, shall be registered with the state fire marshal. Such registration shall include:
- (1) The name of the owner of such elevator, the owner's agent, if any, and the operator of the elevator;
 - (2) the type;
 - (3) the rated load and speed;
 - (4) the name of the manufacturer;
 - (5) the location and purpose for which such elevator is used; and
- (6) such additional information as may be required by rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this act.
- (c) Any elevator that is placed into service and for which a certificate of operation is issued after July 1, 2022, shall be registered at such time as a certificate of operation is issued for such elevator. The registration for any such elevator shall include that information described in subsection (b).
- (d) This section shall not apply to any elevator located in a city or county that has adopted requirements and standards that meet or exceed the requirements and standards of this act and any rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto. Any such city or county shall establish and maintain a registry of elevators located in such city or county that are in operation. Such registry shall include that information described in subsection (b)(1) through (6).
 - New Sec. 19. (a) Any person may request an investigation into an alleged violation

of this act or rules and regulations adopted pursuant thereto, or the installation, servicing, maintenance or operation of an elevator that appears to place the public or persons using such elevator in danger by notifying the state fire marshal of such violation or danger. Such request shall be in writing, setting forth in reasonable particularity the grounds for the request and be signed by the person making the request.

- (b) Such request, notice and any records relating to the request shall be confidential and shall not be disclosed by the state fire marshal unless ordered to be disclosed by a court of competent jurisdiction. The provisions of this subsection shall expire on July 1, 2027, unless the legislature reviews and reenacts such provisions in accordance with K.S.A. 45-229, and amendments thereto, prior to July 1, 2027.
- (c) Upon receipt of such notification, the state fire marshal shall investigate the alleged violation as soon as practicable, and to the extent determined appropriate by the state fire marshal, determine if such violation or danger exists and may issue such orders as the state fire marshal deems necessary to avoid danger to the public during such investigation. If the state fire marshal determines that there are no reasonable grounds to believe that a violation or danger exists, the state fire marshal shall notify in writing the person who submitted the request for investigation and the owner of the elevator or the owner's agent of such determination. If the state fire marshal determines that a violation or danger exists, the state fire marshal shall revoke the certificate of operation for such elevator, issue such orders as the state fire marshal deems necessary to address the violation or danger or take such other actions as provided by this act to address the violation or danger.

New Sec. 20. (a) On or before January 1, 2023, the state fire marshal shall adopt rules and regulations necessary to implement and enforce the provisions of this act. Rules and regulations adopted by the state fire marshal shall be based on and follow generally accepted national engineering standards, formula and practices that shall at a minimum include adoption of current American national standards known as the American society of mechanical engineers (ASME) safety code for elevators and escalators and the safety standards for wind turbine tower elevators.

- (b) Such rules and regulations shall include rules and regulations:
- (1) For the operation, maintenance, servicing, construction, alteration and installation of elevators;
- (2) requirements and qualifications for the licensure of elevator contractors, mechanics and inspectors, including initial and renewal application requirements, examination requirements and continuing education requirements;
- (3) requirements and qualifications for the issuance of emergency and temporary licenses;
- (4) requirements for issuance of permits and certificates of operation, including initial and renewal application requirements;
 - (5) requirements for registration of elevators; and
- (6) standards for granting exceptions and variances from rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this act and municipal ordinances.

- (b) The state fire marshal shall establish a schedule for fees for licenses, permits, certificates of operation, inspections and variance requests. The fees shall reasonably reflect the state fire marshal's actual costs and expenses to operate and to conduct those duties and obligations as described in this act.
- (c) The state fire marshal shall have the authority to grant or deny requests for exceptions and variances from the requirements of rules and regulations adopted pursuant to this act or from municipal ordinances in cases where the state fire marshal finds such exception or variance would not jeopardize the public safety and welfare and that the request meets the applicable standards adopted by the state fire marshal for granting such an exception or variance.

New Sec. 21. The elevator safety fee fund is hereby established in the state treasury and shall be administered by the state fire marshal. The state fire marshal shall remit all moneys received from fees, charges or penalties assessed in accordance with this act to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the elevator safety fee fund. All expenditures from the elevator safety fee fund shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the state fire marshal or the state fire marshal's designee.";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 1, after "concerning" by inserting "public safety; relating to the duties of the state fire marshal; amending"; in line 3, after the semicolon by inserting "creating the elevator safety act; relating to safety standards for elevators; licensure requirements for elevator inspection, installation and repair; establishing the elevator safety fee fund;";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Rob Olson Richard Hilderbrand Oletha Faust-Goudeau Conferees on part of Senate

Ronald Highland Boyd Orr Lindsay Vaughn Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Highland, the conference committee report on ${\bf HB~2005}$ was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 73; Nays 45; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 7.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergquist, Borjon, Burroughs, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Concannon, Corbet, Curtis, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Gartner, Haswood, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoheisel, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kuether, Lynn, Meyer, Miller, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, F. Patton, Poskin, Probst, Proehl,

Ralph, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Smith, A., Smith, C., Stogsdill, Thomas, Vaughn, Victors, Weigel, Wheeler, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: Awerkamp, Bergkamp, Blex, Burris, W. Carpenter, Collins, Croft, Delperdang, Esau, Fairchild, Garber, Hawkins, Helgerson, Hoffman, Houser, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Mason, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Owens, Penn, Proctor, Rahjes, Resman, Rhiley, Samsel, Seiwert, Smith, E., Sutton, Tarwater, Toplikar, Turner, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, K. Williams.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt, Thompson, Winn.

CHANGE OF CONFEREES

Speaker Ryckman announced the appointment of Rep. Ousley to replace Rep. Winn as a member of the conference committee on S Sub for HB 2567.

Also, the appointment of Rep. Ousley to replace Rep. Winn as a member of the conference committee on SB 58.

Also, the appointment of Reps. Bergquist and Miller to replace Reps. Arnberger and L. Ruiz as members of the conference committee on **HB 2138**.

Also, the appointment of Rep. Bergquist to replace Rep. Arnberger as a member of the conference committee on S Sub for HB 2056.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the House recessed until 4:00 p.m.

AFTERNOON SESSION

The House met pursuant to recess with Speaker pro tem Finch in the chair.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the House recessed until 4:30 p.m.

LATE AFTERNOON SESSION

The House met pursuant to recess with Speaker Ryckman in the chair.

MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

The Senate announced the appointment of Senator Olson to replace Senator Alley as a conferee on **HB 2252**.

The Senate announced the appointment of Senators Hilderbrand, Gossage and Pettey to replace Senators Olson, Hilderbrand and Faust-Goudeau as conferees on **HB 2540**.

The Senate accedes to the request of the House for a conference on **HB 2644** and has appointed Senators Olson, Hilderbrand and Faust-Goudeau as conferees on the part of the Senate.

The Senate concurs in House amendments to SB 405, and requests return of the bill.

The Senate concurs in House amendments to **SB 479**, and requests return of the bill.

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report on **HB 2087**.

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report on HB 2559.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House amendments to SB 2 submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with House Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 1, following line 9, by inserting:

- "Section 1. On and after January 1, 2023, K.S.A. 41-102 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-102. As used in this act, unless the context clearly requires otherwise:
- (a) "Alcohol" means the product of distillation of any fermented liquid, whether rectified or diluted, whatever its origin, and includes synthetic ethyl alcohol but does not include denatured alcohol or wood alcohol.
 - (b) "Alcoholic candy" means:
- (1) For purposes of manufacturing, any candy or other confectionery product with an alcohol content greater than 0.5% alcohol by volume; and
- (2) for purposes of sale at retail, any candy or other confectionery product with an alcohol content greater than 1% alcohol by volume.
- (c) "Alcoholic liquor" means alcohol, spirits, wine, beer, alcoholic candy and every liquid or solid, patented or not, containing alcohol, spirits, wine or beer and capable of being consumed by a human being, but shall not include any cereal malt beverage.
- (d) "Beer" means a beverage, containing more than 3.2% alcohol by weight, obtained by alcoholic fermentation of an infusion or concoction of barley, or other grain, malt and hops in water and includes beer, ale, stout, lager beer, porter and similar beverages having such alcoholic content.
- (e) "Caterer" means the same as defined by K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto.
- (f) "Cereal malt beverage" means the same as defined by K.S.A. 41-2701, and amendments thereto.
 - (g) "Club" means the same as defined by K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto.
- (h) "Director" means the director of alcoholic beverage control of the department of revenue.
- (i) "Distributor" means the person importing or causing to be imported into the state, or purchasing or causing to be purchased within the state, alcoholic liquor for sale or resale to retailers licensed under this act or cereal malt beverage for sale or resale to retailers licensed under K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto.
- (j) "Domestic beer" means beer which contains not more than 15% alcohol by weight and which is manufactured in this state.
- (\bar{k}) "Domestic fortified wine" means wine which contains more than $\frac{14\%}{16\%}$, but not more than 20% alcohol by volume and which is manufactured in this state.
- (1) "Domestic table wine" means wine which contains not more than 14% 16% alcohol by volume and which is manufactured without rectification or fortification in this state.
- (m) "Drinking establishment" means the same as defined by K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto.
- (n) "Farm winery" means a winery licensed by the director to manufacture, store and sell domestic table wine and domestic fortified wine.

- (o) "Fulfillment house" means any location or facility for any in-state or out-of-state entity that handles logistics, including warehousing, packaging, order fulfillment or shipping services on behalf of the holder of a special order shipping license issued pursuant to K.S.A. 41-350, and amendments thereto.
 - (p) "Hard cider" means any alcoholic beverage that:
 - (1) Contains less than 8.5% alcohol by volume;
 - (2) has a carbonation level that does not exceed 6.4 grams per liter; and
- (3) is obtained by the normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, ripe apples or pears, including such beverages containing sugar added for the purpose of correcting natural deficiencies.
- (q) "Manufacture" means to distill, rectify, ferment, brew, make, mix, concoct, process, blend, bottle or fill an original package with any alcoholic liquor, beer or cereal malt beverage.
- (r) (1) "Manufacturer" means every brewer, fermenter, distiller, rectifier, wine maker, blender, processor, bottler or person who fills or refills an original package and others engaged in brewing, fermenting, distilling, rectifying or bottling alcoholic liquor, beer or cereal malt beverage.
- (2) "Manufacturer" does not include a microbrewery, microdistillery or a farm winery.
- (s) "Microbrewery" means a brewery licensed by the director to manufacture, store and sell domestic beer and hard cider.
- (t) "Microdistillery" means a facility which produces spirits from any source or substance that is licensed by the director to manufacture, store and sell spirits.
 - u) "Minor" means any person under 21 years of age.
- (v) "Nonbeverage user" means any manufacturer of any of the products set forth and described in K.S.A. 41-501, and amendments thereto, when the products contain alcohol or wine, and all laboratories using alcohol for nonbeverage purposes.
- (w) "Original package" means any bottle, flask, jug, can, cask, barrel, keg, hogshead or other receptacle or container whatsoever, used, corked or capped, sealed and labeled by the manufacturer of alcoholic liquor, to contain and to convey any alcoholic liquor. Original container does not include a sleeve.
- (x) "Person" means any natural person, corporation, partnership, trust or association.
- (y) "Powdered alcohol" means alcohol that is prepared in a powdered or crystal form for either direct use or for reconstitution in a nonalcoholic liquid.
- (z) "Primary American source of supply" means the manufacturer, the owner of alcoholic liquor at the time it becomes a marketable product or the manufacturer's or owner's exclusive agent who, if the alcoholic liquor cannot be secured directly from such manufacturer or owner by American wholesalers, is the source closest to such manufacturer or owner in the channel of commerce from which the product can be secured by American wholesalers.
- (aa) (1) "Retailer" means a person who is licensed under the Kansas liquor control act and sells at retail, or offers for sale at retail, alcoholic liquors or cereal malt beverages.
 - (2) "Retailer" does not include a microbrewery, microdistillery or a farm winery.
- (bb) "Sale" means any transfer, exchange or barter in any manner or by any means whatsoever for a consideration and includes all sales made by any person, whether

principal, proprietor, agent, servant or employee.

- (cc) "Salesperson" means any natural person who:
- (1) Procures or seeks to procure an order, bargain, contract or agreement for the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage; or
- (2) is engaged in promoting the sale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, or in promoting the business of any person, firm or corporation engaged in the manufacturing and selling of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, whether the seller resides within the state of Kansas and sells to licensed buyers within the state of Kansas, or whether the seller resides without the state of Kansas and sells to licensed buyers within the state of Kansas.
- (dd) "Sample" means a serving of alcoholic liquor that contains not more than: (1) One-half ounce of distilled spirits; (2) one ounce of wine; or (3) two ounces of beer or cereal malt beverage. A "sample" of a mixed alcoholic beverage shall contain not more than ½ ounce of distilled spirits.
 - (ee) "Secretary" means the secretary of revenue.
- (ff) (1) "Sell at retail" and "sale at retail" refer to and mean sales for use or consumption and not for resale in any form and sales to clubs, licensed drinking establishments, licensed caterers or holders of temporary permits.
- (2) "Sell at retail" and "sale at retail" do not refer to or mean sales by a distributor, a microbrewery, a farm winery, a licensed club, a licensed drinking establishment, a licensed caterer or a holder of a temporary permit.
- (gg) "To sell" includes to solicit or receive an order for, to keep or expose for sale and to keep with intent to sell.
- (hh) "Sleeve" means a package of two or more 50-milliliter or 3.2-fluid-ounce containers of spirits.
- (ii) "Spirits" means any beverage which contains alcohol obtained by distillation, mixed with water or other substance in solution, and includes brandy, rum, whiskey, gin or other spirituous liquors, and such liquors when rectified, blended or otherwise mixed with alcohol or other substances.
- (jj) "Supplier" means a manufacturer of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage or an agent of such manufacturer, other than a salesperson.
- (kk) "Temporary permit" means the same as defined by K.S.A. 41-2601, and amendments thereto.
- (II) "Wine" means any alcoholic beverage obtained by the normal alcoholic fermentation of the juice of sound, ripe grapes, fruits, berries or other agricultural products, including such beverages containing added alcohol or spirits or containing sugar added for the purpose of correcting natural deficiencies. "Wine" includes hard cider and any other product that is commonly known as a subset of wine.
- Sec. 2. K.S.A. 41-308 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-308. (a) Except as provided in K.S.A. 41-308d, and amendments thereto, a retailer's license shall allow the licensee to sell and offer for sale at retail and deliver in the original package, as therein prescribed, alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage for use or consumption off and away from the premises specified in such license.
- (b) A retailer's license shall permit sale and delivery of alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage only on the licensed premises and shall not permit sale of alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage for resale in any form, except that a licensed retailer may:

- (1) Sell alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage to a temporary permit holder for resale by such permit holder;
- (2) sell and deliver alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage to a caterer or to the licensed premises of a public venue, club or drinking establishment, if such premises are in the county where the retailer's premises are located or in an adjacent county or a county with a corner located within two miles measured along the adjacent county boundary, for resale by such public venue, club, establishment or caterer; and
- (3) sell and deliver cereal malt beverage and beer containing not more than 6% alcohol by volume to the licensed premises of a cereal malt beverage retailer, as defined in K.S.A. 41-2701, and amendments thereto, who is licensed for on-premises consumption, if such cereal malt beverage premises are located in the same county, or an adjacent county to the county where the retailer's premises are located, for resale by such cereal malt beverage retailer.
 - (c) A retailer may:
- (1) Charge a delivery fee for delivery of alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage to a public venue, club, drinking establishment or caterer pursuant to subsection (b)(2);
- (2) charge a delivery fee for delivery of cereal malt beverage and beer containing not more than 6% alcohol by volume to a cereal malt beverage retailer pursuant to subsection (b)(3):
- (3) sell lottery tickets and shares to the public in accordance with the Kansas lottery act, if the retailer is selected as a lottery retailer;
- (4) include in the sale of alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage any goods included by the manufacturer in packaging with the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage, subject to the approval of the director;
- (5) distribute to the public, without charge, consumer advertising specialties bearing advertising matter, subject to rules and regulations of the secretary limiting the form and distribution of such specialties so that they are not conditioned on or an inducement to the purchase of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage;
- (6) store alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage in refrigerators, cold storage units, ice boxes or other cooling devices, and the licensee may sell such alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage to consumers in a chilled condition;
- (7) sell any other good or service on the licensed premises, except that the gross sales of other goods and services, excluding fees derived from the sale of lottery tickets and revenues from sales of cigarettes and tobacco products, shall not exceed 20% of the retailer's total gross sales: and
- (8) sell containers of beer, domestic beer and cereal malt beverage that are sold on the licensed premises to consumers and served in refillable and sealable containers for consumption off the licensed premises if such containers:
 - (A) Contain between 32 and 64 fluid ounces; and
- (B) have a label affixed that clearly indicates the licensee's name and the type of alcoholic beverage contained in such container.
- (d) All alcoholic liquor, cereal malt beverage and nonalcoholic malt beverage sold by a holder of a retail license shall be subject to the liquor enforcement tax imposed by K.S.A. 79-4101, and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 3. K.S.A. 41-311 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-311. (a) No license of any kind shall be issued pursuant to the liquor control act to a person:
 - (1) Who is not a citizen of the United States;

- (2) who has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other state or the United States:
- (3) who has had a license revoked for cause under the provisions of the liquor control act, the beer and cereal malt beverage keg registration act or who has had any license issued under the cereal malt beverage laws of any state revoked for cause except that a license may be issued to a person whose license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor at any time after the lapse of 10 years following the date of the revocation:
- (4) who has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping any property, whether real or personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person who is 18 years of age or older or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of being a keeper of any property, whether real or personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person who is 18 years of age or older;
- (5) who has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those crimes;
 - (6) who is not at least 21 years of age;
- (7) who, other than as a member of the governing body of a city or county, appoints or supervises any law enforcement officer, who is a law enforcement official or who is an employee of the director;
- (8) who intends to carry on the business authorized by the license as agent of another;
- (9) who at the time of application for renewal of any license issued under this act would not be eligible for the license upon a first application, except as provided by subsection (a)(12);
- (10) who is the holder of a valid and existing license issued under article 27 of chapter 41 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, unless the person agrees to and does surrender the license to the officer issuing the same upon the issuance to the person of a license under this act, except that such person may be issued a farm winery license pursuant to K.S.A. 41-316, and amendments thereto, or a producer license pursuant to K.S.A. 41-355, and amendments thereto, and a retailer licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto, shall be eligible to receive a retailer's license under the Kansas liquor control act;
- (11) who does not own the premises for which a license is sought, or does not, at the time of application, have a written lease thereon;
- (12) whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason other than citizenship requirements or age, except that this paragraph shall not apply in determining eligibility for a renewal license or to a person whose spouse is a law enforcement officer:
- (13) whose spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime that would disqualify a person from licensure under this section and such felony or other crime was committed during the time that the spouse held a license under this act;
- (14) who does not provide any data or information required by K.S.A. 41-311b, and amendments thereto; or
- (15) who, after a hearing before the director, has been found to have held an undisclosed beneficial interest in any license issued pursuant to the liquor control act that was obtained by means of fraud or any false statement made on the application for

such license.

- (b) No retailer's license shall be issued to:
- (1) A person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, distributor, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act, except that the spouse of an applicant for a retailer's license may own and hold a farm winery license, microbrewery license, or both, if the spouse does not hold a retailer's license issued under this act;
- (2) a person who has a beneficial interest in any other retail establishment licensed under this act, except that the spouse of a licensee may own and hold a retailer's license for another retail establishment;
 - (3) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;
 - (4) a corporation; or
- (5) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.
 - (c) No manufacturer's license shall be issued to:
- (1) A corporation, if any officer or director thereof, or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a manufacturer's license for any reason other than citizenship requirements:
- (2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners would be individually eligible to receive a manufacturer's license under this act;
- (3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license; or
- (4) a person who has a beneficial interest in a distributor, retailer, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act, except as provided in K.S.A. 41-305, and amendments thereto.
 - (d) No distributor's license shall be issued to:
- (1) A corporation, if any officer, director or stockholder of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a distributor's license for any reason. It shall be unlawful for any stockholder of a corporation licensed as a distributor to transfer any stock in the corporation to any person who would be ineligible to receive a distributor's license for any reason, and any such transfer shall be null and void, except that: (A) If any stockholder owning stock in the corporation dies and an heir or devisee to whom stock of the corporation descends by descent and distribution or by will is ineligible to receive a distributor's license, the legal representatives of the deceased stockholder's estate and the ineligible heir or devisee shall have 14 months from the date of the death of the stockholder within which to sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor's license, any such sale by a legal representative to be made in accordance with the provisions of the probate code; or (B) if the stock in any such corporation is the subject of any trust and any trustee or beneficiary of the trust who is 21 years of age or older is ineligible to receive a distributor's license, the trustee, within 14 months after the effective date of the trust, shall sell the stock to a person eligible to receive a distributor's license and hold and disburse the proceeds in accordance with the terms of the trust. If any legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees fail, refuse or neglect to sell any stock as required by this subsection, the stock shall revert to and become the property of the corporation, and the corporation shall pay to the legal representatives, heirs, devisees or trustees the book value of the stock. During the period of 14 months

prescribed by this subsection, the corporation shall not be denied a distributor's license or have its distributor's license revoked if the corporation meets all of the other requirements necessary to have a distributor's license;

- (2) a copartnership, unless all of the copartners are eligible to receive a distributor's license;
- (3) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license; or
- (4) a person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer, retailer, farm winery or microbrewery licensed under this act.
- (e) No nonbeverage user's license shall be issued to a corporation, if any officer, manager or director of the corporation or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of the corporation would be ineligible to receive a nonbeverage user's license for any reason other than citizenship and residence requirements.
- (f) No microbrewery license, microdistillery license or farm winery license shall be issued to a:
- (1) Person who has a beneficial interest in a manufacturer or distributor licensed under this act, except as provided in K.S.A. 41-305, and amendments thereto;
- (2) person, copartnership or association that has a beneficial interest in any retailer licensed under this act or under K.S.A. 41-2702, and amendments thereto, except that the spouse of an applicant for a microbrewery or farm winery license may own and hold a retailer's license if the spouse does not hold a microbrewery or farm winery license issued under this act:
 - (3) copartnership, unless all of the copartners are qualified to obtain a license;
- (4) corporation, unless stockholders owning in the aggregate 50% or more of the stock of the corporation would be eligible to receive such license and all other stockholders would be eligible to receive such license except for reason of citizenship or residency; or
- (5) a trust, if any grantor, beneficiary or trustee would be ineligible to receive a license under this act for any reason, except that the provisions of subsection (a)(6) shall not apply in determining whether a beneficiary would be eligible for a license.
- (g) If the applicant is not a Kansas resident, no license shall be issued until the applicant has appointed a citizen of the United States who is a resident of Kansas as the applicant's agent and filed with the director a duly authenticated copy of a duly executed power of attorney, authorizing the agent to accept service of process from the director and the courts of this state and to exercise full authority, control and responsibility for the conduct of all business and transactions within the state relative to alcoholic liquor and the business licensed. The agent must be satisfactory to and approved by the director, except that the director shall not approve as an agent any person who:
- (1) Has been convicted of a felony under the laws of this state, any other state or the United States:
- (2) has had a license issued under the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage laws of this or any other state revoked for cause, except that a person may be appointed as an agent if the person's license was revoked for the conviction of a misdemeanor and 10 years have lapsed since the date of the revocation;
 - (3) has been convicted of being the keeper or is keeping any property, whether real

or personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person who is 18 years of age or older or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges of being a keeper of any property, whether real or personal, where sexual relations are being sold or offered for sale by a person who is 18 years of age or older;

- (4) has been convicted of being a proprietor of a gambling house, pandering or any other crime opposed to decency and morality or has forfeited bond to appear in court to answer charges for any of those crimes; or
 - (5) is less than 21 years of age.
- Sec. 4. On and after January 1, 2023, K.S.A. 41-501 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-501. (a) As used in this section and K.S.A. 41-501a, and amendments thereto:
 - (1) "Gallon" means wine gallon.
- (2) "Federal area" means any lands or premises which are located within the exterior boundaries of this state and which are held or acquired by or for the use of the United States or any department, establishment or agency of the United States.
 - (3) "Malt product" means malt syrup, malt extract, liquid malt or wort.
- (b) (1) For the purpose of raising revenue a tax is imposed upon the manufacturing, using, selling, storing or purchasing of alcoholic liquor, cereal malt beverage or malt products in this state or a federal area at a rate of \$.18 per gallon on beer and cereal malt beverage; \$.20 per gallon on all wort or liquid malt; \$.10 per pound on all malt syrup or malt extract; \$.30 per gallon on wine containing 14% 16% or less alcohol by volume; \$.75 per gallon on wine containing more than 14% 16% alcohol by volume; and \$2.50 per gallon on alcohol and spirits.
- (2) The tax imposed by this section shall be paid only once and shall be paid by the person in this state or federal area who first manufactures, uses, sells, stores, purchases or receives the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage. The tax shall be collected and paid to the director as provided in this act. If the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage is manufactured and sold in this state or a federal area, the tax shall be paid by the manufacturer, microbrewery, microdistillery or farm winery producing it. If the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage is imported into this state by a distributor for the purpose of sale at wholesale in this state or a federal area, the tax shall be paid by the distributor, and in no event shall such tax be paid by the manufacturer unless the alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage is manufactured in this state. If not to exceed one gallon, or metric equivalent, per person of alcoholic liquor has been purchased by a private citizen outside the borders of the United States and is brought into this state by the private citizen in such person's personal possession for such person's own personal use and not for sale or resale, such import is lawful and no tax payment shall be due thereon.
- (c) Manufacturers, microbreweries, microdistilleries, farm wineries or distributors at wholesale of alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage shall be exempt from the payment of the gallonage tax imposed on alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverage, upon satisfactory proof, including bills of lading furnished to the director by affidavit or otherwise as the director requires, that the liquor or cereal malt beverage was manufactured in this state but was shipped out of the state for sale and consumption outside the state.
- (d) Wines manufactured or imported solely and exclusively for sacramental purposes and uses shall not be subject to the tax provided for by this section.

