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MEMORANDUM 

To:  House Committee on Transportation 

From:  Office of Revisor of Statutes 

Date:  March 10, 2021 

Subject: Bill Brief – SB 68 

  

 SB 68 establishes a fee on firefighter distinctive license plates. 

 K.S.A. 8-1,155 currently provides for a firefighter distinctive license plate for any person 

who submits satisfactory proof that they are a firefighter. SB 68 would create a $10 firefighter 

training fee for those license plates on and after January 1, 2022. The $10 fee would apply along 

with current license and distinctive license plate fees. 

 The firefighter training fees collected by county treasurers upon applications for 

registrations and renewals will be deposited into the newly created firefighter training fund. 

Expenditures from the firefighter training fund may be made for the purposes of providing 

financial support related to honoring Kansas firefighters, training Kansas firefighters or any 

general use that supports Kansas firefighters. Payments from the firefighters training fund shall 

be made on a monthly basis to a designee of the Kansas State Firefighters Association to be used 

for the purposes listed above. 

 