- (e) The tax provided for by this section is not imposed upon:
- (1) Any alcohol or wine, whether manufactured in or imported into this state, when sold to a nonbeverage user licensed by the state, for use in the manufacture of any of the following when they are unfit for beverage purposes: Patent and proprietary medicines and medicinal, antiseptic and toilet preparations; flavoring extracts and syrups and food products; scientific, industrial and chemical products; or scientific, chemical, experimental or mechanical purposes; or
- (2) the privilege of engaging in any business of interstate commerce or otherwise, which business may not be made the subject of taxation by this state under the constitution and statutes of the United States.
- (f) The tax imposed by this section shall be in addition to all other taxes imposed by the state of Kansas or by any municipal corporation or political subdivision thereof.
- (g) Retail sales of alcoholic liquor, sales of beer to consumers by microbreweries and sales of wine to consumers by farm wineries shall not be subject to the tax imposed by the Kansas retailers' sales tax act but shall be subject to the enforcement tax provided for in this act.
- (h) Notwithstanding any ordinance to the contrary, no city shall impose an occupation or privilege tax on the business of any person, firm or corporation licensed as a manufacturer, distributor, microbrewery, microdistillery, farm winery, retailer or nonbeverage user under this act and doing business within the boundaries of the city except as specifically authorized by K.S.A. 41-310, and amendments thereto.
- (i) The director shall collect the taxes imposed by this section and shall account for and remit all moneys collected from the tax to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury and the state treasurer shall credit $^{1}/_{10}$ of the moneys collected from taxes imposed upon alcohol and spirits under subsection (b)(1) to the community alcoholism and intoxication programs fund created by K.S.A. 41-1126, and amendments thereto, and shall credit the balance of the moneys collected to the state general fund.
- (j) If any alcoholic liquor manufactured in or imported into this state is sold to a licensed manufacturer or distributor of this state to be used solely as an ingredient in the manufacture of any beverage for human consumption, the tax imposed upon the manufacturer or distributor shall be reduced by the amount of the taxes which have been paid under this section as to the alcoholic liquor so used.
- (k) The tax provided for by this section is not imposed upon alcohol or wine used by any school or college for scientific, chemical, experimental or mechanical purposes or by hospitals, sanitoria or other institutions caring for the sick. Any school, college, hospital, sanatorium or other institution caring for the sick may import alcohol or wine for scientific, chemical, experimental, mechanical or medicinal purposes by making application to the director for a permit to import it and receiving such a permit. Application for the permit shall be on a form prescribed and furnished by the director, and a separate permit shall be required for each purchase of alcohol or wine. A fee of \$2 shall accompany each application. All permits shall be issued in triplicate to the applicant and shall be under the seal of the office of the director. Two copies of the permit shall be forwarded by the applicant to the microbrewery, microdistillery, farm winery, manufacturer or distributor from which the alcohol or wine is purchased, and the microbrewery, microdistillery, farm winery, manufacturer or distributor shall return

to the office of the director one copy of the permit with its shipping affidavit and invoice. Within 10 days after receipt of any alcohol or wine, the school, college, hospital or sanatorium ordering it shall file a report in the office of the director upon forms furnished by the director, showing the amount of alcohol or wine received, the place where it is to be stored, from whom it was received, the purpose for which it is to be used and such other information as required by the director. Any school, college, hospital, sanatorium or institution caring for the sick, which complies with the provisions of this subsection, shall not be required to have any other license to purchase alcohol or wine from a microbrewery, microdistillery, farm winery, manufacturer or distributor.":

On page 9, following line 16, by inserting:

- "Sec. 7. K.S.A. 41-2608 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2608. (a) Any public venue, club or drinking establishment license issued pursuant to this act shall be for one particular premises that shall be stated in the application and in the license. Not more than one premises licensed under the club and drinking establishment act shall exist at a single legal address.
- (b) No license shall be issued for a public venue, club or drinking establishment unless the city, township or county zoning code allows a club or drinking establishment at that location.
- (c) The licensed premises of a license may be extend into a city, county or township street, alley, road, sidewalk or highway if:
- (1) Such street, alley, road, sidewalk or highway is closed to motor vehicle traffic by the governing body of such city, county or township at any time during which alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage is to be sold or consumed; and
- (2) such extension has been approved by the city, county or township by ordinance or resolution that specifies the exact times during which alcoholic liquor or cereal malt beverage may be sold or consumed on the street, alley, road, sidewalk or highway.
- (d) Notwithstanding the provisions of this section, a license under this act shall be issued to a farm winery or producer licensee who meets the requirements for a license under this act and who is a registered agritourism operator as defined in K.S.A. 32-1432, and amendments thereto. Such license shall not be denied on the basis of any zoning regulation or other regulation, ordinance or resolution of any city or county.
- Sec. 8. K.S.A. 41-2703 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2703. (a) After examination of an application for a retailer's license, the board of county commissioners or the director shall, if they approve the same, issue a license to the applicant. The governing body of the city shall, if the applicant is qualified as provided by law, issue a license to such applicant.
 - (b) No retailer's license shall be issued to:
- (1) A person who is not of good character and reputation in the community in which the person resides.
 - (2)—A person who is not a citizen of the United States:
- (3)(2) a person who, within two years immediately preceding the date of application approval, has been convicted of, released from incarceration for or released from probation or parole for a felony or any crime involving moral turpitude, drunkenness, driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or violation of any other intoxicating liquor law of any state or of the United States:
 - (4)(3) a partnership, unless all the members of the partnership are otherwise

qualified to obtain a license-;

- (5)(4) a corporation, if any manager, officer or director thereof, or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of such corporation, would be ineligible to receive a license hereunder for any reason other than the citizenship requirements:
- (6)(5) a person whose place of business is conducted by a manager or agent unless the manager or agent possesses all the qualifications of a licensee-:
- (7)(6) a person whose spouse would be ineligible to receive a retailer's license for any reason other than citizenship requirements or age, except that this paragraph shall not apply in determining eligibility for a renewal license-; and
- (8)(7) a person whose spouse has been convicted of a felony or other crime that would disqualify a person from licensure under this section and such felony or other crime was committed during the time that the spouse held a license under this act.
- (c) After examination of an application for a retailer's license, the board of county commissioners or the governing body of a city may deny a license to a person, partnership or corporation if any manager, officer or director thereof, or any stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of such corporation, has been an officer, manager, director or a stockholder owning in the aggregate more than 25% of the stock of a corporation that has:
- (1) Had a retailer's license revoked under K.S.A. 41-2708, and amendments thereto; or
- (2) been convicted of a violation of the club and drinking establishment act or the cereal malt beverage laws of this state.
- (d) Notwithstanding any generally applicable grant of discretion that may be provided pursuant to subsection (a), if an applicant has been issued a farm winery license pursuant to K.S.A. 41-316, and amendments thereto, or a producer's license pursuant to K.S.A. 41-355, and amendments thereto, an application for a retailers' license shall be approved by the board of county commissioners, the governing body of the city or the director, subject to the requirements of subsections (b) and (c).
- (e) Retailers' licenses shall be issued either on an annual basis or for the calendar year. If such licenses are issued on an annual basis, the board of county commissioners or the governing body of the city shall notify the distributors supplying the county or city on or before April 1 of the year if a retailer's license is not renewed.
- (f) In addition to, and consistent with the requirements of K.S.A. 41-2701 et seq., and amendments thereto, the board of county commissioners of any county or the governing body of any city may provide by resolution or ordinance for the issuance of a special event retailers' permit that shall allow the permit holder to offer for sale, sell and serve cereal malt beverage for consumption on unpermitted premises, that may be open to the public, subject to the following:
- (1) A special event retailers' permit shall specify the premises for which the permit is issued:
- (2) a special event retailers' permit shall be issued for the duration of the special event, the dates and hours of which shall be specified in the permit;
- (3) not more than four special event retailers' permits may be issued to any one applicant in a calendar year; and
 - (4) a special event retailers' permit shall not be transferable or assignable.
 - (g) A special event retailers' permit holder shall not be subject to the provisions of

the beer and cereal malt beverage keg registration act, K.S.A. 41-2901 et seq., and amendments thereto.

- Sec. 9. K.S.A. 41-2704 is hereby amended to read as follows: 41-2704. (a) In addition to and consistent with the requirements of the Kansas cereal malt beverage act, the board of county commissioners of any county or the governing body of any city may prescribe hours of closing, standards of conduct and rules and regulations concerning the moral, sanitary and health conditions of places licensed pursuant to this act and may establish zones within which no such place may be located.
- (b) Within any city where the days of sale at retail of cereal malt beverage in the original package have not been expanded as provided by K.S.A. 41-2911, and amendments thereto, or have been so expanded and subsequently restricted as provided by K.S.A. 41-2911, and amendments thereto, no cereal malt beverages or beer containing not more than 6% alcohol by volume may be sold:
 - (1) Between the hours of 12 midnight and 6 a.m.; or
- (2) on Sunday, except in a place of business which is licensed to sell cereal malt beverage for consumption on the premises, which derives not less than 30% of its gross receipts from the sale of food for consumption on the licensed premises and which is located in a county where such sales on Sunday have been authorized by resolution of the board of county commissioners of the county or in a city where such sales on Sunday have been authorized by ordinance of the governing body of the city.
- (c) Within any city where the days of sale at retail of cereal malt beverage in the original package have been expanded as provided by K.S.A. 41-2911, and amendments thereto, and have not been subsequently restricted as provided in K.S.A. 41-2911, and amendments thereto, no person shall sell at retail cereal malt beverage or beer containing not more than 6% alcohol by volume:
 - (1) Between the hours of 12 midnight and 6 a.m.;
- (2) in the original package not earlier than 9 a.m. and not later than 8 p.m. on Sunday;
 - (3) on Easter Sunday; or
- (4) for consumption on the licensed premises on Sunday, except in a place of business which is licensed to sell cereal malt beverage for consumption on the premises, which derives not less than 30% of its gross receipts from the sale of food for consumption on the licensed premises and which is located in a county where such sales on Sunday have been authorized by resolution of the board of county commissioners of the county or in a city where such sales on Sunday have been authorized by ordinance of the governing body of the city.
- (d) No private rooms or closed booths shall be operated in a place of business, but this provision shall not apply if the licensed premises also are licensed as a club pursuant to the club and drinking establishment act.
- (e) Each place of business shall be open to the public and to law enforcement officers at all times during business hours, except that a premises licensed as a club pursuant to the club and drinking establishment act shall be open to law enforcement officers and not to the public.
- (f) Except as otherwise provided by this subsection, no licensee shall permit a person under the legal age for consumption of cereal malt beverage or beer containing not more than 6% alcohol by volume to consume or purchase any cereal malt beverage in or about a place of business. A licensee's employee who is not less than 18 years of

age may dispense or sell cereal malt beverage or beer containing not more than 6% alcohol by volume, if:

- (1) The licensee's place of business is licensed only to sell at retail cereal malt beverage or beer containing not more than 6% alcohol by volume in the original package and not for consumption on the premises; or
- (2) the licensee's place of business is a licensed food service establishment, as defined by K.S.A. 36-501, and amendments thereto, and not less than 50% of the gross receipts from the licensee's place of business is derived from the sale of food for consumption on the premises of the licensed place of business.
- (g) No person shall have any alcoholic liquor, except beer containing not more than 6% alcohol by volume, in such person's possession while in a place of business, unless the premises are currently licensed as a club or drinking establishment pursuant to the club and drinking establishment act<u>or the business is a farm winery licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-316, and amendments thereto, or a producer licensed pursuant to K.S.A. 41-355, and amendments thereto.</u>
- (h) Cereal malt beverages may be sold on premises that are licensed pursuant to both the Kansas cereal malt beverage act and the club and drinking establishment act at any time when alcoholic liquor is allowed by law to be served on the premises.":

On page 11, in line 34, after "K.S.A." by inserting "41-308, 41-311,"; also in line 34, after the second comma by inserting "41-2608, 41-2703, 41-2704,"; following line 35, by inserting:

"Sec. 13. On and after January 1, 2023, K.S.A. 41-102 and 41-501 are hereby repealed.":

Also on page 11, in line 37, by striking "statute book" and inserting "Kansas register":

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 5, after the semicolon by inserting "relating to the sale and delivery by retail liquor stores of alcohol and cereal malt beverages; increasing the percentage of alcohol by volume in domestic table wine and domestic fortified wine; relating to cereal malt beverage retailer licenses; requiring issuance thereof to a licensed farm winery that satisfies the statutory requirements for such retailer license; permitting farm wineries and producers to hold cereal malt beverage licenses; allowing farm wineries and producers to have alcoholic liquor such as wine on their premises while holding a cereal malt beverage license; removing the good character and reputation requirement for a cereal malt beverage license; providing that applicants for a farm winery or a producer license who are registered as agritourism operators shall be issued the license notwithstanding any zoning or other regulations of any city or county; providing that registered agritourism operators shall be issued a license as a drinking establishment nothwithstanding any city or county zoning or other regulations;"; also in line 5, after "K.S.A." by inserting "41-102, 41-308, 41-311, 41-501,"; also in line 5, after the second comma by inserting "41-2608, 41-2703, 41-2704,";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

John Barker
Tory Marie Arnberger - Blew
Louis Ruiz
Conferees on part of House

ROB OLSON RICHARD HILDERBRAND OLETHA FAUST-GOUDEAU Conferees on part of Senate

On motion of Rep. Arnberger, the conference committee report on **SB 2** was adopted. On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 86; Nays 31; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 8.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Borjon, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Eplee, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Hoye, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Long, Lynn, Meyer, Miller, Moser, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Osman, Ousley, F. Patton, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Ralph, Resman, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sawyer, Schreiber, Smith, A., Smith, C., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: Bergquist, Blex, Burris, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Delperdang, Ellis, Esau, Featherston, Garber, Helgerson, Hoffman, Howell, Howerton, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, Lee-Hahn, Mason, Minnix, Murphy, Orr, Owens, Penn, Rahjes, Rhiley, Sanders, Seiwert, Smith, E., Victors.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burroughs, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt, Thompson, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2087** submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with Senate Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 1, following line 5, by inserting:

"New Section 1. (a) All rules and regulations adopted by state agencies under the provisions of K.S.A. 77-415 et seq., and amendments thereto, shall be reviewed every five years in accordance with this section.

- (b) (1) Each state agency that has adopted rules and regulations shall submit a report to the joint committee on administrative rules and regulations on or before July 15 of the year that corresponds to such state agency under paragraph (2). Such report shall contain a summary of such state agency's review and evaluation of rules and regulations adopted by such state agency, including a statement for each rule and regulation as to whether such rule and regulation is necessary for the implementation and administration of state law or may be revoked pursuant to K.S.A. 77-426(d), and amendments thereto.
- (2) Each state agency that has adopted rules and regulations shall submit a report as required under paragraph (1) in the years that correspond to such state agency as follows:

- (A) For 2023 and every fifth year thereafter, the following state agencies:
- (i) Department of administration;
- (ii) municipal accounting board;
- (iii) state treasurer;
- (iv) Kansas department of agriculture;
- (v) Kansas department of agriculture—division of water resources;
- (vi) state election board;
- (vii) secretary of state;
- (viii) livestock brand commissioner;
- (ix) Kansas department of agriculture—division of animal health;
- (x) Kansas bureau of investigation;
- (xi) Kansas department of agriculture—division of conservation;
- (xii) agricultural labor relations board;
- (xiii) alcoholic beverage control board of review;
- (xiv) Kansas department of revenue—division of alcoholic beverage control;
- (xv) athletic commission;
- (xvi) attorney general;
- (xvii) office of the state bank commissioner;
- (xviii) employee award board;
- (xix) governmental ethics commission;
- (xx) crime victims compensation board;
- (xxi) Kansas human rights commission;
- (xxii) state fire marshal; and
- (xxiii) Kansas department of wildlife and parks;
- (B) for 2024 and every fifth year thereafter, the following state agencies:
- (i) Kansas wheat commission;
- (ii) Kansas state grain inspection department;
- (iii) Kansas department for aging and disability services;
- (iv) Kansas energy office;
- (v) department of health and environment;
- (vi) Kansas department for children and families;
- (vii) park and resources authority;
- (viii) state salvage board;

- (ix) Kansas department of transportation;
- (x) Kansas highway patrol;
- (xi) savings and loan department;
- (xii) Kansas turnpike authority;
- (xiii) insurance department;
- (xiv) food service and lodging board;
- (xv) commission on alcoholism;
- (xvi) corrections ombudsman board;
- (xvii) department of corrections;
- (xviii) Kansas prisoner review board;
- (xix) executive council;
- (xx) mined-land conservation and reclamation (KDHE);
- (xxi) department of labor—employment security board of review;
- (xxii) department of labor;
- (xxiii) department of labor-division of employment; and
- (xxiv) department of labor—division of workers compensation;
- (C) for 2025 and every fifth year thereafter, the following state agencies:
- (i) State records board;
- (ii) state library;
- (iii) board for the registration and examination of landscape architects;
- (iv) adjutant general's department;
- (v) state board of nursing;
- (vi) Kansas board of barbering;
- (vii) state board of mortuary arts;
- (viii) board of engineering examiners;
- (ix) board of examiners in optometry;
- (x) state board of technical professions;
- (xi) Kansas board of examiners in fitting and dispensing of hearing instruments;
- (xii) state board of pharmacy;
- (xiii) Kansas state board of cosmetology;
- (xiv) state board of veterinary examiners;
- (xv) Kansas dental board;
- (xvi) board of examiners of psychologists;

- (xvii) registration and examining board for architects;
- (xviii) board of accountancy;
- (xix) state bank commissioner—consumer and mortgage lending division;
- (xx) board of basic science examiners;
- (xxi) Kansas public employees retirement system;
- (xxii) office of the securities commissioner; and
- (xxiii) Kansas corporation commission;
- (D) for 2026 and every fifth year thereafter, the following state agencies:
- (i) Public employee relations board;
- (ii) abstracters' board of examiners;
- (iii) Kansas real estate commission;
- (iv) education commission;
- (v) state board of regents;
- (vi) school budget review board;
- (vii) school retirement board;
- (viii) state department of education;
- (ix) Kansas department of revenue;
- (x) Kansas department of revenue—division of property valuation;
- (xi) state board of tax appeals;
- (xii) crop improvement association;
- (xiii) Kansas commission on veterans' affairs office;
- (xiv) Kansas water office:
- (xv) Kansas department of agriculture—division of weights and measures;
- (xvi) state board of healing arts;
- (xvii) podiatry board;
- (xviii) behavioral sciences regulatory board;
- (xix) state bank commissioner and savings and loan commissioner—joint regulations;
- (xx) consumer credit commissioner, credit union administrator, savings and loan commissioner and bank commissioner—joint regulations;
 - (xxi) state board of indigents' defense services;
 - (xxii) Kansas commission on peace officers' standards and training; and
 - (xxiii) law enforcement training center; and
 - (E) for 2027 and every fifth year thereafter, the following state agencies:

- (i) Kansas state employees health care commission;
- (ii) emergency medical services board;
- (iii) department of commerce;
- (iv) Kansas lottery;
- (v) Kansas racing and gaming commission;
- (vi) Kansas department of wildlife and parks;
- (vii) Kansas state fair board;
- (viii) real estate appraisal board;
- (ix) state historical society;
- (x) health care data governing board;
- (xi) state department of credit unions;
- (xii) pooled money investment board;
- (xiii) department of corrections—division of juvenile services;
- (xiv) state child death review board;
- (xv) Kansas agricultural remediation board;
- (xvi) unmarked burial sites preservation board;
- (xvii) Kansas housing resources corporation;
- (xviii) department of commerce— Kansas athletic commission;
- (xix) department of health and environment—division of health care finance;
- (xx) home inspectors registration board;
- (xxi) committee on surety bonds and insurance;
- (xxii) 911 coordinating council; and
- (xxiii) office of administrative hearings.
- (c) For any state agency not listed in subsection (b)(2) that adopts rules and regulations that become effective on or after July 1, 2022, such state agency shall submit a report to the joint committee on administrative rules and regulations in accordance with subsection (b)(1) on or before July 15 of the fifth year after such rules and regulations become effective and every fifth year thereafter.
- (d) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a rule and regulation may be adopted or maintained by a state agency only if such rule and regulation serves an identifiable public purpose to support state law and may not be broader than is necessary to meet such public purpose.
- (e) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the rules and regulations filing act, K.S.A. 77-415 et seq., and amendments thereto.";

On page 4, in line 31, by striking "2023" and inserting "2026";

On page 11, following line 32, by inserting:

- "Sec. 7. K.S.A. 77-426 is hereby amended to read as follows: 77-426. (a) All rules and regulations—which that are in force and effect at the time this act takes effect shall continue in full force and effect and may be amended, revived or revoked as provided by law. All new rules and regulations and all amendments, revivals or revocations of rules and regulations, other than temporary regulations, adopted in any year shall be filed with the secretary of state and shall become effective 15 days following its publication in the Kansas register or such later date as clearly expressed in the body of such rule and regulation.
- (b) Except for rules and regulations revoked pursuant to subsection (d), as soon as possible after the filing of any rules and regulations by a state agency, the secretary of state shall submit to the joint committee on administrative rules and regulations such number of copies as may be requested by the joint committee on administrative rules and regulations.
- (c) At any time prior to adjournment sine die of the regular session of the legislature, the legislature may adopt a concurrent resolution expressing the concern of the legislature with any permanent or temporary rule and regulation—which_that is in force and effect and on file in the office of the secretary of state and any permanent rule and regulation filed in the office of the secretary of state during the preceding year and requesting the revocation of any such rule and regulation or the amendment of any such rule and regulation in the manner specified in such resolution.
- (d) (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of the rules and regulations filing act, any rule and regulation may be revoked pursuant to this subsection if such rule and regulation is identified by a state agency in the report submitted to the joint committee on administrative rules and regulations pursuant to section 1, and amendments thereto, as one that may be revoked pursuant to this subsection. A state agency may revoke a rule and regulation by filing a notice of such revocation with the secretary of state and causing such notice to be published in the Kansas register. Such notice of revocation shall not contain any new rules and regulations or any amendments to any rules and regulations.
 - (2) Prior to filing the notice of revocation with the secretary, the state agency shall:
- (A) Upon the written request of a member of the public, hold a public hearing on the proposed notice of revocation;
- (B) submit the notice of revocation to the attorney general for review and approval in accordance with K.S.A. 77-420(d), and amendments thereto; and
- (C) submit the notice of revocation to the joint committee on administrative rules and regulations and, upon request by the chairperson of such committee, appear before such committee at a hearing on such notice.
- (3) The revocation of a rule and regulation under this subsection shall be effective 15 days following the date that the notice of such revocation is published in the Kansas register.
- Sec. 8. K.S.A. 77-436 is hereby amended to read as follows: 77-436. (a) There is hereby established a joint committee on administrative rules and regulations consisting of five senators and seven members of the house of representatives. The five senator members shall be appointed as follows: Three by the committee on organization, calendar and rules and two by the minority leader of the senate. The seven representative members shall be appointed as follows: Four by the speaker of the house of representatives and three by the minority leader of the house of representatives. The

committee on organization, calendar and rules shall designate a senator member to be chairperson or vice-chairperson of the joint committee as provided in this section. The speaker of the house of representatives shall designate a representative member to be chairperson or vice-chairperson of the joint committee as provided in this section. The minority leader of the senate shall designate a senator member to be the ranking minority member of the joint committee as provided in this section. The minority leader of the house of representatives shall designate a representative member to be the ranking minority member of the joint committee as provided in this section.

- (b) A quorum of the joint committee on administrative rules and regulations shall be seven. All actions of the committee may be taken by a majority of those present when there is a quorum. In odd-numbered years the chairperson and the ranking minority member of the joint committee shall be the designated members of the house of representatives from the convening of the regular session in that year until the convening of the regular session in the next ensuing year. In even-numbered years the chairperson and the ranking minority member of the joint committee shall be the designated members of the senate from the convening of the regular session of that year until the convening of the regular session of the next ensuing year. The vice-chairperson shall exercise all of the powers of the chairperson in the absence of the chairperson.
- (c) Except for rules and regulations revoked pursuant to K.S.A. 77-426(d), and amendments thereto, all proposed rules and regulations shall be reviewed by the joint committee on administrative rules and regulations during the public comment period required by K.S.A. 77-421, and amendments thereto. The committee may introduce such legislation as it deems necessary in performing its functions of reviewing administrative rules and regulations.
- (d) The committee shall issue a report to the legislature following each meeting making comments and recommendations and indicating concerns about any proposed rule and regulation. Such report shall be made available to each agency that had proposed rules and regulations reviewed at such meeting during the agency's public comment period for such proposed rules and regulations required by K.S.A. 77-421, and amendments thereto. If having a final report completed by the public hearing required by K.S.A. 77-421, and amendments thereto, is impractical, a preliminary report shall be made available to the agency containing the committee's comments. The preliminary report shall be incorporated into the final report and made available to each agency.
- (e) Except for rules and regulations revoked pursuant to K.S.A. 77-426(d), and amendments thereto, all rules and regulations filed each year in the office of secretary of state shall be subject to review by the joint committee. The committee may introduce such legislation as it deems necessary in performing its functions of reviewing administrative rules and regulations.
- (f) The joint committee shall meet on call of the chairperson as authorized by the legislative coordinating council. All such meetings shall be held in Topeka, unless authorized to be held in a different place by the legislative coordinating council. Members of the joint committee shall receive compensation, travel expenses and subsistence expenses or allowances as provided in K.S.A. 75-3212, and amendments thereto, when attending meetings of such committee authorized by the legislative coordinating council.

for legislative expense and vouchers therefor shall be prepared by the director of legislative administrative services and approved by the chairperson or vice-chairperson of the legislative coordinating council.";

Also on page 11, in line 33, by striking "and" and inserting a comma; also in line 33, after "77-422" by inserting ", 77-426 and 77-436";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 1, after the semicolon by inserting "requiring the review of rules and regulations by state agencies every five years;"; in line 2, after the semicolon by inserting "requirements for adoption of rules and regulations; providing an alternative procedure for revocation of certain rules and regulations;"; in line 3, by striking the first "and" and inserting a comma; also in line 3, after "77-422" by inserting ", 77-426 and 77-436";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Rob Olson Richard Hilderbrand Oletha Faust-Goudeau Conferees on part of Senate

John Barker Tory Marie Arnberger - Blew Louis Ruiz Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Arnberger, the conference committee report on HB 2087 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 105; Nays 12; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 8.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Byers, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Hawkins, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard.

Nays: Carlin, Carmichael, Featherston, Haswood, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Hoye, Kuether, Meyer, Ousley, Xu.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burroughs, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt, Thompson, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2559** submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with Senate Committee of the Whole amendments, as follows:

On page 1, in line 7, before the first "Section" by inserting "New"; also in line 7, by striking the second "Section" and inserting "Sections"; also in line 7, by striking "et seq." and inserting "through 8"; in line 9, before "Sec." by inserting "New"; also in line 9, by striking "section" and inserting "sections"; also in line 9, by striking "et seq." and inserting "through 8"; in line 23, before "Sec." by inserting "New";

On page 2, in line 30, before "Sec." by inserting "New";

On page 3, in line 18, before "Sec." by inserting "New"; in line 23, before "Sec." by inserting "New";

On page 4, in line 23, before "Sec." by inserting "New"; in line 25, before "Sec." by inserting "New"; following line 41, by inserting:

"New Sec. 9. (a) The Kansas department of agriculture may provide industrial hemp testing services to non-licensed persons or governmental entities, including law enforcement agencies, when such capacity is available and not required for testing industrial hemp produced by licensees subject to this act.

- (b) The secretary may establish a fee schedule for any testing services by rules and regulations and shall remit all moneys received from fees collected under this section to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the laboratory testing services fee fund.
- (c) The results of any tests performed under this section shall be made available to the Kansas bureau of investigation upon request. The Kansas department of agriculture shall coordinate any testing services provided under this section with the Kansas bureau of investigation in order to provide excess testing capacity without displacing any services that may also be provided by the Kansas bureau of investigation.
- (d) Nothing in this section shall limit the secretary's authority to refuse to provide testing services to any non-licensee.
- (e) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the commercial industrial hemp act, K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3901 et seq., and amendments thereto.
- New Sec. 10. (a) Seed that has been treated with an irritating or poisonous substance that is harmful to humans or other vertebrate animals shall be colored or dyed a color that clearly identifies that the seed has been treated and shall be labeled with the following information:
 - (1) A warning statement that the seed has been treated;
- (2) the common, coined, chemical or abbreviated chemical name of the substance applied to the seed; and
- (3) a caution statement that reads "treated seed—do not use for food, feed or oil purposes" and for mercurial and similarly toxic substances also includes the word "poison" and a skull-and-crossbones.
 - (b) If seed has been treated with a substance that is not irritating, poisonous or

harmful to humans or other vertebrate animals, the seed shall be labeled with a statement describing the applied substance.

- (c) If seed has been treated with an inoculant, the date beyond which the inoculant is not considered effective or the date of the inoculant's expiration shall be included on the label.
- (d) A separate label may be used for the information required by this section, or such information may be a component of the main label.
 - (e) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the Kansas seed law.
- Sec. 11. K.S.A. 2-1415 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1415. As used in this act:
- (a) "Agricultural seed" means the seed of grass, legume, forage, cereal—and, fiber crops, oil seed, food plot seed and any cannabis sativa crop authorized by state law, or mixtures thereof, but shall, "Agricultural seed" does not include—horticultural seeds those seeds generally classified as vegetable, fruit, flower, tree or shrub and grown for personal use or commercial sale, except that cover crop seed shall be considered agricultural seed.
- (b) "Person" means any individual, member of a partnership, corporation, agents, brokers, company, association or society.
- (c) "Conditioned" means cleaned, or cleaned and blended, to meet the requirements of agricultural seed for the purpose of being planted or seeded.
- (d) "Kind" means one or more related species or subspecies—which that singly or collectively is known by one common name, and includes, among others, wheat, oat, vetch, sweet clover and alfalfa.
- (e) "Variety" means a subdivision of a kind, which that is characterized by growth, yield, plant, fruit, seed or other characteristics by which it can be differentiated from other plants of the same kind.
- (f) "Hard seed" means the seeds which that because of hardness or impermeability do not absorb moisture or germinate under seed testing procedure.
- (g) "Label" means the statements written, printed, stenciled or otherwise displayed upon, or attached to,-the_a container of agricultural seed, and includes other written, printed, stenciled or graphic representations, in any form whatsoever, pertaining to any agricultural seed, whether in bulk or in containers, and includes declarations and affidavits.
- (h) "Secretary" means the secretary of the Kansas department of agriculture or the secretary's authorized representative.
- (i) "Weed seed" means the seeds of plants considered weeds in this state and includes noxious weed seed, prohibited weed seed and restricted weed seed, as determined by the methods established by rule rules and regulation under this act regulations adopted by the secretary.
- (j) (1) "Noxious weed seed" means the seed of Kudzu (Pueraria lobata), field-bindweed (Convolvulus arvensis), Russian knapweed (Centaurea repens), hoary cress (Cardaria draba), Canada thistle (Cirsium arvense), leafy spurge (Euphorbia esula), quaekgrass (Agropyron repens), bur ragweed (Ambrosia grayii), pignut (Indianrushpea) (Hoffmannseggia densiflora), Texas blueweed (Helianthus ciliaris), Johnson grass (Sorghum halepense), sorghum almum, and any plant the seed of which cannot be

distinguished from Johnson grass, musk (nodding) thistle (Carduus nutans L.) and serieea lespedeza (Lespedeza euneata) any species of plant declared to be a noxious weed by the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. 2-1314(a), and amendments thereto, and any rules and regulations adopted thereunder.

- (2) "Noxious weed seed" does not include the seed of any weed species:
- (A) Listed as a noxious weed by a board of county commissioners pursuant to K.S.A. 2-1314(d), and amendments thereto, or designated as a noxious weed by an emergency declaration of the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. 2-1314c, and amendments thereto; and
- (B) not subsequently declared a statewide noxious weed by the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. 2-1314(a), and amendments thereto, and rules and regulations adopted thereunder.
- (k) "Prohibited weed seed" means the seeds or bulblets of plant species that are highly destructive and are difficult to control with cultural practices that are commonly accepted as effective and with the use of herbicides. "Prohibited weed seed" includes the seeds of any species of plant designated as prohibited weed seed in any rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in consultation with landowner organizations, seed industry organizations and programs within the college of agriculture at Kansas state university.
- (1) "Restricted weed seed" means weed seeds or bulblets which shall not be present in agricultural seed at a rate per pound in excess of the number shown following the name of each weed seed: Silverleaf nightshade (Solanum claeagnifolium) 45,horsenettle, bullnettle (Solanum earolinense) 45, dock (Rumex spp.) 45, oxeye daisy-(Chrysanthemum leucanthemum) 45, perennial sowthistle (Sonchum arvensis) 45, giant foxtail (Setaria faberi) 45, cheat (Bromus secalinus) 45, hairy chess (Bromus commutatus) 45, buckthorn plantain (Plantago lanceolata) 45, wild onion or garlie-(Allium spp.) 18, charlock (Sinapsis arvensis) 18, wild mustards (Brassica spp.) 18, treacle (Erysimum spp.) 18, wild carrot (Daucus carota) 18, morning glory and purple moonflower (Ipomoea spp.) 18, hedge bindweed (Calystegia spp., syn. Convolvulus sepium) 18, dodder (Cuscuta spp.) 18, except lespedeza seed, other than sericealespedeza (Lespedeza cuneata), which may contain 45 dodder per pound, pennyeress, fanweed (Thlaspi arvense) 18, wild oats (Avena fatua) 9, elimbing milkweed, sandvine (Cynanchum laeve, syn. Gonolobus laevis) 9, jointed goatgrass (Aegilops cylindrica) 9, black nightshade complex (Solanum ptycanthum, S. americanum, S. sarrachoides, S. nigrum, and S. interius) 9, wild buckwheat, black bindweed (Polygonum convolvulus) 9, velvetleaf, butterprint (Abutilon theophrasti) 9, and cocklebur (Xanthium spp.) 9. The total number of the restricted weed seed shall not exceed 90 per pound except native grass, smooth bromegrass, tall fescue, wheatgrasses and lespedeza, other than sericea lespedeza (Lespedeza euneata), shall not exceed 150 per pound. In smooth bromegrass, fescues, orchard grass, wheatgrasses, and chaffy range grasses, hairy chess or cheatshall not exceed 2,500 per pound. For the purposes of this section the following weedy Bromus spp. shall be considered as common weeds and collectively referred to as-"chess": Japanese chess (Bromus japonicus), soft chess (Bromus mollis) and field chess (Bromus arvensis) that are:
- (1) Objectionable in agricultural crops, lawns and gardens of this state and that can be controlled with cultural practices that are commonly accepted as effective or with the use of herbicides; and

- (2) designated as restricted weed seeds pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the secretary in consultation with landowner organizations, seed industry organizations and programs within the college of agriculture of Kansas state university.
- (h)(m) "Advertisement" means all representations, other than those on the label, disseminated in any manner, or by any means, relating to agricultural seed.
- (m)(n) "Record" means all information relating to any shipment of agricultural seed and includes a file sample of each lot of such seed.
- (n)(o) "Stop sale order" means an administrative order, authorized by law, restraining the sale, use, disposition and movement of a definite amount of agricultural seed.
- (o)(p) "Seizure" means a legal process, including an order issued by a court order, against of competent jurisdiction, that allows the secretary to take possession of a definite amount of agricultural seed and undertake or order the disposition of the seed as the court may direct pursuant to K.S.A. 2-1422a, and amendments thereto.
- (p)(q) "Lot" means a definite quantity of agricultural seed, identified by a lot number or other mark, every portion or bag of which is uniform, within recognized tolerances for the factors which appear in the labeling.
- (q)(r) "Germination_rate" means the percentage of seeds capable of producing normal seedlings under ordinarily favorable conditions, in accordance with the methods established by rule rules and regulation under regulations adopted pursuant to this act.
- (r)(s) "Pure seed" means the kind of seed declared on the label, exclusive of inert matter, other agricultural or other crop seeds and weed seeds.
- (s)(t) "Inert matter" means all matter that is not seeds, and as otherwise determined by rules and regulations under this aet as determined by the secretary.
- (t)(u) "Other agricultural seeds or other crop seeds" means seeds of agricultural seeds other than those included in the percentage or percentages of kind or variety and includes collectively all kinds and varieties not named on the label.
- (u)(v) (1) "Hybrid" means the first generation seed of a cross produced by eontrolling the pollination a method of hybridization that will produce pure seed of which 75% or more contains the genetic material of each of the parent plants and by combining;
 - (1)(A) Two or more inbred lines;
 - (2) (B) one inbred or a single cross with an open pollinated variety, or
- (3) (C) two varieties or species, other than open pollinated varieties of corn (Zea mays).
- (2) "Hybrid—shall" does not include the second generation or subsequent generations resulting from such crosses.—Hybrid designations shall be treated as variety names. Controlling the pollination means to use a method of hybridization which will produce pure seed which is 75% or more hybrid.
- (v)(w) "Type" means a group of varieties—so nearly that are so similar that the individual varieties cannot be clearly differentiated except under special conditions.
- (w)(x) "Treated" means that the seed has received an application of a substance or process which had a substance applied to such seed that is designed to reduce, control or repel certain disease organisms, insects or other pests attacking such seeds or seedlings growing therefrom and includes an application of a substance or process-designed to increase seedling vigor.
 - (x)(y) "Tested-seed" means that a representative sample of the lot of agricultural

seed in question has been subjected to examination and its character as to such sample's purity and germination rate has been determined.

(y)(z) "Native grass seed" means the seeds of aboriginal or native prairie grasses.

(z)(aa) "Chaffy range grasses"—shall include means Bluestems, Gramas, Yellow Indian grass,—wild rye grasses wildryes, buffalo grass buffalograss and prairie cord any other grass that has seeds that tend to bind together because of attached husks, hulls, brans or other plant parts that do not readily separate from the seeds during conditioning and prevent the seeds from moving independently of each other.

(aa)(bb) "Certified seed" means any class of pedigreed seed or plant parts for which a certificate of inspection has been issued by an official seed certifying agency.

(bb)(cc) "Certifying agency" means:

- (1) An agency—which that is authorized under the laws of a state, territory or possession to officially certify seed and—which has standards and procedures approved by the secretary of agriculture of the United States department of agriculture to assure the genetic purity and identity of the seed certified; or
- (2) an agency of a foreign country—which_that is determined by the secretary of agriculture of the United States department of agriculture to be an agency—which_that adheres to procedures and standards for seed certification comparable to those adhered to generally by seed certifying agencies under clause paragraph (1) of this subsection.
- (ee)(dd) "Blend" means a combination of two or more varieties of the same kind of agricultural seed in which each in excess of variety comprises more than 5% of the whole.
- (dd)(ee) "Mixture" means a combination of two or more kinds of agricultural seed eonsisting of more than one kind each in excess of in which each kind comprises more than 5% of the whole.
- (ee)(ff) "Brand" means a term or mark that is proprietary in nature, whether or not it is a registered or copyrighted term or mark.
- (ff)(gg) "Commercial means"—shall include includes all forms of advertising for which a person must pay another for the dissemination or distribution of the advertisement.
- (gg) "Horticultural seeds" means those seeds generally classified as vegetable, fruit, flowers, tree and shrub and grown in gardens or on truck farms.
- (hh) "Grower of agricultural seed" means an individual whose primary occupation is farming and who sells or offers; or exposes-or sells for sale agricultural seed-of such individual's own growing that the individual has grown without the use of a common carrier or a third party as an agent or broker.—Seed shall be in compliance with noxious and restricted weed seed requirements and may advertise if the advertisement-specifically states variety, bin run and if tested.
- (ii) "Wholesaler" means any person who is in the business<u>of</u> selling agricultural seed-at wholesale to any person other than the end user.
 - (jj) "Retailer" means any person who sells agricultural seed to the end user.
- (kk) "Seed conditioner" means any person who is in the business of cleaning seed for a fee or compensation.
- (II) "Wild mustard (Brassica spp.)" means Indian mustard (Brassica juncea), Sahara mustard (B. tournefortii), field mustard (B. rapa), black mustard (B. nigra), bird rape (B. campestris) and all other members of the wild mustard (Brassica spp.) genus when occurring incidentally in agricultural seeds.

- (mm) "Cover crop seed" means the seed of any plant that is planted to provide seasonal soil cover for the purpose of protecting or enriching the soil, whether harvested or not. "Cover crop seed" does not include the seeds of any plant of the genus cannabis.
- (nn) "Food plot" means a planted area set aside for the purpose of providing a supplementary source of nutrition to wildlife or other non-domesticated animals and that is not intended to be harvested for sale.
- (oo) "Feminized seed" means seeds produced by a cannabis sativa plant that are specially bred, treated or genetically engineered to eliminate male chromosomes to produce only female plants.
- (pp) "Oil seed" means the seeds of any species that is grown as a crop primarily for the oil contained within the grain.
- (qq) "Seed" means a plant's dormant unit of sexual reproduction intended to be planted for germination.
- (rr) "Act" or "Kansas seed law" means the statutes contained in article 14 of chapter 2 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 12. K.S.A. 2-1417 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1417. (a) Each bulk quantity, package or parcel of agricultural seed offered for sale, exposed for sale or exchanged for planting or seeding purposes shall have a label—which that shall be affixed thereto or printed or stenciled thereon or in, for bulk quantity—which agricultural seed, shall be furnished with the invoice; Each agricultural seed label shall be printed in the English language giving and shall contain the following information, which shall be legible and shall not be modified—or, defaced, falsified or misleading and shall not be denied on the label; or on another label attached to the container, and in bulk quantity shall be furnished with the invoice:
- (a)(1) The commonly accepted name of the kind and variety or hybrid designation, or the kind and the words "variety not stated", of each agricultural seed component—in excess of that comprises more than 5% of the whole and the percentage by weight of each in order of its predominance, except for the annual grain crops wheat, oats, barley, and soybeans, for which the label shall include the kind and variety. For blends of wheat, oats, barley or soybeans, the label shall include the kind followed by the word "blend." For brands of wheat, oats, barley, and soybeans, the brand mark or term must precede the word "brand." Components of blends and brands of wheat, oats, barley and soybeans shall be registered with the secretary unless all varieties and the percentage thereof are listed on the label. Blends and brands so registered may be labeled by kind and the words "variety (varieties) not stated." The composition of registered blends and brands shall remain consistent from year to year. Where more than one component is required to be named, the word "mixture" or the word "mixed" shall be shown conspicuously on the label:
 - (b)(2) the percentage by weight of pure seed;
 - (e)(3) the percentage by weight of all weed seeds;
 - $\frac{(d)}{(4)}$ the percentage by weight of inert matter;
- (e) for each named agricultural seed: (1) The percentage of germination, exclusive of hard seed; (2) the percentage of hard seeds, if present; (3) total germination-percentage including hard seed may be shown; (4) the calendar month and year the test was completed to determine such percentages;
- (f)(5) the percentage by weight of agricultural seeds—(which may be designated as "crop seeds"), other than those required to be named on the label;

- (g)(6) the lot number or other lot identification, which shall remain visible and legible and shall be placed so as not to obscure any lot number or other lot identification that was previously placed on the bulk quantity, package or parcel;
- (h)(7) the origin: i.e. of the seed, including the state or foreign country where the seed was grown, or a declaration that the origin of the seed is unknown to the seller, except in the case of grass seeds in quantities of less than 10 pounds intended for lawn seeding purposes, or a declaration that origin of seed is unknown to seller;
- (i)(8) the name and rate of occurrence per pound of each kind of restricted weed seed present, which shall not be more than the number per pound of restricted weed seed in agricultural seed, as provided in subsection (k) of K.S.A. 2-1415 exceed the applicable limitations prescribed in rules and regulations adopted by the secretary;
 - (i)(9) the name and address of the person responsible for the label; and
- (k) agricultural seed which has been treated with chemicals for insect or disease control, shall be labeled to show the following:
 - (1) A word or statement indicating that the seed has been treated;
- (2) the commonly accepted, coined, chemical or abbreviated chemical (generic) name of the applied substance;
- (3) if the substance in the amount applied is harmful to human or other vertebrate animals, a caution statement, such as: "Do not use for food, feed or oil purposes." The eaution for mercurials and similarly toxic substances must include in a contrasting color the word "poison" and skull and crossbones; and
- (4) a separate label may be used to show this information, or it may be a component part of the main label
- (10) for any label that makes claims that a bulk quantity, package or parcel of cannabis sativa contains feminized seeds, the percentage by weight of feminized seed.
- (b) For each kind of agricultural seed identified on the label, the label shall also include:
 - (1) The germination rate, excluding the hard seed;
 - (2) the percentage of hard seed, if present;
- (3) the month and year that the test to determine the germination rate was conducted; and
- (4) for seed that is sold for lawn and turf purposes, a statement of the month and year by which the seed shall be sold that includes the phrase "sell by".
 - (c) Any label may also include the total germination rate, including hard seed.
- (d) Any label may include a statement of the month and year by which the seed shall be sold that includes the phrase "sell by".
- (e) The "sell by" month and year on each label shall be not more than nine months after the date that the test to determine the germination rate was conducted, excluding the calendar month in which the test was conducted.
- (f) For blends of wheat, oats, barley or soybeans, the label shall include a statement of the seed kind followed by the word "blend". For brands of wheat, oats, barley and soybeans, the brand mark or term shall precede the word "brand". Components of blends and brands of wheat, oats, barley and soybeans shall be registered with the secretary unless all varieties and the percentage thereof are listed on the label. Blends and brands so registered may be labeled by kind and the words "variety (varieties) not stated". The composition of registered blends and brands shall remain consistent from year to year. When more than one component is required to be named, the word

"mixture" or "mixed" shall be shown conspicuously on the label.

- Sec. 13. K.S.A. 2-1421 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1421. (a) It is shall be unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, expose for sale or advertise by commercial means any agricultural seed for seeding purposes:
- (1) Unless a test has been made to determine the percentage of germination and it shall have been completed within a nine-month period (exclusive of the calendar month in which the test was completed) immediately prior to sale, exposure for sale or offering for sale. That was not tested to determine the germination rate within the nine-month period immediately prior to being sold or offered or exposed for sale, excluding the calendar month in which the test was completed;
 - (2) which that is not labeled in accordance with the provisions of this act;
 - (3) which that has a false, misleading or incomplete label;
 - (4) whichthat contains noxious weed-seeds seed or prohibited weed seed;
- (5) whichthat contains restricted weed seeds in excess of the quantity prescribed by subsection (k) of K.S.A. 2-1415, and amendments thereto pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the secretary;
 - (6) which that contains more than 1% of weed seeds by weight, except:
- (A) 2% of weed seed by weight if the agricultural seed is smooth bromegrass, fescues, orchard grass, wheatgrasses, and or lespedeza-which contain more than 2% weed seed by weight and other than sericea lespedeza;
- (B) 4% weed seed by weight if the agricultural seed is any chaffy range grasses which contain more than 4% by weight grass; or
 - (C) 1% of weed seed by weight for any other agricultural seed;
- (7) if any label, advertisement or other media represents such agricultural seed to be certified or registered, unless: (A) Such certification or registration has been-determined by an official seed certifying agency; and (B) such seed bears an official-label issued for such seed by such agency stating that the seed is certified or registered;
- (8)—by variety name not certified by an official seed certifying agency when it is a variety for which a certificate of plant variety protection has been issued under the plant variety protection act, as amended, and as in effect on July 1, 1997, specifying sale only as a class of certified seed, except that seed from a certified lot may be labeled as to variety name when used in a mixture by, or with the approval of, the owner of the variety:
- (9)(8) without having registered with the secretary as required by K.S.A. 2-1421a, and amendments thereto; and
- (9) if any label, advertisement or other media represents such agricultural seed to be certified or registered, unless:
- (A) Such certification or registration has been determined by an official seed-certifying agency; and
- (B) such seed bears an official label issued for such seed by such agency stating that the seed is certified or registered.
 - (b) Itis shall be unlawful for any person to:
- (1) To-Alter or deface any label so that the information is false or misleading or to mutilate any label;
- (2) to-disseminate any false or misleading advertisements concerning agricultural seed:
 - (3) to—issue any statement, invoice or declaration as to the variety of any

agricultural seed-which that is false or misleading;

- (4) to-hinder or obstruct the secretary or an authorized representative of theseeretary in the performance of official duties;
- (5) to-fail to comply with a stop sale order, or to move or otherwise handle or dispose of any quantity of seed that is held under a stop sale order; or that has a stop sale tag attached thereto, except with the express permission of the enforcing officer in writing and except for the purpose specified therein subject to any conditions established by the enforcing officer:
- (6) to-use the word "trace" as a substitute for any statement—which that is required; or
- (7) to-use the word "type" in any labeling in connection with the name of any agricultural seed variety.
- (c) (1) Except as provided in subsection-(a)(8) (a)(7), it shall not be a violation of this act for the grower of agricultural seed to sell; or offer or expose for sale for planting or seeding purposes agricultural seed—which that has not been tested and labeled when the agricultural seed:
 - (1)(A) Has been Was grown on the grower's premises;
 - (2)(B) is free from noxious weed seed and prohibited weed seed; and
- (3)(C) does not contain—any restricted weed seed in excess of the quantity prescribed by subsection (k) of K.S.A. 2-1415, and amendments thereto established in rules and regulations adopted by the secretary; and
- (D) is of a variety that is not prohibited from being sold or offered or exposed for sale by any legal, contractual or other protection.
- (2) Agricultural seed sold pursuant to this exemption shall not be advertised by commercial means unless—such the advertisement specifically states—such that the agricultural seed is bin run or states whether—such the agricultural seed has been tested.
- Sec. 14. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-1421a is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1421a. (a) (1) Each wholesaler shall register with the secretary and shall pay a registration fee not to exceed \$300. The current wholesale registration fee is hereby set at \$175 and shall remain at that amount until changed by rules and regulations of the secretary. A wholesaler shall not offer or expose the seed for sale to any person, business, wholesaler, retailer or facility when the wholesaler knows or has reason to know that the buyer or potential buyer is not actively registered with the secretary as provided by this section.
- (2) Each retailer shall register with the secretary and shall pay a registration fee not to exceed \$30. The current retailer registration fee is hereby set at \$10 and shall remain at that amount until changed by rules and regulations of the secretary.
- (3) Registration shall be required for each place of business at which agricultural seed is sold, offered or exposed for sale by the wholesaler or retailer.
- (4) An individual who conducts a wholesaler and retailer business at the same location shall be required to register as both a wholesaler and retailer.
- (b) Application for registration as a wholesaler or retailer, or both, shall be made on a form provided by the secretary. Each registration for a wholesaler or retailer shall expire on August 31 following the date of issuance unless such registration is renewed annually.
- (c) Each seed conditioner shall register with the secretary. Such seed conditioner registration shall require no registration fee and shall be a biennial registration. Any

seed conditioner who is ceasing to do business as a seed conditioner shall notify the Kansas department of agriculture within 30 days of ceasing to do business.

- (d) As used in this section, "agricultural seed"—shall include includes grain when sold as such, or when sold according to grain standards and the seller knows, or has reason to know, that the grain is to be used for seeding or planting purposes.
- (e)(d) The secretary shall remit all moneys received under this section to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the agricultural seed fee fund which is hereby created. All expenditures from such fund shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the secretary or a person or persons designated by the secretary.
- (f)(e) All moneys credited to the agricultural seed fee fund shall be expended for any purpose consistent with the Kansas seed law.
- (g)(f) The secretary may adopt rules and regulations necessary to administer the provisions of this act.
- (g) The secretary, after providing notice and an opportunity for a hearing in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act, may deny any application or revoke, suspend, modify or refuse to renew any registration issued pursuant to this act if such applicant or the holder of such registration has:
- (1) Failed to comply with any provision or requirement of this act or any rule or regulation adopted hereunder;
- (2) failed to comply with any laws, rules or regulations of any other state, or the United States, related to the registration of agricultural seed dealers, the testing of seed, the labeling of seed or seed certification; or
- (3) had any license, certificate, registration or permit issued by Kansas or any other state, or the United States, related to the registration of agricultural seed dealers, the testing of seed, the labeling of seed or seed certification revoked, suspended or modified.
- (h) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the Kansas seed law, K.S.A. 2-1415 et seq., and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 15. K.S.A. 2-1422 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1422. (a) Any person who-shall violates any of the provisions of this act shall be deemed guilty of-a an unclassified misdemeanor and upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not-less than twenty-five dollars (\$25) nor more than five hundred dollars (\$500) more than \$500.
- (b) The secretary, after providing notice and an opportunity for a hearing, in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act, may suspend, revoke or deny any registration and assess a civil penalty against any person who violates or fails to comply with the requirements of this act, or any rules or regulations adopted hereunder, of not less than \$100 nor more than \$1,000 per violation. Such civil penalty may be assessed in addition to any other penalty provided by law.
- (c) All moneys collected pursuant to this section shall be deposited in the state treasury in accordance with K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto, and shall be credited to the state general fund.
 - Sec. 16. K.S.A. 2-1422a is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1422a. (a)

Agricultural seed—which that is mislabeled shall be considered a common nuisance and shall be subject to seizure and injunction in the manner-as provided by law. In the event the

- (b) (1) When a court of competent jurisdiction finds the any seed to be in violation of this act; and orders the condemnation of said such seed, it the seed may be denatured, reprocessed, destroyed, relabeled; or otherwise disposed of as the court may direct: Provided, That in no instance shall the court order a disposition of said seed without first having given directs.
- (2) Before a court orders a disposition of any seed, the defendant shall have an opportunity to be heard and to apply to the court (a) for:
- (A) Permission to reprocess or relabel-it the seed in order to bring it such seed into compliance with law this act and any rules or regulations applicable thereto; and (b) for
 - (B) a release of said such seed.
- (3) When, in the performance of duties, the secretary—or a duly authorized-representative of the secretary, applies to any court for a temporary restraining order or a temporary or permanent injunction, restraining to prevent any person from violating or continuing to violate any of the provisions of this act, or any rule rules and regulation under this act, said regulations adopted pursuant thereto, an order granting or denying the secretary's request shall be issued without bond; and—said order shall be issued without regard to whether any criminal proceeding has been instituted.
- Sec. 17. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-1423 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1423. (a) *Inspection*. The secretary-or a duly authorized representative of the secretary shall inspect, sample and determine the purity and germination rate of agricultural seed at such time, and in such places, and to such extent as the secretary-or representatives of the secretary consider considers advisable. The secretary-or an authorized representative of the secretary may stop further sale or movement of any lot or lots of agricultural seed found to be in violation of any of the provisions of this act or any rules or regulations adopted pursuant thereto until compliance with-the law this act has been satisfied or other another disposition has been made. It shall be the duty of the secretary-or a duly authorized representative of the secretary to:
 - (1) Enforce and administer this act;
- (2) sample, inspect, make analysis of and test agricultural seeds transported, sold, offered for sale or exposed for sale within the state for planting and seeding purposes at such time and place and to such extent as considered necessary to determine whether the agricultural seeds are in compliance with provisions of this act; and
- (3) cooperate <u>and enter into agreements</u> with the United States department of agriculture and other agencies in seed law enforcement.
- (b) (1) Access. The secretary-or authorized representatives of the secretary shall have free access, during-reasonable customary business hours, to all places of business, buildings, vehicles, cars and vessels, of whatsoever kind, used in the sale, transportation, processing, packaging, importation or storage of agricultural seed and shall have the authority to:
- (1)-(A) Inspect the records concerning the place of origin, or concerning the sale, of any agricultural seed;
- (2) (B) open any package containing or suspected of containing any agricultural seed that is exposed or offered for sale; and
 - (3)(C) take therefrom samples of contents for examination.

- (2) This section shall also apply to any seed that the secretary has reason to believe is or may be exposed for sale, except for lots of agricultural seed that are clearly and permanently marked as not for sale and stored separately from seed that is or may be offered for sale.
- (3) The owner of the seed shall be paid the retail price of the sample so procured if the owner so requests.
- shall have the authority to:-(1) issue and enforce a written or printed "stop sale" order to the owner or custodian of any quantity of agricultural seed-which that the secretary-orduly authorized representatives of the secretary determine determines to be in violation of any-of the provisions provision of this act or rules and regulations adopted hereunder; which, Such an order shall prohibit further sale, processing-and or movement of such seed, except-on with the approval of the enforcing officer, until such officer has evidence that the law has this act and all rules and regulations adopted hereunder have been complied with and issues a release from the "stop sale" order-of such seed. Any stop sale order issued pursuant to this subsection is subject to review in accordance with the Kansas judicial review act. The provisions of this subsection shall not be construed as limiting the right of the enforcement officer to proceed as authorized by other sections of this act.
- Sec. 18. K.S.A. 2-1424 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1424. When the said secretary decides determines that prosecution for a violation of this act or rules and regulations adopted pursuant hereunder is warranted, he or she the secretary shall:
- (a) Report the facts supporting such determination to the prosecuting attorney of the county in which the violation was committed; and
- (b) furnish that officer prosecuting attorney with a copy of the results of the any analysis or other examination of such agricultural seed. Such results shall be duly attested to by the analyst or other representative making of the secretary who performed the analysis or made the examination.
- Sec. 19. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-1427 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1427. The secretary-of-agriculture is hereby empowered to-make and publish adopt such rules and regulations-after public hearing as-it may deem the secretary deems necessary to carry-into-effect out the full intent and meaning of-chapter 2; article 14; of chapter 2 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, and The secretary is hereby empowered to enforce the provisions of this act and the rules and regulations promulgated by the secretary of agriculture adopted hereunder.
- Sec. 20. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-2113 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-2113. As used in this act:
- (a) "Plant pests" includes any stage of development of any insect, nematode, arachnid, or any other invertebrate animal, or any bacteria, fungus, virus, weed or any other parasitic plant or microorganism, or any toxicant, which that can:
 - (1) Injure plants or plant products; or which can
 - (2) cause a threat to public health.
- (b) "Secretary" means the secretary of the Kansas department of agriculture, or the authorized representative of the secretary.
- (c) "Plants" means trees, shrubs, grasses, vines, forage and cereal plants and all other plants including growing crops; cuttings, grafts, scions, buds and all other parts of plants.

- (d) "Plant products" means fruit, vegetables, roots, bulbs, seeds, wood, lumber, grains and all other plant products.
- (e) "Location" means any grounds or premises on or in which live plants are propagated, or grown, or from which live plants are removed for sale, or any grounds or premises on or in which live plants are being fumigated, treated, packed, stored or offered for sale.
- (f) "Live plant dealer" means any person, unless excluded by rules and regulations adopted hereunder, who engages in business in the following manner:
 - (1) Grows live plants for sale or distribution;
- (2) buys or obtains live plants for the purpose of reselling or reshipping within this state; or
- (3) plants, transplants or moves live plants from place to place within the state with the intent to plant such live plants for others and receives compensation for the live plants, for the planting of such live plants or for both live plants and plantings; or
 - (4) gives live plants as a premium or for advertising purposes.
- (g) "Person" means a corporation, company, society, association, partnership, governmental agency and any individual or combination of individuals.
- (h) "Permit" means a document issued or authorized by the secretary to provide for the movement of regulated articles to restricted destinations for limited handling, utilization or processing.
- (i) "Host" means any plant or plant product upon which a plant pest is dependent for completion of any portion of its life cycle.
- (j) "Regulated article" means any host or any article of any character as described in a quarantine or regulation carrying or being capable of carrying the plant pest against which the quarantine or regulation is directed.
- (k) "Live plant" means any living plant, cultivated or wild, or any part thereof that can be planted or propagated unless specifically exempted by the rules or regulations of the secretary.
- (l) "Quarantine pest" means a pest of potential economic importance to the area endangered thereby and not yet present there, or present but not widely distributed and being officially controlled.
- (m) "Regulated nonquarantine pest" means a nonquarantine pest whose presence in plants for planting affects the intended use of those plants with an economically unacceptable impact and which is therefore regulated.
- (n) "Official control" means the active enforcement of mandatory phytosanitary regulations and the application of mandatory phytosanitary procedures with the objective of eradication or containment of quarantine pests or for the management of regulated nonquarantine pest.
- (o) "Regulated area" means an area into which, within which or from which plants, plant products and other regulated articles are subjected to phytosanitary regulations or procedures in order to prevent the introduction or spread of quarantine pests or to limit the economic impact of regulated nonquarantine pests.
- (p) "Bee" means a honey-producing insect of the genus Apis including all life stages of the insect.
- (q) "Beekeeping equipment" means all hives, supers, frames or other devices used in the rearing or manipulation of bees or their brood.
 - (r) "Toxicant" means any chemical, including an agricultural chemical as defined in

- K.S.A. 2-2202, and amendments thereto, or any biological substance—which that, if present in unsafe levels, can render a plant or plant product unsafe for human or animal consumption.
- (s) "Temporary location" means an auxiliary or secondary location where live plants are offered for sale but without the infrastructure for the production or maintenance of live plants, such as a farmers market, garden show or festival.
 - (t) "Special event live plant dealer" means a person:
- (1) Intending to sell, offer for sale or distribute live plants for five or fewer days in a calendar year as a nonprofit, charitable, educational or religious organization; or
- (2) who gives live plants as a premium or for advertising purposes without selling live plants as part of such person's business.
- Sec. 21. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-2118 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-2118. Upon request the secretary may provide inspection services for any person who owns or possesses plants or plant products or for certification purposes of regulated articles intended for shipment. Upon payment of the appropriate fee as established by rule and regulation and as inspection personnel are available, the inspection shall be conducted and a report or certificate setting forth the inspection results shall be issued if requested. Inspection fees shall not exceed \$30 \$45 per hour. The secretary may assess reasonable diagnostic and identification fees as established by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary. Mileage incurred shall also be paid by the person requesting the inspection at the rate established by rules and regulations. If certificate is requested an additional fee not to exceed \$50, as established by rules and regulations, plus any fee amount charged by the United States government for the acquisition of federal certificates shall be assessed. The fees for such inspection and certificate in effect on the day preceding the effective date of this act shall continue in effect until the secretary adopts rules and regulations fixing a different fee therefor under this subsection. In any case where any intended receiving state or country requires or authorizes the certification of plants or plant products, bees or beekeeping equipment or other regulated articles to be based on origin, special handling, treatment or any other procedure in addition to or in lieu of actual visual inspection of such articles, the secretary may provide such certification. The secretary may refuse to perform any inspection if the regulated article to be inspected is found to be in such condition that it cannot be adequately inspected or the environs in which the regulated article is located present a danger to the health and safety of the inspection personnel.
- Sec. 22. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-2120 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-2120. (a) Every live plant dealer, before <u>advertising for sale</u>, selling-or, offering for sale or delivering any live plants in this state, shall procure from the secretary a live plant dealer's license for each location from which such live plant dealer engages in business as a live plant dealer, <u>except for temporary locations that are registered with the secretary</u>.
- (b) Application for such license shall be made on a form furnished by the secretary. The fee for each application shall be fixed by rules and regulations adopted by the secretary, except that such fee shall not exceed—\$80_\$100, excluding the plant pest emergency fee, authorized pursuant to K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-2129, and amendments thereto.
- (c) A live plant dealer-shall not be required to obtain a license if such live plant dealer does not import or export plants into or from the state and the annual gross-

receipts of such live plant dealer's business is less than \$10,000 who does not export live plants from the state, has annual gross receipts under \$10,000 and has only one location, other than temporary locations, may apply for a reduced license fee. The reduced fee shall not exceed \$50, excluding the plant pest emergency fee. Application for the reduced license fee shall be made on the license application form provided by the secretary.

- (d) Such All live plant dealer's license dealer licenses shall expire on January 31, following the date of issue. Renewal of a license on or after such date of expiration shall result in a \$25 late fee, except that if a license is renewed after the March 1 immediately following such date of expiration, such late fee shall be \$50. A live plant dealer license shall not be issued until all fees are paid to the secretary.
- (e) Any person who conducts business as a special event live plant dealer shall not be required to obtain a live plant dealer's license but shall register with the secretary in such form and manner as prescribed by the secretary.
- (f) A live plant dealer may only engage in the live plant business with live plants which that are:
- (1) In compliance with all quarantines and regulated nonquarantine pest freedom standards established by the secretary; or
- (2) accompanied by a valid certificate of inspection of a federal inspector or inspector of another state stating that such live plants comply with all applicable quarantines and regulated nonquarantine pest freedom standards.
- Sec. 23. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3901 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-3901. (a) K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3901 et seq., and amendments thereto, shall be known and may be cited as the commercial industrial hemp act.
 - (b) As used in the commercial industrial hemp act:
- (1) "Commercial" means the cultivation or production of industrial hemp for purposes other than research as any purpose authorized under K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3906, and amendments thereto.
- (2) "Delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration" means the combined percentage of delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol and its optical isomers, their salts and acids, and salts of their acids, reported as free THC:
 - (A) On a dry weight basis, of any part of the plant cannabis sativa L.; or
- (B) on a percentage by weight basis in hemp products, waste or substances resulting from the production or processing of industrial hemp.
 - (3) "Effective disposal" includes, but is not limited to:
 - (A) Destruction; or
- (B) any other method of disposing of industrial hemp or hemp products found to be in violation of this act that is permitted under the provisions of 7 U.S.C. § 1621 et seq. and any rules and regulations adopted thereunder.
- (4) "Hemp products" means all products made from industrial hemp, including, but not limited to, cloth, cordage, fiber, food, fuel, paint, paper, particleboard, plastics, seed, seed meal and seed oil for consumption and any extract from industrial hemp intended for further processing. Final "hemp products" may contain a tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not more than 0.3%. As used in this paragraph, "tetrahydrocannabinol concentration" means the same as in K.S.A. 65-6235(b)(3), and amendments thereto.
- (5) "Hemp producer" means any individual, licensed or otherwise, engaging in the cultivation or production of industrial hemp for commercial purposes pursuant to

- K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3906, and amendments thereto.
- (6) "Hemp processor" means a person registered under K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3907, and amendments thereto, to process and manufacture industrial hemp and hemp products.
- (7) "Industrial hemp" means all parts and varieties of the plant cannabis sativa L., whether growing or not, that contain a delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of not more than 0.3% on a dry weight basis.
- (8) "Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, association, joint stock company, trust, unincorporated organization or any similar entity or any combination of the foregoing acting in concert.
- (9)—"Seed research" means research conducted to develop or recreate better strains of industrial hemp, particularly for the purpose of seed production.
- (10) "State educational institution" means the university of Kansas, Kansas state university, Wichita state university, Emporia state university, Pittsburg state university and, Fort Hays state university, or any other accredited college, university, technical college or community college within Kansas.
- (11)(10) "Authorized seed or clone plants" means a source of industrial hemp seeds or clone plants that:
- (A) Has been certified by a certifying agency, as defined by K.S.A. 2-1415, and amendments thereto;
- (B) has been produced from plants that were tested during the active growing season and were found to produce industrial hemp having a tetrahydrocannabinol concentration that does not exceed 0.3% on a dry weight basis and has been certified in writing by the grower or distributor of such seeds or clone plants to possess such qualities; or
- (C) meets any other authorized standards approved by the Kansas department of agriculture through rules and regulations, except that no seed or clone plants shall be considered authorized seed or clone plants if they do not meet any standard adopted by the United States department of agriculture pursuant to 7 U.S.C. § 1621 et seq., and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 24. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3902 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-3902. (a) The Kansas department of agriculture, alone or in coordination with a state-educational institution, may cultivate industrial hemp grown from authorized seed or clone plants and promote the research and development of industrial hemp, in-accordance with 7 U.S.C. § 5940. This research may include:
- (1) Oversight and analysis of growth of industrial hemp to conduct agronomyresearch and analysis of required soils, growing conditions and harvest methods relating to the production of various varieties of industrial hemp that may be suitable for various commercial hemp products;
- (2) seed research on various types of industrial hemp that are best suited to be grown in Kansas, including seed availability, creation of hybrid types, in-the-ground-variety trials and seed production;
- (3) analysis on the economic feasibility of developing an industrial hemp market in various types of industrial hemp that can be grown in Kansas;
- (4) analysis on the estimated value-added benefits, including environmental-benefits, that Kansas businesses would reap by having an industrial hemp market of Kansas-grown industrial hemp varieties;

- (5) a study on the agronomy research conducted worldwide relating to industrial hemp varieties, production and utilization;
- (6) a study on the feasibility of attracting federal and private funding for industrial hemp research; and
- (7) a pilot program in Russell county, and other counties as determined by the department, for the purpose of economic development, research, cultivation, market-analysis, manufacturing and transportation of industrial hemp and industrial hemp-products.
- (b) In the event that the department acts alone to cultivate industrial hemp grown from authorized seed or clone plants and to promote the research and development of industrial hemp, the secretary of agriculture shall establish an advisory board within the department to review and recommend applications for pilot projects and research-proposals to the secretary. The secretary shall not approve any such project or proposal without the recommendation of the advisory board.
- (e) The department shall oversee and annually license all individuals participating in the cultivation, growth, research, oversight, study, analysis, transportation, processing or distribution of authorized seed or clone plants or industrial hemp pursuant to this section. The department shall establish fees for licenses, license renewals and other necessary expenses to defray the cost of implementing and operating the provisions of this section in this state on an ongoing basis. Any modification fee established by the department for any requested change to a license that was previously issued by the department under this section shall not exceed \$50 shall, by the adoption of rules and regulations, establish an advisory board within the department to provide input and information regarding the regulation and development of industrial hemp in the state of Kansas and any programs proposed or operated by the department. Such board shall include a minimum of six members, including members that represent the following:
 - (1) The Kansas legislature;
 - (2) crop research:
 - (3) industrial hemp production or processing:
 - (4) law enforcement:
 - (5) seed certification; and
 - (6) the state entity designated to regulate hemp processors.
- (b) The state advisory board shall meet at least annually. Members shall receive no compensation but shall be paid subsistence allowances, mileage and other expenses as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and amendments thereto.
- (d) (1)(c) The department shall secretary of agriculture may require, as a qualification for initial or continuing licensure employment with the Kansas department of agriculture, all individuals seeking a license or license renewal under the research program established under this section overseeing or regulating industrial hemp to be fingerprinted and to submit to a state and national criminal history record check. The fingerprints shall be used to identify the individual and to determine whether the individual has a record of criminal history in this state or any other jurisdiction. The department is authorized to submit the fingerprints to the Kansas bureau of investigation and the federal bureau of investigation for a state and national criminal history record check. The department may use the information obtained from fingerprinting and the criminal history record check for purposes of verifying the identification of the individual and for making an official determination of the

qualifications for initial or continuing licensure employment pursuant to this section and rules and regulations promulgated hereunder. Disclosure or use of any information received by the department for any purpose other than the purposes provided for in this section shall be a class A misdemeanor and shall constitute grounds for removal from office or termination of employment.

- (2) An individual who has been convicted of a felony violation of article 57 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or a substantially similar offense in another jurisdiction, within the immediately preceding 10 years, shall be disqualified from initial or continuing—licensure employment under this section.
- (3) The Kansas bureau of investigation may charge a reasonable fee for conducting a criminal history record check.
- (4) The individual seeking—a license or license renewal_initial or continuing_employment under this section shall pay the costs of fingerprinting and the state and national criminal history record checks.
- (e) The secretary of agriculture shall promulgate rules and regulations to carry out the provisions of this section on or before December 31, 2019, except that no such promulgated rule or regulation shall concern the recording of license plates. Such rules and regulations shall include, but not be limited to, a requirement that license holders shall have a current license in their possession at all times that they are engaged in the cultivation, growth, research, oversight, study, analysis, transportation, processing or distribution of authorized seed or clone plants or industrial hemp pursuant to this section.
- (f) The department shall submit a report to the legislature outlining the steps and timeline to implement a process that would allow individuals and business entities to grow and process industrial hemp in Kansas and to sell industrial hemp in other states. Such report shall be submitted to the senate standing committee on agriculture and natural resources and the house standing committee on agriculture on or before January 14, 2019. The department shall send such committees an annual supplemental report on the continued progress of such process at the beginning of each regular legislative session for the following three years.
- (g) Nothing in this section shall be construed to authorize any individual to violate any state or federal law.
 - (h) The legislature shall review the provisions of this section prior to July 1, 2022.
- Sec. 25. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3903 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-3903. (a) The alternative erop research act licensing fee fund created in the state treasury shall be renamed the commercial industrial hemp act licensing fee fund-and continue to shall be administered by the secretary of agriculture. All expenditures from the commercial industrial hemp act licensing fee fund shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers signed by the secretary of agriculture or the secretary's designee.
- (b) Except as provided in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3907, and amendments thereto, licensing and renewal fees shall be established pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by the secretary under the commercial industrial hemp act. The amounts received for such fees shall be deposited in the state treasury in accordance with K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto, and shall be credited to the commercial industrial hemp act licensing fee fund.
 - Sec. 26. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3906 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-3906.

- (a) The Kansas department of agriculture, in consultation with the governor and attorney general, shall submit a plan to the United States department of agriculture under which the Kansas department of agriculture will monitor and regulate the commercial production of industrial hemp within the state in accordance with 7 U.S.C. § 1621 et seq. and any rules and regulations adopted thereunder.
 - (b) Such plan shall include the following:
- (1) A procedure to maintain relevant information regarding land on which industrial hemp is produced, including a legal description of the land, for a period of not less than three calendar years:
- (2) a procedure for testing, using post-decarboxylation or other similarly reliable methods, the delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration levels of industrial hemp produced;
- (3) a procedure for the effective disposal of industrial hemp and hemp products that are found to be in violation of this act:
- (4) any licensing requirements or other rules and regulations deemed necessary by the Kansas department of agriculture for the proper monitoring and regulation of industrial hemp cultivation and production for commercial purposes, including, but not limited to:
- (A) Fees for licenses, license renewals and other necessary expenses to defray the cost of implementing and operating the plan on an ongoing basis; and
 - (B) standards for authorized seed or clone plants;
- (5) a procedure for the creation of documentation that any person in possession of unprocessed industrial hemp may use to prove to any law enforcement officer that such industrial hemp was lawfully grown under this section;
- (6) a procedure for conducting annual inspections of, at a minimum, a random sample of hemp producers to verify that industrial hemp is not produced in violation of this act; and
- (7) any other procedures necessary to meet the requirements set forth in 7 U.S.C. § 1621 et seg. and any rules and regulations adopted thereunder.
- (c) (1) A hemp producer who negligently violates this section or any rules and regulations adopted hereunder shall not be subject to any state or local criminal enforcement action, but shall comply with the following corrective actions as applicable:
- (A) A reasonable date by which the hemp producer shall correct the negligent violation; and
- (B) a requirement that the hemp producer shall periodically report to the Kansas department of agriculture on the hemp producer's compliance with this section and rules and regulations adopted hereunder, for a period of not less than the next two calendar years.
- (2) A hemp producer who negligently violates this section or any rules and regulations adopted hereunder three times in a five-year period shall be ineligible to produce industrial hemp for a period of five years beginning on the date of the third violation.
- (3) The Kansas department of agriculture shall immediately report any violation by a hemp producer with a greater culpable mental state than negligence to the attorney general and such hemp producer shall not be subject to the exemption in subsection (c) (1).

- (d) Any individual otherwise eligible to become a licensed hemp producer shall not be eligible to produce industrial hemp if such individual has submitted any materially false information in any application to become a licensed hemp producer.
- (e) (1) The department shall require, as a qualification for initial or continuing licensure, all individuals seeking a license or license renewal as a hemp producer under this section to be fingerprinted and to submit to a state and national criminal history record check. The fingerprints shall be used to identify the individual and to determine whether the individual has a record of criminal history in this state or any other jurisdiction. The department is authorized to submit the fingerprints to the Kansas bureau of investigation and the federal bureau of investigation for a state and national criminal history record check. The department may use the information obtained from fingerprinting and the criminal history record check for purposes of verifying the identification of the individual and for making an official determination of the qualifications for initial or continuing licensure as a hemp producer pursuant to this section and rules and regulations promulgated hereunder. Disclosure or use of any information received by the department for any purpose other than the purposes provided for in the commercial industrial hemp act shall be a class A misdemeanor and shall constitute grounds for removal from office or termination of employment.
- (2) An individual who has been convicted of a felony violation of article 57 of chapter 21 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or a substantially similar offense in another jurisdiction, within the immediately preceding 10 years, shall be disqualified from initial or continuing licensure as a hemp producer under this section.
- (3) The Kansas bureau of investigation may charge a reasonable fee for conducting a criminal history record check.
- (4) The individual seeking a license or license renewal as a hemp producer under this section shall pay the costs of fingerprinting and the state and national criminal history record checks.
- (f) The secretary of agriculture shall promulgate rules and regulations to implement the plan submitted to the United States department of agriculture and to otherwise effectuate the provisions of this section.
- (g) Upon the repeal of 7 U.S.C. § 5940 or either the adoption of a federal plan by the United States department of agriculture that allows for the cultivation and production of industrial hemp for commercial purposes within the state or upon the adoption of rules and regulations by the Kansas secretary of agriculture that establish the cultivation and production of industrial hemp for commercial purposes within the state, the Kansas department of agriculture may discontinue the industrial hemp research program established pursuant to K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3902, and amendments thereto.
- (h) Any modification fee established by the department for any requested change to a license that was previously issued by the department under this section shall not exceed \$50.
- (i) Any licensing or other fees collected pursuant to this section and any rules and regulations adopted hereunder shall be deposited in the commercial industrial hemp act licensing fee fund established by K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3903, and amendments thereto, for all costs of the administration of the commercial production of industrial hemp.
 - (j) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the commercial industrial

hemp act, K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-3901 et seq., and amendments thereto.

Sec. 27. K.S.A. 2-1415, 2-1417, 2-1421, 2-1422, 2-1422a and 2-1424 and K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-1421a, 2-1423, 2-1427, 2-2113, 2-2118, 2-2120, 2-2135, 2-2136, 2-2137, 2-2138, 2-2139, 2-2140, 2-2141, 2-3901, 2-3902, 2-3903 and 2-3906 are hereby repealed.";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 4, before the period by inserting "; relating to plants and seeds; seeds treated with certain substances; definitions; labeling; unlawful actions; certain registrations; inspections; live plant dealers; relating to industrial hemp; testing services; creating an advisory board; amending K.S.A. 2-1415, 2-1417, 2-1421, 2-1422, 2-1422a and 2-1424 and K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-1421a, 2-1423, 2-1427, 2-2113, 2-2118, 2-2120, 2-3901, 2-3902, 2-3903 and 2-3906 and repealing the existing sections; also repealing K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 2-2135, 2-2136, 2-2137, 2-2138, 2-2139, 2-2140 and 2-2141":

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Dan Kershen Ron Ryckman Mary Ware Conferees on part of Senate

Ken Rahjes Eric Smith Sydney Carlin Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Rahjes, the conference committee report on HB 2559 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 102; Nays 15; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 8.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Long, Lynn, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Orr, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Tarwater, Thomas, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: Awerkamp, Burris, Carmichael, Delperdang, Fairchild, Garber, Helgerson, Houser, Jacobs, Lee-Hahn, Mason, Ohaebosim, Osman, Rhiley, Sutton.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burroughs, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt, Thompson, Winn.

MOTIONS TO CONCUR AND NONCONCUR

On motion of Rep. Kelly, the House concurred in Senate amendments to **HB 2489**, AN ACT concerning financial institutions; relating to technology-enabled fiduciary financial institutions; out-of-state financial institutions; imposing certain fiduciary duties and charitable distribution requirements on financial institutions engaging in fiduciary financial institution business; requiring banks to conduct fidfin transactions through a separate department; exempting financial institutions from certain provisions of the technology-enabled fiduciary financial institutions act; establishing fees and assessments; examinations; disclosures to consumers; mandatory reporting of elder abuse; amending K.S.A. 39-1401 and K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 9-2301, 9-2302, 9-2303, 9-2304, 9-2306, 9-2307, 9-2310, 9-2311, 9-2312, 9-2317 and 9-2318 and repealing the existing sections.

(The House requested the Senate to return the bill, which was in conference).

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 117; Nays 0; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 8.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Coleman, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, L., Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: None.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burroughs, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Schmidt, Thompson, Winn.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the House recessed until 7:30 p.m.

EARLY EVENING SESSION

The House met pursuant to recess with Speaker Ryckman in the chair.

Rep. Ballard presented a tribute to Women's History Month. See page 2479.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the House recessed until 8:15 p.m.

The House met pursuant to recess with Speaker Ryckman in the chair.

MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report to agree to disagree on **HB 2387**, and has appointed Senators Warren, Wilborn and Sykes as Second conferees on the part of the Senate.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House amendments to **SB 91** submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed as House Substitute for Senate Bill No. 91, as follows:

On page 1, in line 9, by striking "New"; also in line 9, by striking all after "(1)"; by striking all in line 10; in line 11, by striking all before the first "a"; in line 16, by striking all after "(2)"; by striking all in line 17; in line 35, by striking "apprenticeships,";

On page 2, by striking all in lines 20 through 43;

On page 3, by striking all in line 1;

And by renumbering sections accordingly:

On page 1, in the title, in line 4, by striking the semicolon; by striking all in line 5; in line 6, by striking "sections";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

SEAN TARWATER
MARTY LONG
STEPHANIE CLAYTON
Conferees on part of House

Renee Erickson
Brenda Dietrich
Tom Holland
Conferees on part of Senate

On motion of Rep. Tarwater, the conference committee report on **H Sub for SB 91** was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 116; Nays 0; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 9.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill,

Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: None.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burroughs, Coleman, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Ruiz, L., Schmidt, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House amendments to **SB 421** submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with House Committee of the Whole amendments, as follows:

On page 1, in line 16, by striking "\$1,000,000,000" and inserting "\$553,866,022"; in line 24, after "2019" by inserting ": *Provided further*; That the remaining balance of such transfer shall be for the payment, in full or in part, of the unfunded actuarial liability of participating employers under K.S.A. 74-4931, and amendments thereto, of the Kansas public employees retirement system.

(b) On June 1, 2022, or as soon thereafter as moneys are available, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer \$300,000,000 from the state general fund to the Kansas public employees retirement fund (365-00-7002-7000) of the Kansas public employees retirement system for the payment, in full or in part, of the unfunded actuarial liability of participating employers under K.S.A. 74-4931, and amendments thereto, of the Kansas public employees retirement system";

Also on page 1, following line 34, by inserting:

"Sec. 2.

KANSAS PUBLIC EMPLOYEES RETIREMENT SYSTEM

(a) Except as provided further, on August 1, 2022, or as soon thereafter as moneys are available, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer \$146,133,978 from the state general fund to the Kansas public employees retirement fund (365-00-7002-7000) of the Kansas public employees retirement system for the payment, in full or in part, of the unfunded actuarial liability of participating employers under K.S.A. 74-4931, and amendments thereto, of the Kansas public employees retirement system: Provided, however. That, if prior to such date, the state finance council approves a resolution stopping such transfer, then following such action by the state finance council: (1) The director of accounts and reports shall not transfer \$146,133,978 from the state general fund to the Kansas public employees retirement fund of the Kansas public employees retirement system pursuant to this subsection; and (2) on the effective date of such state finance council action, the provisions of this subsection are hereby declared to be null and void and shall have no force and effect: Provided further, That the state finance council is hereby authorized to stop such transfer: And provided further, That the state finance council action on this matter is hereby characterized as a matter of legislative delegation and subject to the guidelines prescribed in K.S.A. 75-3711c(c), and amendments thereto, except that such approval also may be given while the legislature is in session.

(b) Except as provided further, on December 1, 2022, or as soon thereafter as moneys are available, the director of accounts and reports shall transfer \$125,000,000 from the state general fund to the Kansas public employees retirement fund (365-00-7002-7000) of the Kansas public employees retirement system for the payment, in full or in part, of the unfunded actuarial liability of participating employers under K.S.A. 74-4931, and amendments thereto, of the Kansas public employees retirement system: Provided, however, That, if prior to such date, the state finance council approves a resolution stopping such transfer, then following such action by the state finance council: (1) The director of accounts and reports shall not transfer \$125,000,000 from the state general fund to the Kansas public employees retirement fund of the Kansas public employees retirement system pursuant to this subsection; and (2) on the effective date of such state finance council action, the provisions of this subsection are hereby declared to be null and void and shall have no force and effect: Provided further. That the state finance council is hereby authorized to stop such transfer: And provided further, That state finance council action on this matter is hereby characterized as a matter of legislative delegation and subject to the guidelines prescribed in K.S.A. 75-3711c(c), and amendments thereto, except that such approval also may be given while the legislature is in session.";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

Also on page 1, in the title, in line 3, by striking "year" and inserting "years"; in line 5, before the semicolon by inserting ", and June 30, 2023"; in line 6, after the semicolon by inserting "allowing the state finance council to stop such fiscal year 2023 transfers;"; And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Steven Johnson Christopher Croft Cindy Neighbor Conferees on part of House

RICK BILLINGER J R CLAEYS TOM HAWK

Conferees on part of Senate

On motion of Rep. S. Johnson, the conference committee report on ${\bf SB}$ 421 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 106; Nays 10; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 9.

Yeas: Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard.

Nays: Alcala, Amyx, Gartner, Haswood, Highberger, Kuether, Meyer, Miller, Stogsdill, Xu.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting. Burroughs, Coleman, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Ruiz, L., Schmidt, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House amendments to **SB 408** submits the following report:

The House recedes from all of its amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as introduced, as follows:

On page 2, following line 26, by inserting:

- "Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5807 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-5807. (a) Burglary is, without authority, entering into or remaining within any:
- (1)(A) Dwelling, with intent to commit a felony, theft or sexually motivated crime therein; or
- (B) locked or secured portion of any dwelling, with intent to commit a felony, theft or sexually motivated crime therein:
- (2)(A) building, manufactured home, mobile home, tent or other structure which is not a dwelling, with intent to commit a felony, theft or sexually motivated crime therein: or
- (B) locked or secured portion of any building, manufactured home, mobile home, tent or other structure which is not a dwelling, with intent to commit a felony, theft or sexually motivated crime therein; or
- (3) vehicle, aircraft, watercraft, railroad car or other means of conveyance of persons or property, with intent to commit a felony, theft or sexually motivated crime therein.
- (b) Aggravated burglary is, without authority, entering into or remaining within any:
 - (1) (A) Dwelling in which there is a human being, with intent to commit a felony,

theft or sexually motivated crime therein; or

- (B) locked or secured portion of any dwelling in which there is a human being, with intent to commit a felony, theft or sexually motivated crime therein;
- (2)(A) building, manufactured home, mobile home, tent or other structure which is not a dwelling in which there is a human being, with intent to commit a felony, theft or sexually motivated crime therein: or
- (B) locked or secured portion of any building, manufactured home, mobile home, tent or other structure which is not a dwelling in which there is a human being, with intent to commit a felony, theft or sexually motivated crime therein; or
- (3) vehicle, aircraft, watercraft, railroad car or other means of conveyance of persons or property in which there is a human being, with intent to commit a felony, theft or sexually motivated crime therein.
 - (c) (1) Burglary as defined in:
- (A) (i) Subsection (a)(1) is a severity level 7, person felony, except as provided in subsection (c)(1)(B);
- (ii) subsection (a)(2) is a severity level 7, nonperson felony, except as provided in subsection (c)(1)(B); and
- (iii) subsection (a)(3) is a severity level 9, nonperson felony, except as provided in subsection (c)(1)(B); and
- (B) (i) subsection (a)(1), with intent to commit the theft of a firearm, is a severity level 5, person felony; and
- (ii) subsection (a)(2) or (a)(3), with intent to commit the theft of a firearm, is a severity level 5, nonperson felony.
 - (2) Aggravated burglary as defined in:
 - (A) Subsection (b)(1) is a severity level 4, person felony; and
 - (B) subsection (b)(2) or (b)(3) is a severity level 5, person felony.
- (d) As used in this section, "sexually motivated" means that one of the purposes for which the defendant committed the crime was for the purpose of the defendant's sexual gratification.
- (e) This section shall not apply to any person entering into or remaining in a retail or commercial premises at any time that it is open to the public after having received a personal communication from the owner or manager of such premises not to enter such premises pursuant to K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5808, and amendments thereto, except when such person is entering into or remaining in such premises with the intent to commit a person felony or sexually motivated crime therein.
- Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6610 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-6610. (a) When a defendant is placed on parole by the district court, on probation, assigned to a community correctional services program by a district court or under suspended sentence and such defendant is permitted to go from the judicial district of that court, supervision over the defendant may be transferred from that judicial district to another with the concurrence of the receiving chief court services officer, or if in a community corrections services program, by the concurrence of the director of the receiving program.
- (b) The district court from which the defendant is on parole, probation, community correctional services program or suspended sentence may retain jurisdiction of the defendant.
 - (e) When a defendant described in subsection (a) is sentenced pursuant to K.S.A.

- 2021 Supp. 21-6824, and amendments thereto, the district court from which the defendant is on parole, on probation, assigned to a community correctional services program or under suspended sentence may transfer jurisdiction of the defendant with the concurrence of the receiving district court and all parties.
- (c) (1) When a defendant described in subsection (a) is being sentenced and is already being supervised on parole, probation, assignment to a community correctional services program or under suspended sentence, the district court by which the defendant is currently being supervised may use the guidelines provided in this subsection to determine whether it is appropriate to transfer jurisdiction of the defendant to a different district court.
- (2) If the new sentence would place the defendant under the supervision of two supervision entities or agencies, the court may consider:
- (A) Granting jurisdiction to the court with jurisdiction over the offense that has the longest underlying sentence of imprisonment; and
- (B) whether the severity of the new offense requires a higher level of supervision. If a higher level of supervision is not required, there may be a preference for maintaining supervision of the defendant by the current supervising entity or agency for the duration of supervision. If a higher level of supervision is required, there may be a preference for transferring supervision responsibility of the defendant to the appropriate supervision entity or agency for the duration of supervision.
- (3) If two or more supervision entities or agencies are supervising the defendant for sentences that are equal, the court may consider:
 - (A) The residency of the defendant;
- (B) the ability of the defendant to travel to the supervision office from the defendant's residence, place of employment and school;
- (C) resources for residential and nonresidential sanctions or rehabilitative treatment available from each supervision entity or agency; and
- (D) the level of supervision available to the defendant by each supervision entity or agency.
- (d) The district court from which the defendant is on parole, probation, assignment to a community correctional services program or suspended sentence may retain jurisdiction of the defendant. If the court retains jurisdiction, the defendant shall be supervised by one supervision entity or agency. The department of corrections and the office of judicial administration shall enter into a memorandum of understanding providing that a defendant on parole, probation, assignment to a community correctional services program or suspended sentence shall be supervised by one supervision entity or agency. Such memorandum of understanding shall include, but not be limited to, provisions related to:
 - (1) The criteria for determining the most appropriate supervision entity or agency;
 - (2) how the financial obligations of supervision will be managed;
 - (3) conditions of supervision;
 - (4) sanctions for violation of supervision;
- (5) standards for seeking revocation of parole, probation, assignment to a community correctional services program or suspended sentence;
 - (6) termination of supervision; and
 - (7) information sharing between supervision entities or agencies.
 - Sec. 4. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6814 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-

- 6814. (a) The offender's criminal history shall be admitted in open court by the offender or determined by a preponderance of the evidence at the sentencing hearing by the sentencing judge.
- (b) Except to the extent disputed in accordance with subsection (c), the summary of the offender's criminal history prepared for the court by the state shall satisfy the state's burden of proof regarding an offender's criminal history.
- (c) Upon receipt of the criminal history worksheet prepared for the court, the offender shall immediately notify the district attorney and the court with written notice of any error in the proposed criminal history worksheet. Such notice shall specify the exact nature of the alleged error. The state shall have the burden of proving the disputed portion of the offender's criminal history. The sentencing judge shall allow the state reasonable time to produce evidence to establish its burden of proof. If the offender later challenges such offender's criminal history, which has been previously established, the burden of proof shall shift to the offender to prove such offender's criminal history by a preponderance of the evidence.
- (d) If an offender raises a challenge to the offender's criminal history for the first time on appeal, the offender shall have the burden of designating a record that shows prejudicial error. If the offender fails to provide such record, the appellate court shall dismiss the claim. In designating a record that shows prejudicial error, the offender may provide the appellate court with journal entries of the challenged criminal history that were not originally attached to the criminal history worksheet, and the state may provide the appellate court with journal entries establishing a lack of prejudicial error. The court may take judicial notice of such journal entries, complaints, plea agreements, jury instructions and verdict forms for Kansas convictions when determining whether prejudicial error exists. The court may remand the case if there is a reasonable question as to whether prejudicial error exists.
- Sec. 5. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6820 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-6820. (a) A departure sentence or a ruling on a motion filed pursuant to K.S.A. 22-3504, and amendments thereto, is subject to appeal by the defendant or the state. The appeal shall be to the appellate courts in accordance with rules adopted by the supreme court.
- (b) Pending review of the sentence, the sentencing court or the appellate court may order the defendant confined or placed on conditional release, including bond.
- (c) On appeal from a judgment of conviction entered for a felony committed on or after July 1, 1993, the appellate court shall not review:
 - (1) Any sentence that is within the presumptive sentence for the crime; or
- (2) any sentence resulting from an agreement between the state and the defendant which the sentencing court approves on the record.
- (d) In any appeal from a judgment of conviction imposing a sentence that departs from the presumptive sentence prescribed by the sentencing grid for a crime, sentence review shall be limited to whether the sentencing court's findings of fact and reasons justifying a departure:
 - (1) Are supported by the evidence in the record; and
 - (2) constitute substantial and compelling reasons for departure.
- (e) In any appeal from a judgment of conviction, the appellate court may review a claim that:
- (1) A sentence that departs from the presumptive sentence resulted from partiality, prejudice, oppression or corrupt motive;

- (2) the sentencing court erred in either including or excluding recognition of a prior conviction or juvenile adjudication for criminal history scoring purposes; or
- (3) the sentencing court erred in ranking the crime severity level of the current crime or in determining the appropriate classification of a prior conviction or juvenile adjudication for criminal history purposes.
- (f) The appellate court may reverse or affirm the sentence. If the appellate court concludes that the trial court's factual findings are not supported by evidence in the record or do not establish substantial and compelling reasons for a departure, it shall remand the case to the trial court for resentencing.
- (g) The appellate court shall issue a written opinion whenever the judgment of the sentencing court is reversed. The court may issue a written opinion in any other case when it is believed that a written opinion will provide guidance to sentencing judges and others in implementing the sentencing guidelines adopted by the Kansas sentencing commission. The appellate courts may provide by rule for summary disposition of cases arising under this section when no substantial question is presented by the appeal.
- (h) A review under summary disposition shall be made solely upon the record that was before the sentencing court. Written briefs shall not be required unless ordered by the appellate court and the review and decision shall be made in an expedited manner according to rules adopted by the supreme court.
- (i) The sentencing court shall retain authority irrespective of any—notice—of appeal for 90 days after entry of judgment of conviction to modify its judgment and sentence to correct any arithmetic or clerical errors to correct an illegal sentence or clerical error pursuant to K.S.A. 22-3504, and amendments thereto. Notwithstanding the provisions of K.S.A. 22-3504, and amendments thereto, if a motion to correct an illegal sentence is filed while a direct appeal is pending, any change in the law that occurs during the pending direct appeal shall apply.
- (j) The amendments made to this section by this aet section 14 of chapter 59 of the 2019 Session Laws of Kansas are procedural in nature and shall be construed and applied retroactively.
- Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6824 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-6824. (a) There is hereby established a nonprison sanction of certified drug abuse treatment programs for certain offenders who are sentenced on or after November 1, 2003. Placement of offenders in certified drug abuse treatment programs by the court shall be limited to placement of adult offenders, convicted of a felony violation of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5705 or 21-5706, and amendments thereto, whose offense is classified in grid blocks:
- (1) 5-C, 5-D, 5-E, 5-F, 5-G, 5-H or 5-I of the sentencing guidelines grid for drug crimes and such offender has no felony conviction of K.S.A. 65-4142, 65-4159, 65-4161, 65-4163 or 65-4164, prior to their repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a03, 21-36a05 or 21-36a16, prior to their transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5703, 21-5705 or 21-5716, and amendments thereto, or any substantially similar offense from another jurisdiction; or
- (2) 5-A, 5-B, 4-E, 4-F, 4-G, 4-H or 4-I of the sentencing guidelines grid for drug crimes, such offender has no felony conviction of K.S.A. 65-4142, 65-4159, 65-4161, 65-4163 or 65-4164, prior to their repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a03, 21-36a05 or 21-36a16, prior to their transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5703, 21-5705 or 21-5716, and amendments thereto, or any substantially similar offense from another jurisdiction, if

the person felonies in the offender's criminal history were severity level 8, 9 or 10 or nongrid offenses of the sentencing guidelines grid for nondrug crimes, and the court finds and sets forth with particularity the reasons for finding that the safety of the members of the public will not be jeopardized by such placement in a drug abuse treatment program.

- (b) As a part of the presentence investigation pursuant to K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6813, and amendments thereto, offenders who meet the requirements of subsection (a), unless otherwise specifically ordered by the court, shall be subject to:
- (1) A drug abuse assessment which shall include a clinical interview with a mental health professional and a recommendation concerning drug abuse treatment for the offender; and
- (2) a criminal risk-need assessment. The criminal risk-need assessment shall assign a risk status to the offender.
- (c) If the offender is assigned a risk status as determined by the drug abuse assessment performed pursuant to subsection (b)(1) and a risk status as determined by the criminal risk-need assessment performed pursuant to subsection (b)(2) that meets the criteria for participation in a drug abuse treatment program as determined by the Kansas sentencing commission, the sentencing court shall commit the offender to treatment in a drug abuse treatment program until the court determines the offender is suitable for discharge by the court. The term of treatment shall not exceed 18 months. The court may extend the term of probation, pursuant to K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6608(c) (3), and amendments thereto. The term of treatment may not exceed the term of probation.
- (d) (1) Offenders who are committed to a drug abuse treatment program pursuant to subsection (c) shall be supervised by community correctional services.
- (2) Offenders who are not committed to a drug abuse treatment program pursuant to subsection (c) shall be supervised by community correctional services or court services based on the result of the criminal risk assessment.
- (3) If the offender is permitted to go from the judicial district of the sentencing court, the court may, pursuant to K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6610, and amendments thereto:
 - (A) Transfer supervision of the offender from that judicial district to another; and
 - (B) either transfer or retain jurisdiction of the offender.
- (e) Placement of offenders under subsection (a)(2) shall be subject to the departure sentencing statutes of the revised Kansas sentencing guidelines act.
- (f) (1) Offenders in drug abuse treatment programs shall be discharged from such program if the offender:
 - (A) Is convicted of a new felony; or
- (B) has a pattern of intentional conduct that demonstrates the offender's refusal to comply with or participate in the treatment program, as established by judicial finding.
- (2) Offenders who are discharged from such program shall be subject to the revocation provisions of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6604(n), and amendments thereto.
- (g) As used in this section, "mental health professional" includes licensed social workers, persons licensed to practice medicine and surgery, licensed psychologists, licensed professional counselors or registered alcohol and other drug abuse counselors licensed or certified as addiction counselors who have been certified by the secretary of eorrections Kansas sentencing commission to treat offenders pursuant to K.S.A. 75-52,144, and amendments thereto.

- (h) (1) Offenders who meet the requirements of subsection (a) shall not be subject to the provisions of this section and shall be sentenced as otherwise provided by law, if such offenders:
- (A) Are residents of another state and are returning to such state pursuant to the interstate corrections compact or the interstate compact for adult offender supervision; of
- (B) are not lawfully present in the United States and being detained for deportation; or
 - (C) do not meet the risk assessment levels provided in subsection (c).
- (2) Such sentence shall not be considered a departure and shall not be subject to appeal.
- (i) The court may order an offender who otherwise does not meet the requirements of subsection (c) to undergo one additional drug abuse assessment while such offender is on probation. Such offender may be ordered to undergo drug abuse treatment pursuant to subsection (a) if such offender is determined to meet the requirements of subsection (c). The cost of such assessment shall be paid by such offender.
- Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6825 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-6825. (a) There is hereby established a certified drug abuse treatment program for certain persons who enter into a diversion agreement in lieu of further criminal proceedings on and after July 1, 2021. Placement of divertees in a certified drug abuse treatment program pursuant to a diversion agreement shall be limited to placement of adults, on a complaint alleging a felony violation of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5706, and amendments thereto, whose offense is classified in grid blocks 5-C, 5-D, 5-E, 5-F, 5-G, 5-H or 5-I of the sentencing guidelines grid for drug crimes who have no felony conviction of K.S.A. 65-4142, 65-4159, 65-4161, 65-4163 or 65-4164, prior to their repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a03, 21-36a05 or 21-36a16, prior to their transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5703, 21-5705 or 21-5716, and amendments thereto, or any substantially similar offense from another jurisdiction.
- (b) As part of the consideration of whether or not to allow diversion to the defendant, a divertee who meets the requirements of subsection (a) shall be subject to:
- (1) A drug abuse assessment that shall include a clinical interview with a mental health professional and a recommendation concerning drug abuse treatment for the divertee: and
- (2) a standardized criminal risk-need assessment specified by the Kansas sentencing commission.
- (c) The diversion agreement shall require the divertee to comply with and participate in a certified drug abuse treatment program if the divertee meets the assessment criteria set by the Kansas sentencing commission. The term of treatment shall not exceed 18 months.
- (d) Divertees who are committed to a certified drug abuse treatment program pursuant to subsection (c) may be supervised by community correctional services or court services pursuant to a memorandum of understanding entered into pursuant to K.S.A. 22-2907, and amendments thereto.
- (e) (1) Divertees in a certified drug abuse treatment program shall be discharged from the program if the divertee:
 - (A) Is convicted of a new felony; or
 - (B) has a pattern of intentional conduct that demonstrates the divertee's refusal to

comply with or participate in the treatment program in the opinion of the county or district attorney.

- (2) Divertees who are discharged from such program pursuant to paragraph (1) shall be subject to the revocation provisions of the divertee's diversion agreement.
 - (f) For the purposes of this section:
- (1) "Mental health professional" includes licensed social workers, persons licensed to practice medicine and surgery, licensed psychologists, licensed professional counselors or registered alcohol and other drug abuse counselors licensed or certified as addiction counselors who have been certified by the secretary of corrections Kansas sentencing commission to treat persons pursuant to K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 75-52,144, and amendments thereto.
- (2) "Divertee" means a person who has entered into a diversion agreement pursuant to K.S.A. 22-2909, and amendments thereto.
- Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 75-52,144 is hereby amended to read as follows: 75-52,144. (a) Drug abuse treatment programs certified in accordance with subsection (b) shall provide:
- (1) Drug abuse assessments of any person who is convicted of or being considered for a diversion agreement in lieu of further criminal proceedings for a felony violation of K.S.A. 65-4160 or 65-4162, prior to such section's repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a06, prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5706, and amendments thereto, and meets the requirements of K.S.A. 21-4729, prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6824(a) or 21-6825, and amendments thereto:
- (2) treatment of all persons who are convicted of or entered into a diversion agreement in lieu of further criminal proceedings for a felony violation of K.S.A. 65-4160 or 65-4162, prior to such section's repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a06, prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5706, and amendments thereto, meet the requirements of K.S.A. 21-4729, prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6824 or 21-6825, and amendments thereto, and whose sentence requires completion of a certified drug abuse treatment program, as provided in this section;
- (3) one or more treatment options in the continuum of services needed to reach recovery: Detoxification, rehabilitation, continuing care and aftercare, and relapse prevention:
 - (4) treatment options to incorporate family and auxiliary support services; and
- (5) treatment options for alcohol abuse when indicated by the assessment of the offender or required by the court.
- (b) The criminal risk-need assessment shall be conducted by a court services officer or a community corrections officer. The drug abuse treatment program placement assessment shall be conducted by a drug abuse treatment program certified in accordance with the provisions of this subsection to provide assessment and treatment services. A drug abuse treatment program shall be certified by the secretary of corrections Kansas sentencing commission. The secretary commission may establish qualifications for the certification of programs, which may include requirements for supervision and monitoring of clients, fee reimbursement procedures, handling of conflicts of interest, delivery of services to clients unable to pay and other matters relating to quality and delivery of services by the program. Drug abuse treatment may include community based and faith based programs. The certification shall be for a four-year period. The commission may establish a process for revoking certification of

programs that do not meet the commission's qualifications for certification. Recertification of a program shall be by the secretary commission. To be eligible for certification or recertification under this subsection, the secretary commission shall determine that a drug abuse treatment program:

- (1) Meets the qualifications established by the secretary commission;
- (2) is capable of providing the assessments, supervision and monitoring required under subsection (a);
 - (3) has employed or contracted with certified treatment providers; and
 - (4) meets any other functions and duties specified by law.
- (c) Any treatment provider who is employed or has contracted with a certified drug abuse treatment program who provides services to offenders shall be certified by the secretary of corrections Kansas sentencing commission. The secretary commission shall require education and training that shall include, but not be limited to, case management and cognitive behavior training. The duties of providers who prepare the presentence drug abuse assessment may also include appearing at sentencing and probation hearings in accordance with the orders of the court, monitoring offenders in the treatment programs, notifying the probation department and the court of any offender failing to meet the conditions of probation or referrals to treatment, appearing at revocation hearings as may be required and providing assistance and data reporting and program evaluation.
- (d) (1) The cost for all drug abuse assessments performed pursuant to subsection (a)(1), and the cost for all certified drug abuse treatment programs for any person who meets the requirements of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6824 or 21-6825, and amendments thereto, shall be paid by the Kansas sentencing commission from funds appropriated for such purpose. The Kansas sentencing commission shall contract for payment for such services with the supervising agency.
- (2) The sentencing court shall determine the extent, if any, that such person is able to pay for such assessment and treatment. Such payments shall be used by the supervising agency to offset costs to the state. If such financial obligations are not met or cannot be met, the sentencing court shall be notified for the purpose of collection or review and further action on the offender's sentence.
- (3) If the person has entered into a diversion agreement in lieu of further criminal proceedings, the county or district attorney shall determine the extent, if any, that such person is able to pay for such assessment and treatment. Such payments shall be used by the supervising agency to offset costs to the state or county. If such financial obligations are not met or cannot be met, the county or district attorney shall be notified for the purpose of collection or review and further action on the person's diversion agreement.
- (e) The community corrections staff shall work with the substance abuse treatment staff to ensure effective supervision and monitoring of the offender.
- (f) The secretary of corrections Kansas sentencing commission is hereby authorized to adopt rules and regulations to carry out the provisions of this section.";

Also on page 2, in line 27, by striking "is" and inserting ", 21-5807, 21-6610, 21-6814, 21-6820, 21-6824, 21-6825 and 75-52,144 are";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 2, after the second semicolon by inserting "relating to burglary; including locked or secured portions of dwellings, buildings or other

structures; relating to supervision of criminal offenders under supervision of both court services officers and the department of corrections; providing guidance for consolidation of supervision into one supervision entity or agency; requiring the department of corrections and the office of judicial administration to enter into a memorandum of understanding related to the supervision of such offenders; relating to sentencing guidelines; criminal history calculation; requiring an offender who raises error in calculation for the first time on appeal to show prejudicial error; authorizing jurisdiction of the court to correct an illegal sentence while a direct appeal is pending; relating to the certified drug abuse treatment program; program qualifications; transferring certification duties from the department of corrections to the Kansas sentencing commission;"; in line 3, after "21-5801" by inserting ", 21-5807, 21-6610, 21-6814, 21-6820, 21-6824, 21-6825 and 75-52,144"; in line 4, by striking "section" and inserting "sections";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Stephen Owens
Eric Smith
Dennis "Boog" Highberger
Conferees on part of House

Kellie Warren Rick Wilborn David Haley Conferees on part of Senate

On motion of Rep. Owens, the conference committee report on **SB 408** was adopted. On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 114; Nays 2; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 9.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard.

Nays: Kuether, Xu.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burroughs, Coleman, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Ruiz, L., Schmidt, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House

amendments to **SB 366** submits the following report:

The House recedes from all of its amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as introduced, as follows:

On page 1, by striking all in lines 7 through 36;

On page 2, by striking all in lines 1 through 28; following line 28, by inserting:

- "Section 1. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6614 is hereby amended to read as follows: 21-6614. (a) (1) Except as provided in subsections (b), (c), (d), (e) and (f), any person convicted in this state of a traffic infraction, eigarette or tobacco infraction, misdemeanor or a class D or E felony, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, any nongrid felony or felony ranked in severity levels 6 through 10 of the nondrug grid, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, but prior to July 1, 2012, any felony ranked in severity level 4 of the drug grid, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 2012, any felony ranked in severity level 5 of the drug grid may petition the convicting court for the expungement of such conviction or related arrest records if three or more years have elapsed since the person: (A) Satisfied the sentence imposed; or (B) was discharged from probation, a community correctional services program, parole, postrelease supervision, conditional release or a suspended sentence.
- (2) Except as provided in subsections (b), (c), (d), (e) and (f), any person who has fulfilled the terms of a diversion agreement may petition the district court for the expungement of such diversion agreement and related arrest records if three or more years have elapsed since the terms of the diversion agreement were fulfilled.
- (b) Any person convicted of prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3512, prior to its repeal, convicted of a violation of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6419, and amendments thereto, or who entered into a diversion agreement in lieu of further criminal proceedings for such violation, may petition the convicting court for the expungement of such conviction or diversion agreement and related arrest records if:
- (1) One or more years have elapsed since the person satisfied the sentence imposed or the terms of a diversion agreement or was discharged from probation, a community correctional services program, parole, postrelease supervision, conditional release or a suspended sentence; and
- (2) such person can prove they were acting under coercion caused by the act of another. For purposes of this subsection, "coercion" means: Threats of harm or physical restraint against any person; a scheme, plan or pattern intended to cause a person to believe that failure to perform an act would result in bodily harm or physical restraint against any person; or the abuse or threatened abuse of the legal process.
- (c) Except as provided in subsections (e) and (f), no person may petition for expungement until five or more years have elapsed since the person satisfied the sentence imposed or the terms of a diversion agreement or was discharged from probation, a community correctional services program, parole, postrelease supervision, conditional release or a suspended sentence, if such person was convicted of a class A, B or C felony, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, if convicted of an offgrid felony or any felony ranked in severity levels 1 through 5 of the nondrug grid, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 1993, but prior to July 1, 2012, any felony ranked in severity levels 1 through 3 of the drug grid, or for crimes committed on or after July 1, 2012, any felony ranked in severity levels 1 through 4 of the drug grid, or:
- (1) Vehicular homicide, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3405, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5406, and amendments thereto, or as prohibited by any law of another

state that is in substantial conformity with that statute;

- (2) driving while the privilege to operate a motor vehicle on the public highways of this state has been canceled, suspended or revoked, as prohibited by K.S.A. 8-262, and amendments thereto, or as prohibited by any law of another state that is in substantial conformity with that statute;
- (3) perjury resulting from a violation of K.S.A. 8-261a, and amendments thereto, or resulting from the violation of a law of another state that is in substantial conformity with that statute:
- (4) violating the provisions of K.S.A. 8-142 *Fifth*, and amendments thereto, relating to fraudulent applications or violating the provisions of a law of another state that is in substantial conformity with that statute;
- (5) any crime punishable as a felony wherein a motor vehicle was used in the perpetration of such crime;
- (6) failing to stop at the scene of an accident and perform the duties required by K.S.A. 8-1603, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 8-1602 or 8-1604, and amendments thereto, or required by a law of another state that is in substantial conformity with those statutes;
- (7) violating the provisions of K.S.A. 40-3104, and amendments thereto, relating to motor vehicle liability insurance coverage; or
 - (8) a violation of K.S.A. 21-3405b, prior to its repeal.
- (d) (1) No person may petition for expungement until five or more years have elapsed since the person satisfied the sentence imposed or the terms of a diversion agreement or was discharged from probation, a community correctional services program, parole, postrelease supervision, conditional release or a suspended sentence, if such person was convicted of a first violation of K.S.A. 8-1567, and amendments thereto, including any diversion for such violation.
- (2) No person may petition for expungement until 10 or more years have elapsed since the person satisfied the sentence imposed or was discharged from probation, a community correctional services program, parole, postrelease supervision, conditional release or a suspended sentence, if such person was convicted of a second or subsequent violation of K.S.A. 8-1567, and amendments thereto.
- (3) Except as provided further, the provisions of this subsection shall apply to all violations committed on or after July 1, 2006. The provisions of subsection (d)(2) shall not apply to violations committed on or after July 1, 2014, but prior to July 1, 2015.
- (e) There shall be no expungement of convictions for the following offenses or of convictions for an attempt to commit any of the following offenses:
- (1) Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto;
- (2) indecent liberties with a child or aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503 or 21-3504, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5506, and amendments thereto;
- (3) criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3505(a)(2) or (a)(3), prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5504(a)(3) or (a)(4), and amendments thereto;
- (4) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5504, and amendments thereto;
- (5) indecent solicitation of a child or aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3510 or 21-3511, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5508, and amendments thereto;

- (6) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto;
- (7) internet trading in child pornography or aggravated internet trading in child pornography, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5514, and amendments thereto;
- (8) aggravated incest, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5604, and amendments thereto;
- (9) endangering a child or aggravated endangering a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3608 or 21-3608a, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5601, and amendments thereto:
- (10) abuse of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3609, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5602, and amendments thereto;
- (11) capital murder, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto;
- (12) murder in the first degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto;
- (13) murder in the second degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3402, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto;
- (14) voluntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto;
- (15) involuntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5405, and amendments thereto;
- (16) sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto, when the victim was less than 18 years of age at the time the crime was committed;
- (17) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505, and amendments thereto;
- (18) a violation of K.S.A. 8-2,144, and amendments thereto, including any diversion for such violation; or
- (19) any conviction for any offense in effect at any time prior to July 1, 2011, that is comparable to any offense as provided in this subsection.
- (f) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary Except as provided in K.S.A. 22-4908, and amendments thereto, for any offender who is required to register as provided in the Kansas offender registration act, K.S.A. 22-4901 et seq., and amendments thereto, there shall be no expungement of any conviction or any part of the offender's criminal record while the offender is required to register as provided in the Kansas offender registration act.
- (g) (1) When a petition for expungement is filed, the court shall set a date for a hearing of such petition and shall cause notice of such hearing to be given to the prosecutor and the arresting law enforcement agency. The petition shall state the:
 - (A) Defendant's full name;
- (B) full name of the defendant at the time of arrest, conviction or diversion, if different than the defendant's current name:
 - (C) defendant's sex, race and date of birth;
 - (D) crime for which the defendant was arrested, convicted or diverted;
 - (E) date of the defendant's arrest, conviction or diversion; and
- (F) identity of the convicting court, arresting law enforcement authority or diverting authority.

- (2) Except as otherwise provided by law, a petition for expungement shall be accompanied by a docket fee in the amount of \$176. On and after July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2025, the supreme court may impose a charge, not to exceed \$19 per case, to fund the costs of non-judicial personnel. The charge established in this section shall be the only fee collected or moneys in the nature of a fee collected for the case. Such charge shall only be established by an act of the legislature and no other authority is established by law or otherwise to collect a fee.
- (3) All petitions for expungement shall be docketed in the original criminal action. Any person who may have relevant information about the petitioner may testify at the hearing. The court may inquire into the background of the petitioner and shall have access to any reports or records relating to the petitioner that are on file with the secretary of corrections or the prisoner review board.
- (h) At the hearing on the petition, the court shall order the petitioner's arrest record, conviction or diversion expunged if the court finds that:
- (1) The petitioner has not been convicted of a felony in the past two years and no proceeding involving any such crime is presently pending or being instituted against the petitioner;
 - (2) the circumstances and behavior of the petitioner warrant the expungement;
 - (3) the expungement is consistent with the public welfare; and
- (4) with respect to petitions seeking expungement of a felony conviction, possession of a firearm by the petitioner is not likely to pose a threat to the safety of the public.
- (i) When the court has ordered an arrest record, conviction or diversion expunged, the order of expungement shall state the information required to be contained in the petition. The clerk of the court shall send a certified copy of the order of expungement to the Kansas bureau of investigation that shall notify the federal bureau of investigation, the secretary of corrections and any other criminal justice agency that may have a record of the arrest, conviction or diversion. If the case was appealed from municipal court, the clerk of the district court shall send a certified copy of the order of expungement to the municipal court. The municipal court shall order the case expunged once the certified copy of the order of expungement is received. After the order of expungement is entered, the petitioner shall be treated as not having been arrested, convicted or diverted of the crime, except that:
- (1) Upon conviction for any subsequent crime, the conviction that was expunged may be considered as a prior conviction in determining the sentence to be imposed;
- (2) the petitioner shall disclose that the arrest, conviction or diversion occurred if asked about previous arrests, convictions or diversions:
- (A) In any application for licensure as a private detective, private detective agency, certification as a firearms trainer pursuant to K.S.A. 75-7b21, and amendments thereto, or employment as a detective with a private detective agency, as defined by K.S.A. 75-7b01, and amendments thereto; as security personnel with a private patrol operator, as defined by K.S.A. 75-7b01, and amendments thereto; or with an institution, as defined in K.S.A. 76-12a01, and amendments thereto, of the Kansas department for aging and disability services;
- (B) in any application for admission, or for an order of reinstatement, to the practice of law in this state;
 - (C) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for employment with the

Kansas lottery or for work in sensitive areas within the Kansas lottery as deemed appropriate by the executive director of the Kansas lottery;

- (D) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for executive director of the Kansas racing and gaming commission, for employment with the commission or for work in sensitive areas in parimutuel racing as deemed appropriate by the executive director of the commission, or to aid in determining qualifications for licensure or renewal of licensure by the commission;
- (E) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for the following under the Kansas expanded lottery act: (i) Lottery gaming facility manager or prospective manager, racetrack gaming facility manager or prospective manager, licensee or certificate holder; or (ii) an officer, director, employee, owner, agent or contractor thereof:
- (F) upon application for a commercial driver's license under K.S.A. 8-2,125 through 8-2,142, and amendments thereto;
- (G) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications to be an employee of the state gaming agency;
- (H) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications to be an employee of a tribal gaming commission or to hold a license issued pursuant to a tribal-state gaming compact;
- (I) in any application for registration as a broker-dealer, agent, investment adviser or investment adviser representative all as defined in K.S.A. 17-12a102, and amendments thereto:
- (J) in any application for employment as a law enforcement officer as defined in K.S.A. 22-2202 or 74-5602, and amendments thereto; or
- (K) to aid in determining the petitioner's qualifications for a license to act as a bail enforcement agent pursuant to K.S.A. 75-7e01 through 75-7e09, and amendments thereto, and K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 50-6,141, and amendments thereto;
- (3) the court, in the order of expungement, may specify other circumstances under which the conviction is to be disclosed;
- (4) the conviction may be disclosed in a subsequent prosecution for an offense that requires as an element of such offense a prior conviction of the type expunged; and
- (5) upon commitment to the custody of the secretary of corrections, any previously expunged record in the possession of the secretary of corrections may be reinstated and the expungement disregarded, and the record continued for the purpose of the new commitment.
- (j) Whenever a person is convicted of a crime, pleads guilty and pays a fine for a crime, is placed on parole, postrelease supervision or probation, is assigned to a community correctional services program, is granted a suspended sentence or is released on conditional release, the person shall be informed of the ability to expunge the arrest records or conviction. Whenever a person enters into a diversion agreement, the person shall be informed of the ability to expunge the diversion.
- (k) (1) Subject to the disclosures required pursuant to subsection (i), in any application for employment, license or other civil right or privilege, or any appearance as a witness, a person whose arrest records, conviction or diversion of a crime has been expunged under this statute may state that such person has never been arrested, convicted or diverted of such crime.
 - (2) A person whose arrest record, conviction or diversion of a crime that resulted in

such person being prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm has been expunged under this statute shall be deemed to have had such person's right to keep and bear arms fully restored. This restoration of rights shall include, but not be limited to, the right to use, transport, receive, purchase, transfer and possess firearms. The provisions of this paragraph shall apply to all orders of expungement, including any orders issued prior to July 1, 2021.

- (l) Whenever the record of any arrest, conviction or diversion has been expunged under the provisions of this section or under the provisions of any other existing or former statute, the custodian of the records of arrest, conviction, diversion and incarceration relating to that crime shall not disclose the existence of such records, except when requested by:
 - (1) The person whose record was expunged;
- (2) a private detective agency or a private patrol operator, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made in conjunction with an application for employment with such agency or operator by the person whose record has been expunged;
- (3) a court, upon a showing of a subsequent conviction of the person whose record has been expunged;
- (4) the secretary for aging and disability services, or a designee of the secretary, for the purpose of obtaining information relating to employment in an institution, as defined in K.S.A. 76-12a01, and amendments thereto, of the Kansas department for aging and disability services of any person whose record has been expunged;
- (5) a person entitled to such information pursuant to the terms of the expungement order:
- (6) a prosecutor, and such request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made in conjunction with a prosecution of an offense that requires a prior conviction as one of the elements of such offense;
- (7) the supreme court, the clerk or disciplinary administrator thereof, the state board for admission of attorneys or the state board for discipline of attorneys, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made in conjunction with an application for admission, or for an order of reinstatement, to the practice of law in this state by the person whose record has been expunged:
- (8) the Kansas lottery, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made to aid in determining qualifications for employment with the Kansas lottery or for work in sensitive areas within the Kansas lottery as deemed appropriate by the executive director of the Kansas lottery;
- (9) the governor or the Kansas racing and gaming commission, or a designee of the commission, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made to aid in determining qualifications for executive director of the commission, for employment with the commission, for work in sensitive areas in parimutuel racing as deemed appropriate by the executive director of the commission or for licensure, renewal of licensure or continued licensure by the commission;
- (10) the Kansas racing and gaming commission, or a designee of the commission, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made to aid in determining qualifications of the following under the Kansas expanded lottery act: (A) Lottery gaming facility managers and prospective managers, racetrack gaming facility managers and prospective managers and certificate holders; and (B) their

officers, directors, employees, owners, agents and contractors;

- (11) the Kansas sentencing commission;
- (12) the state gaming agency, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made to aid in determining qualifications: (A) To be an employee of the state gaming agency; or (B) to be an employee of a tribal gaming commission or to hold a license issued pursuant to a tribal-gaming compact;
- (13) the Kansas securities commissioner or a designee of the commissioner, and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made in conjunction with an application for registration as a broker-dealer, agent, investment adviser or investment adviser representative by such agency and the application was submitted by the person whose record has been expunged;
- (14) the Kansas commission on peace officers' standards and training and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made to aid in determining certification eligibility as a law enforcement officer pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5601 et seq., and amendments thereto;
- (15) a law enforcement agency and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made to aid in determining eligibility for employment as a law enforcement officer as defined by K.S.A. 22-2202, and amendments thereto:
- (16) (A) the attorney general and the request is accompanied by a statement that the request is being made to aid in determining qualifications for a license to act as a bail enforcement agent pursuant to K.S.A. 75-7e01 through 75-7e09, and amendments thereto, and K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 50-6,141, and amendments thereto; or
- (B) the attorney general for any other purpose authorized by law, except that an expungement record shall not be the basis for denial of a license to carry a concealed handgun under the personal and family protection act; or
- (17) the Kansas bureau of investigation, for the purpose of completing a person's criminal history record information within the central repository, in accordance with K.S.A. 22-4701 et seq., and amendments thereto.
- (m) (1) The provisions of subsection (l)(17) shall apply to records created prior to, on and after July 1, 2011.
- (2) Upon the issuance of an order of expungement that resulted in the restoration of a person's right to keep and bear arms, the Kansas bureau of investigation shall report to the federal bureau of investigation that such expunged record be withdrawn from the national instant criminal background check system. The Kansas bureau of investigation shall include such order of expungement in the person's criminal history record for purposes of documenting the restoration of such person's right to keep and bear arms.
- Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 22-4902 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-4902. As used in the Kansas offender registration act, unless the context otherwise requires:
 - (a) "Offender" means:
 - (1) A sex offender;
 - (2) a violent offender:
 - (3) a drug offender;
- (4) any person who has been required to register under out-of-state law or is otherwise required to be registered; and
- (5) any person required by court order to register for an offense not otherwise required as provided in the Kansas offender registration act.
 - (b) "Sex offender" includes any person who:

- (1) On or after April 14, 1994, is convicted of any sexually violent crime;
- (2) on or after July 1, 2002, is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which, if committed by an adult, would constitute the commission of a sexually violent crime, unless the court, on the record, finds that the act involved non-forcible sexual conduct, the victim was at least 14 years of age and the offender was not more than four years older than the victim:
 - (3) has been determined to be a sexually violent predator;
- (4) on or after July 1, 1997, is convicted of any of the following crimes when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age:
- (A) Adultery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3507, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5511, and amendments thereto;
- (B) criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3505(a)(1), prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5504(a)(1) or (a)(2), and amendments thereto;
- (C) promoting prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6420, prior to its amendment by section 17 of chapter 120 of the 2013 Session Laws of Kansas on July 1, 2013;
- (D) patronizing a prostitute, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3515, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6421, prior to its amendment by section 18 of chapter 120 of the 2013 Session Laws of Kansas on July 1, 2013; or
- (E) lewd and lascivious behavior, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3508, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5513, and amendments thereto;
- (5) is convicted of sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505(a), and amendments thereto;
- (6) is convicted of sexual extortion, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5515, and amendments thereto;
- (7) is convicted of breach of privacy, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6101(a) (6), (a)(7) or (a)(8), and amendments thereto;
- (8) is convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302, 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection; or
- (8)(9) has been convicted of an offense that is comparable to any crime defined in this subsection, or any out-of-state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state would be an offense defined in this subsection.
 - (c) "Sexually violent crime" means:
- (1) Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto;
- (2) indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5506(a), and amendments thereto;
- (3) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3504, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5506(b), and amendments thereto;
- (4) criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3505(a)(2) or (a)(3), prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5504(a)(3) or (a)(4), and amendments thereto;
- (5) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5504(b), and amendments thereto;
- (6) indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3510, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5508(a), and amendments thereto;

- (7) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3511, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5508(b), and amendments thereto;
- (8) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto;
- (9) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505(b), and amendments thereto;
- (10) aggravated incest, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5604(b), and amendments thereto;
- (11) electronic solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3523, prior to its repeal, and K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5509, and amendments thereto;
- (12) unlawful sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3520, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5512, and amendments thereto;
- (13) aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5426(b), and amendments thereto, if committed in whole or in part for the purpose of the sexual gratification of the defendant or another;
- (14) commercial sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto;
- (15) promoting the sale of sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto;
- (16) internet trading in child pornography or aggravated internet trading in child pornography, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5514, and amendments thereto;
- (17) any conviction or adjudication for an offense that is comparable to a sexually violent crime as defined in this subsection, or any out-of-state conviction or adjudication for an offense that under the laws of this state would be a sexually violent crime as defined in this subsection;
- (17)(18) an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302, 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of a sexually violent crime, as defined in this subsection; or
- (18)(19) any act-which that has been determined beyond a reasonable doubt to have been sexually motivated, unless the court, on the record, finds that the act involved non-forcible sexual conduct, the victim was at least 14 years of age and the offender was not more than four years older than the victim. As used in this paragraph, "sexually motivated" means that one of the purposes for which the defendant committed the crime was for the purpose of the defendant's sexual gratification.
- (d) "Sexually violent predator" means any person who, on or after July 1, 2001, is found to be a sexually violent predator pursuant to K.S.A. 59-29a01 et seq., and amendments thereto.
 - (e) "Violent offender" includes any person who:
 - (1) On or after July 1, 1997, is convicted of any of the following crimes:
- (A) Capital murder, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto;
- (B) murder in the first degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto;
- (C) murder in the second degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3402, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto;
 - (D) voluntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or

- K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto;
- (E) involuntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5405(a)(1), (a)(2) or (a)(4), and amendments thereto. The provisions of this paragraph shall not apply to violations of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5405(a)(3), and amendments thereto,—which that occurred on or after July 1, 2011, through July 1, 2013;
- (F) kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3420, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5408(a), and amendments thereto;
- (G) aggravated kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3421, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5408(b), and amendments thereto;
- (H) criminal restraint, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3424, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5411, and amendments thereto, except by a parent, and only when the victim is less than 18 years of age; or
- (I) aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5426(b), and amendments thereto, if not committed in whole or in part for the purpose of the sexual gratification of the defendant or another;
- (2) on or after July 1, 2006, is convicted of any person felony and the court makes a finding on the record that a deadly weapon was used in the commission of such person felony:
- (3) has been convicted of an offense that is comparable to any crime defined in this subsection, any out-of-state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state would be an offense defined in this subsection; or
- (4) is convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.
 - (f) "Drug offender" includes any person who, on or after July 1, 2007:
 - (1) Is convicted of any of the following crimes:
- (A) Unlawful manufacture or attempting such of any controlled substance or controlled substance analog, as defined in K.S.A. 65-4159, prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a03, prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5703, and amendments thereto:
- (B) possession of ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, red phosphorus, lithium metal, sodium metal, iodine, anhydrous ammonia, pressurized ammonia or phenylpropanolamine, or their salts, isomers or salts of isomers with intent to use the product to manufacture a controlled substance, as defined in K.S.A. 65-7006(a), prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a09(a), prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5709(a), and amendments thereto;
- (C) K.S.A. 65-4161, prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a05(a)(1), prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5705(a)(1), and amendments thereto. The provisions of this paragraph shall not apply to violations of K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a05(a)(2) through (a)(6) or (b) which that occurred on or after July 1, 2009, through April 15, 2010;
- (2) has been convicted of an offense that is comparable to any crime defined in this subsection, any out-of-state conviction for an offense that under the laws of this state would be an offense defined in this subsection; or
 - (3) is or has been convicted of an attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as

defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.

- (g) Convictions or adjudications—which that result from or are connected with the same act, or result from crimes committed at the same time, shall be counted for the purpose of this section as one conviction or adjudication. Any conviction or adjudication set aside pursuant to law is not a conviction or adjudication for purposes of this section. A conviction or adjudication from any out-of-state court shall constitute a conviction or adjudication for purposes of this section.
- (h) "School" means any public or private educational institution, including, but not limited to, postsecondary school, college, university, community college, secondary school, high school, junior high school, middle school, elementary school, trade school, vocational school or professional school providing training or education to an offender for three or more consecutive days or parts of days, or for 10 or more nonconsecutive days in a period of 30 consecutive days.
- (i) "Employment" means any full-time, part-time, transient, day-labor employment or volunteer work, with or without compensation, for three or more consecutive days or parts of days, or for 10 or more nonconsecutive days in a period of 30 consecutive days.
- (j) "Reside" means to stay, sleep or maintain with regularity or temporarily one's person and property in a particular place other than a location where the offender is incarcerated. It shall be presumed that an offender resides at any and all locations where the offender stays, sleeps or maintains the offender's person for three or more consecutive days or parts of days, or for ten or more nonconsecutive days in a period of 30 consecutive days.
- (k) "Residence" means a particular and definable place where an individual resides. Nothing in the Kansas offender registration act shall be construed to state that an offender may only have one residence for the purpose of such act.
 - (1) "Transient" means having no fixed or identifiable residence.
- (m) "Law enforcement agency having initial jurisdiction" means the registering law enforcement agency of the county or location of jurisdiction where the offender expects to most often reside upon the offender's discharge, parole or release.
- (n) "Registering law enforcement agency" means the sheriff's office or tribal police department responsible for registering an offender.
- (o) "Registering entity" means any person, agency or other governmental unit, correctional facility or registering law enforcement agency responsible for obtaining the required information from, and explaining the required registration procedures to, any person required to register pursuant to the Kansas offender registration act. "Registering entity"—shall—include includes, but is not—be limited to, sheriff's offices, tribal police departments and correctional facilities.
- (p) "Treatment facility" means any public or private facility or institution providing inpatient mental health, drug or alcohol treatment or counseling, but does not include a hospital, as defined in K.S.A. 65-425, and amendments thereto.
- (q) "Correctional facility" means any public or private correctional facility, juvenile detention facility, prison or jail.
- (r) "Out-of-state" means: the District of Columbia; any federal, military or tribal jurisdiction, including those within this state; any foreign jurisdiction; or any state or territory within the United States, other than this state.

- (s) "Duration of registration" means the length of time during which an offender is required to register for a specified offense or violation.
- (t) (1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, "offender" shall not include any person who is:
- (A) Convicted of unlawful transmission of a visual depiction of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5611(a), and amendments thereto, aggravated unlawful transmission of a visual depiction of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5611(b), and amendments thereto, or unlawful possession of a visual depiction of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5610, and amendments thereto;
- (B) adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which, if committed by an adult, would constitute the commission of a crime defined in subsection (t)(1)(A); or
- (C) adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which, if committed by an adult, would constitute the commission of sexual extortion as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5515, and amendments thereto; or
- (D) adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a violation of K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6101(a)(6), (a)(7) or (a)(8), and amendments thereto.
- (2) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a court shall not order any person to register under the Kansas offender registration act for the offenses described in subsection (t)(1).
- Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 22-4906 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-4906. (a) (1) Except as provided in subsection (c), if convicted of any of the following offenses, an offender's duration of registration shall be, if confined, 15 years after the date of parole, discharge or release, whichever date is most recent, or, if not confined, 15 years from the date of conviction:
- (A) Sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3517, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505(a), and amendments thereto;
- (B) adultery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3507, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5511, and amendments thereto, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age;
- (C) promoting the sale of sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6420, and amendments thereto:
- (D) patronizing a prostitute, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3515, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6421, prior to its amendment by section 18 of chapter 120 of the 2013 Session Laws of Kansas on July 1, 2013, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age;
- (E) lewd and lascivious behavior, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3508, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5513, and amendments thereto, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age;
- (F) capital murder, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3439, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5401, and amendments thereto;
- (G) murder in the first degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3401, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5402, and amendments thereto;
- (H) murder in the second degree, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3402, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5403, and amendments thereto;
- (I) voluntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3403, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5404, and amendments thereto;

- (J) involuntary manslaughter, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3404, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5405(a)(1), (a)(2) or (a)(4), and amendments thereto;
- (K) criminal restraint, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3424, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5411, and amendments thereto, except by a parent, and only when the victim is less than 18 years of age;
- (L) sexual extortion, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5515, and amendments thereto, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age;
- (M) breach of privacy, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6101(a)(6), (a)(7) or (a) (8), and amendments thereto;
- (N) any act—which_that has been determined beyond a reasonable doubt to have been sexually motivated, unless the court, on the record, finds that the act involved non-forcible sexual conduct, the victim was at least 14 years of age and the offender was not more than four years older than the victim;
- (N)(O) conviction of any person required by court order to register for an offense not otherwise required as provided in the Kansas offender registration act;
- (O)(P) conviction of any person felony and the court makes a finding on the record that a deadly weapon was used in the commission of such person felony;
- (P)(Q) unlawful manufacture or attempting such of any controlled substance or controlled substance analog, as defined in K.S.A. 65-4159, prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a03, prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5703, and amendments thereto;
- (Q)(R) possession of ephedrine, pseudoephedrine, red phosphorus, lithium metal, sodium metal, iodine, anhydrous ammonia, pressurized ammonia or phenylpropanolamine, or their salts, isomers or salts of isomers with intent to use the product to manufacture a controlled substance, as defined by K.S.A. 65-7006(a), prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a09(a), prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5709(a), and amendments thereto;
- (R)(S) K.S.A. 65-4161, prior to its repeal, K.S.A. 2010 Supp. 21-36a05(a)(1), prior to its transfer, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5705(a)(1), and amendments thereto; or
- (S)(T) any attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.
- (2) Except as otherwise provided by the Kansas offender registration act, the duration of registration terminates, if not confined, at the expiration of 15 years from the date of conviction. Any period of time during which any offender is incarcerated in any jail or correctional facility or during which the offender does not comply with any and all requirements of the Kansas offender registration act shall not count toward the duration of registration.
- (b) (1) Except as provided in subsection (c), if convicted of any of the following offenses, an offender's duration of registration shall be, if confined, 25 years after the date of parole, discharge or release, whichever date is most recent, or, if not confined, 25 years from the date of conviction:
- (A) Criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3505(a)(1), prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5504(a)(1) or (a)(2), and amendments thereto, when one of the parties involved is less than 18 years of age;
- (B) indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3510, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5508(a), and amendments thereto;

- (C) electronic solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3523, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5509, and amendments thereto;
- (D) aggravated incest, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3603, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5604(b), and amendments thereto;
- (E) indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3503, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5506(a), and amendments thereto;
- (F) unlawful sexual relations, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3520, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5512, and amendments thereto;
- (G) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if the victim is 14 or more years of age but less than 18 years of age;
- (H) aggravated sexual battery, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3518, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5505(b), and amendments thereto;
- (I) internet trading in child pornography, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5514, and amendments thereto;
- (J) aggravated internet trading in child pornography, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5514, and amendments thereto, if the victim is 14 or more years of age but less than 18 years of age;
- (K) promoting prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6420, prior to its amendment by section 17 of chapter 120 of the 2013 Session Laws of Kansas on July 1, 2013, if the person selling sexual relations is 14 or more years of age but less than 18 years of age; or
- (J)(<u>L)</u> any attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.
- (2) Except as otherwise provided by the Kansas offender registration act, the duration of registration terminates, if not confined, at the expiration of 25 years from the date of conviction. Any period of time during which any offender is incarcerated in any jail or correctional facility or during which the offender does not comply with any and all requirements of the Kansas offender registration act shall not count toward the duration of registration.
- (c) Upon a second or subsequent conviction of an offense requiring registration, an offender's duration of registration shall be for such offender's lifetime.
- (d) The duration of registration for any offender who has been convicted of any of the following offenses shall be for such offender's lifetime:
- (1) Rape, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3502, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5503, and amendments thereto;
- (2) aggravated indecent solicitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3511, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5508(b), and amendments thereto;
- (3) aggravated indecent liberties with a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3504, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5506(b), and amendments thereto;
- (4) criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3505(a)(2) or (a)(3), prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5504(a)(3) or (a)(4), and amendments thereto;
- (5) aggravated criminal sodomy, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3506, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5504(b), and amendments thereto;
- (6) aggravated human trafficking, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3447, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5426(b), and amendments thereto;

- (7) sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3516, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5510, and amendments thereto, if the victim is less than 14 years of age:
- (8) promoting prostitution, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3513, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6420, prior to its amendment by section 17 of chapter 120 of the 2013 Session Laws of Kansas on July 1, 2013, if the person selling sexual relations is less than 14 years of age;
- (9) kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3420, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5408(a), and amendments thereto;
- (10) aggravated kidnapping, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3421, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5408(b), and amendments thereto;
- (11) <u>aggravated internet trading in child pornography, as defined in K.S.A. 2021.</u> Supp. 21-5514, and amendments thereto, if the victim is less than 14 years of age;
- (12) commercial sexual exploitation of a child, as defined in K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6422, and amendments thereto; or
- (12)(13) any attempt, conspiracy or criminal solicitation, as defined in K.S.A. 21-3301, 21-3302 or 21-3303, prior to their repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-5301, 21-5302 and 21-5303, and amendments thereto, of an offense defined in this subsection.
- (e) Any person who has been declared a sexually violent predator pursuant to K.S.A. 59-29a01 et seq., and amendments thereto, shall register for such person's lifetime.
- (f) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, for an offender less than 14 years of age who is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a sexually violent crime set forth in K.S.A. 22-4902(c), and amendments thereto, the court shall:
- (1) Require registration until such offender reaches 18 years of age, at the expiration of five years from the date of adjudication or, if confined, from release from confinement, whichever date occurs later. Any period of time during which the offender is incarcerated in any jail, juvenile facility or correctional facility or during which the offender does not comply with any and all requirements of the Kansas offender registration act shall not count toward the duration of registration;
- (2) not require registration if the court, on the record, finds substantial and compelling reasons therefor; or
- (3) require registration, but such registration information shall not be open to inspection by the public or posted on any internet website, as provided in K.S.A. 22-4909, and amendments thereto. If the court requires registration but such registration is not open to the public, such offender shall provide a copy of such court order to the registering law enforcement agency at the time of registration. The registering law enforcement agency shall forward a copy of such court order to the Kansas bureau of investigation.

If such offender violates a condition of release during the term of the conditional release, the court may require such offender to register pursuant to paragraph (1).

(g) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, for an offender 14 years of age or more who is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a sexually violent crime set forth in K.S.A. 22-4902(c), and amendments thereto, and such crime is not an off-grid felony or a felony ranked in severity level 1 of the nondrug grid as provided in K.S.A. 21-4704, prior to its repeal, or

- K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6804, and amendments thereto, the court shall:
- (1) Require registration until such offender reaches 18 years of age, at the expiration of five years from the date of adjudication or, if confined, from release from confinement, whichever date occurs later. Any period of time during which the offender is incarcerated in any jail, juvenile facility or correctional facility or during which the offender does not comply with any and all requirements of the Kansas offender registration act shall not count toward the duration of registration;
- (2) not require registration if the court, on the record, finds substantial and compelling reasons therefor; or
- (3) require registration, but such registration information shall not be open to inspection by the public or posted on any internet website, as provided in K.S.A. 22-4909, and amendments thereto. If the court requires registration but such registration is not open to the public, such offender shall provide a copy of such court order to the registering law enforcement agency at the time of registration. The registering law enforcement agency shall forward a copy of such court order to the Kansas bureau of investigation.

If such offender violates a condition of release during the term of the conditional release, the court may require such offender to register pursuant to paragraph (1).

- (h) Notwithstanding any other provisions of this section, an offender 14 years of age or more who is adjudicated as a juvenile offender for an act which, if committed by an adult, would constitute a sexually violent crime set forth in K.S.A. 22-4902(c), and amendments thereto, and such crime is an off-grid felony or a felony ranked in severity level 1 of the nondrug grid as provided in K.S.A. 21-4704, prior to its repeal, or K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6804, and amendments thereto, shall be required to register for such offender's lifetime.
- (i) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if a diversionary agreement or probation order, either adult or juvenile, or a juvenile offender sentencing order, requires registration under the Kansas offender registration act for an offense that would not otherwise require registration as provided in K.S.A. 22-4902(a)(5), and amendments thereto, then all provisions of the Kansas offender registration act shall apply, except that the duration of registration shall be controlled by such diversionary agreement, probation order or juvenile offender sentencing order.
- (j) The duration of registration does not terminate if the convicted or adjudicated offender again becomes liable to register as provided by the Kansas offender registration act during the required period of registration.
- (k) For any person moving to Kansas who has been convicted or adjudicated in an out-of-state court, or who was required to register under an out-of-state law, the duration of registration shall be the length of time required by the out-of-state jurisdiction or by the Kansas offender registration act, whichever length of time is longer. The provisions of this subsection shall apply to convictions or adjudications prior to June 1, 2006, and to persons who moved to Kansas prior to June 1, 2006, and to convictions or adjudications on or after June 1, 2006, and to persons who moved to Kansas on or after June 1, 2006.
- (l) For any person residing, maintaining employment or attending school in this state who has been convicted or adjudicated by an out-of-state court of an offense that is comparable to any crime requiring registration pursuant to the Kansas offender registration act, but who was not required to register in the jurisdiction of conviction or

adjudication, the duration of registration shall be the duration required for the comparable offense pursuant to the Kansas offender registration act.

- Sec. 4. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 22-4908 is hereby amended to read as follows: 22-4908. No person required to register as an offender pursuant to the Kansas offender-registration act shall be granted an order relieving the offender of further registration under this act. This section shall include any person with any out-of-state conviction or adjudication for an offense that would require registration under the laws of this state (a) Except as provided in subsection (b), a drug offender who is required to register under the Kansas offender registration act may file a verified petition for relief from registration requirements if the offender has registered for a period of at least five years after the date of parole, discharge or release, whichever date is most recent, or, if not confined, five years from the date of conviction or adjudication.
- (b) An offender who is required to register pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4906(k), and amendments thereto, because of an out-of-state conviction or adjudication may not petition for relief from registration requirements in this state if the offender would be required to register under the law of the state or jurisdiction where the conviction or adjudication occurred. If the offender would no longer be required to register under the law of the state or jurisdiction where the conviction or adjudication occurred, the offender may file a verified petition pursuant to subsection (a).
- (c) Any period of time during which an offender is incarcerated in any jail or correctional facility or during which the offender does not substantially comply with the requirements of the Kansas offender registration act shall not count toward the duration of registration required in subsection (a).
- (d) (1) A verified petition for relief from registration requirements shall be filed in the district court in the county where the offender was convicted or adjudicated of the offense requiring registration. If the offender was not convicted or adjudicated in this state of the offense requiring registration, such petition shall be filed in the district court of any county where the offender is currently required to register. The docket fee shall be as provided in K.S.A. 60-2001, and amendments thereto.
 - (2) The petition shall include:
 - (A) The offender's full name;
- (B) the offender's full name at the time of conviction or adjudication for the offense or offenses requiring registration, if different than the offender's current name;
 - (C) the offender's sex, race and date of birth;
 - (D) the offense or offenses requiring registration;
- (E) the date of conviction or adjudication for the offense or offenses requiring registration;
- (F) the court in which the offender was convicted or adjudicated of the offense or offenses requiring registration;
- (G) whether the offender has been arrested, convicted, adjudicated or entered into a diversion agreement for any crime during the period the offender is required to register; and
- (H) the names of all treatment providers and agencies that have treated the offender for mental health, substance abuse and offense-related behavior since the date of the offense or offenses requiring registration.
 - (3) The judicial council shall develop a petition form for use under this section.
 - (4) When a petition is filed, the court shall set a date for a hearing on such petition

and cause notice of the hearing to be given to the county or district attorney in the county where the petition is filed. Any person who may have relevant information about the offender may testify at the hearing.

- (5) The county or district attorney shall notify any victim of the offense requiring registration who is alive and whose address is known or, if the victim is deceased, the victim's family if the family's address is known. The victim or victim's family shall not be compelled to testify or provide any discovery to the offender.
- (6) The county or district attorney shall have access to all applicable records, including records that are otherwise confidential or privileged.
- (e) (1) The court may require a drug offender who is petitioning for relief under this section to undergo a risk assessment.
- (2) Any risk assessment ordered under this subsection shall be performed by a professional agreed upon by the parties or a professional approved by the court. Such risk assessment shall be performed at the offender's expense.
- (f) The court shall order relief from registration requirements if the offender shows by clear and convincing evidence that:
- (1) The offender has not been convicted or adjudicated of a felony, other than a felony violation or aggravated felony violation of K.S.A. 22-4903, and amendments thereto, within the five years immediately preceding the filing of the petition, and no proceedings involving any such felony are presently pending or being instituted against the offender;
- (2) the offender's circumstances, behavior and treatment history demonstrate that the offender is sufficiently rehabilitated to warrant relief; and
 - (3) registration of the offender is no longer necessary to promote public safety.
- (g) If the court denies an offender's petition for relief, the offender shall not file another petition for relief until three years have elapsed, unless a shorter time period is ordered by the court.
- (h) If the court grants relief from registration requirements, the court shall order that the offender be removed from the offender registry and that the offender is no longer required to comply with registration requirements. Within 14 days of any order, the court shall notify the Kansas bureau of investigation and any local law enforcement agency that registers the offender that the offender has been granted relief from registration requirements. The Kansas bureau of investigation shall remove such offender from any internet website maintained pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4909, and amendments thereto.
- (i) An offender may combine a petition for relief under this section with a petition for expungement under K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6614, and amendments thereto, if the offense requiring registration is otherwise eligible for expungement.
- Sec. 5. K.S.A. 2021 Supp. 21-6614, 22-4902, 22-4906 and 22-4908 are hereby repealed.";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 1, by striking all after "concerning"; by striking all in line 2; in line 3, by striking "structures" and inserting "offender registration; relating to the Kansas offender registration act; providing a mechanism to seek relief from registration requirements for drug offenders; expungement for such offenses; requiring registration for certain violations of breach of privacy, internet trading in child pornography and aggravated internet trading in child pornography"; also in line 3, by

striking "21-5807" and inserting "21-6614, 22-4902, 22-4906 and 22-4908"; in line 4, by striking "section" and inserting "sections";

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Stephen Owens
Eric Smith
Dennis "Boog" Highberger
Conferees on part of House

Kellie Warren Rick Wilborn David Haley Conferees on part of Senate

On motion of Rep. Owens, the conference committee report on **SB 366** was adopted. On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 116; Nays 0; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 9.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Neighbor, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Samsel, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Victors, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: None.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burroughs, Coleman, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Poetter, Ruiz, L., Schmidt, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2387** submits the following report:

Your committee on conference agrees to disagree and recommends that a new conference committee be appointed;

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Kellie Warren Rick Wilborn Dinah Sykes Conferees on part of Senate

Fred Patton
Bradley Ralph
John Carmichael

Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Patton the conference committee report on **HB 2387** to agree to disagree, was adopted.

Speaker Ryckman thereupon appointed Reps. Patton, Ralph and Carmichael as second conferees on the part of the House.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. PRESIDENT and MR. SPEAKER: Your committee on conference on House amendments to **SB 286** submits the following report:

Your committee on conference agrees to disagree and recommends that a new conference committee be appointed:

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Fred Patton
Bradley Ralph
John Carmichael
Conferees on part of House

Kellie Warren Rick Wilborn Ethan Corson Conferees on part of Senate

On motion of Rep. Patton the conference committee report on **H Sub for Sub SB 286** to agree to disagree, was adopted.

Speaker Ryckman thereupon appointed Reps. Patton, Ralph and Carmichael as second conferees on the part of the House.

CHANGE OF CONFEREES

Speaker Ryckman announced the appointment of Reps. Bergquist and Miller to replace Reps. Arnberger and L. Ruiz as members of the conference committee on **HB** 2252

MESSAGE FROM THE SENATE

The Senate announced the appointment of Senators Hilderbrand, Gossage and Pettey to replace Senators Thompson, Petersen and Francisco as conferees on **H Sub for SB** 19.

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report on SB 2.

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report on SB 215.

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report on **SB 446**.

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report on **HB 2456**.

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report on HB 2703.

REPORT OF STANDING COMMITTEE

Your Committee on Calendar and Printing recommends on requests for resolutions and certificates that

Request No. 49, by Representative Les Mason, congratulating McPherson High

School Basketball Team celebrating 50 years of MHS championship basketball;

Request No. 50, by Representative Megan Lynn, commending Genia Deets in recognition for sharing and teaching through the Mail-a-Smile Foundation;

Request No. 51, by Ponka-We Victors-Cozad, congratulating the Evergreen Community Center and Library in recognition of the grand opening of the Evergreen Community Center and Library;

be approved and the Chief Clerk of the House be directed to order the printing of said certificates and order drafting of said resolutions.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the committee report was adopted.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the House recessed until 10:00 p.m.

NIGHT SESSION

The House met pursuant to recess with Speaker Ryckman in the chair.

MESSAGES FROM THE SENATE

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report to agree to disagree on **H Sub** for **Sub SB 286**, and has appointed Senators Warren, Wilborn and Corson as Second conferees on the part of the Senate.

The Senate adopts the Conference Committee report to agree to disagree on **S Sub for HB 2567**, and has appointed Senators Baumgardner, Erickson and Sykes as Second conferees on the part of the Senate.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2456** submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with Senate Committee of the Whole amendments, as follows:

On page 1, in line 7, by striking "On and after January 1, 2023,"; in line 8, by striking "is authorized to" and inserting "shall"; also in line 8, after "issue" by inserting "and make available"; in line 14, by striking "at least"; also in line 14, after "six" by inserting "or seven"; also in line 14, by striking "but not more than 12 years of age"; in line 15, by striking "\$400" and inserting "\$500"; by striking all in lines 17 through 19; in line 22, after the first "committee" by inserting "and the senate committee on agriculture and natural resources"; also in line 22, by striking the second "committee" and inserting "committees"; in line 25, by striking all after "(c)"; by striking all in lines 26 and 27; in line 28, by striking "(d)":

On page 2, in line 1, by striking "Kansas register" and inserting "statute book"; And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Dan Kershen Ron Ryckman, Sr. Mary Ware Conferees on part of Senate

Ken Corbet Ron Ryckman, Jr. Sydney Carlin Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Corbet, the conference committee report on HB 2456 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 93; Nays 20; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 12.

Yeas: Alcala, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Carlin, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Gartner, Hawkins, Helgerson, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Newland, Orr, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ryckman, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore.

Nays: Amyx, Byers, Carmichael, Featherston, Haswood, Henderson, Highberger, Kuether, Meyer, Miller, Ohaebosim, Osman, Ousley, Poskin, Ruiz, S., Stogsdill, Vaughn, Weigel, Woodard, Xu.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burroughs, Coleman, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Neighbor, Poetter, Ruiz, L., Samsel, Schmidt, Victors, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2703** submits the following report:

The House accedes to all Senate amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference further agrees to amend the bill as printed with Senate Committee amendments, as follows:

On page 1, following line 15, by inserting:

"New Section 1. The provisions of sections 1 through 6, and amendments thereto, shall be known and may be cited as the Kansas targeted employment act. The purpose of this act shall be to incentivize employers to employ persons with developmental disabilities in Kansas and decrease the reliance and associated costs to taxpayers to fund governmental programs.

New Sec. 2. As used in this act:

- (a) "Competitive integrated employment" has the meaning as provided in the workforce innovation and opportunity act, 29 U.S.C. § 3101 et seq., as defined in 29 U.S.C. § 3102, 34 C.F.R. § 361.5 and 29 U.S.C. § 705.
- (b) "Community service provider" means an association or organization licensed by the Kansas department for aging and disability services whose purpose is to provide support and services, relating to the ability to live and to work in the community, to

persons who, without such support and services, would be unable or would have significant difficulty maintaining employment or living in the community. "Community service provider" also includes other governmental agencies that support or that elect to support eligible individuals with job placement and job preservation supports including, but not limited to, school districts, community mental health centers and vocational rehabilitation contractors.

- (c) "Earned income" means compensation paid to a Kansas employee for competitive integrated employment that is equal or greater than the minimum wage and is performed in a competitive integrated setting.
- (d) "Eligible individual" means an individual, including a high school student, who is a Kansas resident, is employed by an employer in a competitive integrated setting, has a developmental disability that has been documented as required by the secretary for aging and disability services and who has agreed to provide the secretary for aging and disability services, or the secretary's designee, information required by the secretary pursuant to the Kansas targeted employment act, or to permit the secretary of revenue to provide such information to the secretary for aging and disability services.
- (e) "Developmental disability" means the same as defined in K.S.A. 39-1803, and amendments thereto
- (f) "Targeted employment business" means those employers employing eligible individuals in competitive integrated employment in a competitive integrated setting and who are authorized to do business in Kansas. In order to qualify as a "targeted employment business," the employer must pay earned income to an eligible individual in a calendar year. "Targeted employment business" does not include a community service provider.
- New Sec. 3. For tax years 2022 through 2027, a credit shall be allowed against the income, privilege or premium tax liability imposed upon a taxpayer qualifying as a targeted employment business or a taxpayer outsourcing work to a targeted employment business pursuant to the Kansas income tax act, the privilege tax imposed upon any national banking association, state bank, trust company or savings and loan association pursuant to article 11 of chapter 79 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or the premiums tax and privilege fees imposed upon an insurance company pursuant to K.S.A. 40-252, and amendments thereto, for every hour that an eligible individual is employed in a calendar year in a targeted employment business and receives earned income as compensation. The credit shall only apply to wages for hours worked and not for any compensation for leave paid to the eligible individual. The credit shall be 50% of the wages paid to the eligible individual on an hourly basis, up to a maximum credit of \$7.50 per hour. For the purpose of calculating the tax credit, the wage rate used shall not be more than a reasonable or usual and customary market wage rate for a similar job. The credit shall not be refundable, shall not be carried forward and shall only be used once each taxable year against tax liability imposed by only one of the income, privilege or premium taxes. For any employed eligible individual who receives support or services from a community service provider, such eligible individual may choose to have support or services provided as needed at the individual's worksite to help the individual maintain employment. The maximum amount of all tax credits allowed in each tax year under the Kansas targeted employment act shall be \$5,000,000.

- New Sec. 4. (a) Any targeted employment business seeking to qualify for a tax credit pursuant to section 3, and amendments thereto, shall provide to the secretary of revenue the names of each eligible individual employed and the wage rate per hour, hours worked and gross wages paid, minus any compensation for leave, for each eligible individual and such other information as the secretary of revenue may require.
- (b) The secretary of revenue and the secretary for aging and disability services are hereby authorized to adopt such rules and regulations as may be necessary for the administration of the provisions of the Kansas targeted employment act.
- New Sec. 5. (a) The secretary for aging and disability services shall develop and implement a program to measure the results of the tax credits allowed by sections 1 through 4, and amendments thereto, including an analysis of: (1) Decreases in reliance upon state government-funded subsidies for employed eligible individuals and any associated net savings to Kansas taxpayers resulting from any such decreases in reliance: (2) effects of reallocation of tax dollars that employers would have paid to the state government of Kansas to employers who employed eligible individuals pursuant to the tax credit program; and (3) any benefits or detriments to the quality of life and the standard of living for employed eligible individuals, including access to health insurance, healthcare or other services and increases or decreases in income, discretionary income and expenses. The secretary for aging and disability services may require employed eligible individuals or targeted employment businesses to provide or to permit the secretary of revenue to provide, as a condition of participation in the tax credit program, information necessary to assess the tax credit program pursuant to this section, including information otherwise confidential under state or federal law. All confidential information provided shall be received, stored and used in a manner that shall maintain the confidentiality of the information provided and not permit the identification of eligible individuals or targeted employment businesses.
- (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of state law, the secretary of revenue shall provide the secretary for aging and disability services with tax information, including tax information for individuals and targeted employment businesses that have waived the confidentiality of such information, as necessary to enable the secretary for aging and disability services to fulfill the requirements of this section. All information pertaining to an eligible individual or targeted employment business shall be provided in a manner that shall maintain the confidentiality of such eligible individuals and businesses. Nothing in this section shall be construed to violate or conflict with any federal law.
- (c) The secretary for aging and disability services shall submit a written report of the findings of the secretary's review pursuant to subsection (a) to the standing committee on commerce of the senate and the standing committee on commerce, labor and economic development of the house on the first day of the 2023 through 2027 regular sessions of the legislature.
- New Sec. 6. The provisions of sections 1 through 5, and amendments thereto, shall expire on January 1, 2028, except that tax credits earned in tax year 2027 may be awarded by the secretary of revenue as provided by this act.";
 - On page 26, in line 4, after "year" by inserting ", unless it is determined by actual

calculation pursuant to fund control table B that credit rate schedules (8-13) would apply based on the health of the unemployment insurance trust fund";

On page 34, in line 15, after "date" by inserting "but such claimants shall only be excepted during any first 8 consecutive weeks of benefits"; in line 16, by striking "or that no longer reside in Kansas"; in line 18, after the first "are" by inserting "active"; also in line 18, after "members" by inserting "in good standing";

On page 35, in line 32, after the stricken material by inserting "The secretary of commerce shall monitor those my reemployment plan claimants participating in training managed by the workforce centers to ensure compliance."; in line 36, by striking all before "to" and inserting "secretary of commerce"; in line 37, by striking "educational"; in line 38, by striking all before the first "secretary"; also in line 38, by striking "and" and inserting "to";

And by renumbering sections accordingly;

On page 1, in the title, in line 1, by striking "security law"; also in line 1, after "the" by inserting "employment security law;"; in line 5, after "mandatory" by inserting "with specified exceptions"; by striking all in lines 10 and 11; in line 12, by striking all before the semicolon and inserting "enacting the Kansas targeted employment act to facilitate employment of persons with developmental disabilities through a tax credit incentive for employers":

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Renee Erickson Brenda Dietrich Tom Holland Conferees on part of Senate

SEAN TARWATER
MARTY LONG
STEPHANIE CLAYTON
Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Tarwater, the conference committee report on ${\bf HB}$ 2703 was adopted.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 110; Nays 3; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 12.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Baker, Ballard, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Burris, Byers, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clayton, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Curtis, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Fairchild, Featherston, Finch, Francis, French, Gartner, Haswood, Hawkins, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howe, Howell, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Kuether, Landwehr, Lee-Hahn, Long, Lynn, Mason, Meyer, Miller, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Newland, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Poskin, Probst, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Rhiley, Ruiz, S., Ryckman, Sanders, Sawyer, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Stogsdill, Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Vaughn, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Weigel, Wheeler, K. Williams, Wolfe Moore, Woodard, Xu.

Nays: Esau, Garber, Howerton.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burroughs, Coleman, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Neighbor, Poetter, Ruiz, L., Samsel, Schmidt, Victors, Winn.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR. SPEAKER and MR. PRESIDENT: Your committee on conference on Senate amendments to **HB 2567** submits the following report:

Your committee on conference agrees to disagree and recommends that a new conference committee be appointed;

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

Molly Baumgardner
Renee Erickson

Conferees on part of Senate
Kristey Williams
Kyle Hoffman

Conferees on part of House

On motion of Rep. Williams the conference committee report on S Sub for HB 2567 to agree to disagree, was adopted.

Speaker Ryckman thereupon appointed Reps. Williams, Hoffman and Ousley as second conferees on the part of the House.

Roll call was demanded on motion of Rep. Helgerson to adjourn.

On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 29; Nays 77; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 19.

Yeas: Alcala, Amyx, Baker, Ballard, Byers, Carlin, Carmichael, Featherston, Gartner, Haswood, Helgerson, Henderson, Highberger, Howe, Kuether, Meyer, Miller, Ohaebosim, Orr, Osman, Ousley, Poskin, Probst, Rhiley, Ruiz, S., Stogsdill, Vaughn, Weigel, Xu.

Nays: Anderson, Arnberger, Awerkamp, Barker, Bergkamp, Bergquist, Blex, Borjon, Carlson, W. Carpenter, Clark, Clifford, Collins, Concannon, Corbet, Croft, Delperdang, Dodson, M., Donohoe, Ellis, Eplee, Esau, Fairchild, Finch, Francis, French, Garber, Hawkins, Highland, Hoffman, Hoheisel, Houser, Howell, Howerton, Hoye, Huebert, Humphries, Jacobs, S. Johnson, T. Johnson, Kelly, Kessler, Landwehr, Long, Lynn, Mason, Minnix, Moser, Murphy, Neelly, Newland, Owens, F. Patton, Penn, Proctor, Proehl, Rahjes, Ralph, Resman, Ryckman, Sanders, Schreiber, Seiwert, Smith, A., Smith, C., Smith, E., Sutton, Tarwater, Thomas, Thompson, Toplikar, Turner, Waggoner, Wasinger, Waymaster, Wheeler, K. Williams.

Present but not voting: None.

Absent or not voting: Burris, Burroughs, Clayton, Coleman, Curtis, Estes, Finney, Helmer, Lee-Hahn, Neighbor, Poetter, Ruiz, L., Samsel, Sawyer, Schmidt, Victors, Winn, Wolfe Moore, Woodard.

The motion of Rep. Helgerson failed.

REPORT ON ENGROSSED BILLS

HB 2564 reported correctly engrossed March 31, 2022. **HB 2386**, **HB 2607** reported correctly re-engrossed March 31, 2022.

REPORT ON ENROLLED RESOLUTIONS

HCR 5014, HCR 5030, HCR 5035 reported correctly enrolled and properly signed on March 31, 2022.

On motion of Rep. Hawkins, the House adjourned until 10:00 a.m., Friday, April 1, 2022.

JENNY HAUGH, JULIA WERNER, Journal Clerks.

SUSAN W. KANNARR, Chief Clerk.