

NATIONAL CONFERENCE of STATE LEGISLATURES

The Forum for America's Ideas

Good Time and Earned Time Policies for State Prison Inmates (as established by law)

March 2020

This chart highlights sentence credit policies listed in state statutes that are applicable to inmates in state prisons. Earned time is defined as a credit against an inmate's sentence or period of incarceration that he or she earns for participation in or completion of productive activities. Earned time is distinguished from, and can be offered in addition to, "good time" credits which are given to offenders for following prison rules and required participation in activities.

	GOOD TIME				EARNED TIME				
STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
Alabama §14-9-41	75, 40, or 20 days per 30 days served depending on classification of prisoner (I, II, and III respectively).								Classifications are based on behavior, discipline, work practices and job responsibility.
Alaska §33.20.010	1/3 off prison term for good conduct.								
Arizona §§41-1604.06 to .07	1 day per 6 served based on classifications created by DOC. *3 days per 7 served if conviction was for an enumerated drug crime, prisoner completed drug treatment, and prisoner has not previously been								Classifications to be based on work performance, rule compliance, education, training, treatment programs, and performance of any assignments of confidence or trust.



STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
	convicted of a violent or aggravated felony.								
Arkansas §12-29-201 et seq.	Up to 30 days per month served based on classification of prisoner.	*Up to 90 days for completion of GED	*Up to 90 days for completion of vocational certification	*Up to 90 days for completion of drug or alcohol treatment offered by DOC				*Up to 90 days for pre-release and other programs or assignments approved by Board.	Classifications based on discipline, behavior, job responsibilities, and involvement in rehabilitative activities. *Credit for these categories not to exceed 360 days.
California Penal Code §2933 et seq; §2935	6 months per 6 months served or a lesser amount of credit based on the same ratio. Regulations to be set by the Secretary of the Department of Corrections.	*See other	*See other	*See other		2 days per 1 day confined if assigned to a conservation camp or for working as an inmate firefighter or after completion of training for those either.	Up to 12 months for a heroic act in a life-threatening situation or for providing exceptional assistance in maintaining safety and security of a prison.	*1 – 6 weeks for completion of programming as determined by DOC, but shall include academic and vocational programs, and core programs such as anger management, social life skills, and substance abuse programs.	*Credit for these categories not to exceed 6 weeks over period of 12 months confinement.
Colorado §17-22.5-405	10 or 12 days per month served (depending on classification) based on proof of consistent progress in categories required by DOC.	*Up to 60 days per completion of program milestone or phase of an educational program.	*Up to 60 days per completion of program milestone or phase of a vocational program.	*Up to 60 days per completion of program milestone or phase of a therapeutic program.		1 day per 1 day of working at a disaster site.	*Up to 60 days per act of exceptional conduct.		DOC categories: work, group living, counseling, Colorado Diagnostic Program goals, complying with release conditions (if applicable), not harassing victim, and education/ literacy programs.



		EARNED TIME							
STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
									*Credit for these categories not to exceed 120 days.
Connecticut §18-98a et seq.; §18-7a	10 days per month (pro rata for any portion) for first 5 years of sentence, then 12 days per month (pro rata for any portion) for each subsequent year.				1 day per 7 consecutive days worked		Not more than 120 days (Correction's Commissioner discretion) for exceptional personal achievement, accomplishme nt, and other outstandingly meritorious performance.	Up to 5 days per month for accountability plan compliance, participation in eligible programs and good conduct.	
Delaware 11 Del.C. §4381	2 days per month for first year served and 3 days per month for subsequent years awarded for no violations and work toward rehabilitation.	Up to 5 days per month for participation in education programs.			Up to 5 days per month for participation in work programs.			Up to 5 days per month for participation in rehabilitation or other programs approved by DOC. Up to 60 days for completion of program designed to reduce recidivism	No more than 160 days "good time" in total may be earned in 365 days.
Florida §944.275 and §944.801	10 days per month served for each sentence imposed (pro rata for any portion) awarded for participation in training, working diligently, using time constructively, or other positive activities.	*Up to 6 days for 150 hours of participation in correctional education program; *60 days for completion of GED	-				Up to 60 days for an outstanding deed or service		*These categories are one-time awards.



STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
Georgia §42-5-101		See other			See other			Up to 1 day per 1 day of inmate participating in educational or other counseling program, satisfactorily completing work tasks, and good behavior	
Hawaii N/A									
Idaho §20-101D							Up to 15 days per month sentenced for extraordinary act of heroism or for outstanding service to the state of Idaho		
Illinois 730 ILCS 5/3- 6-3	1 day per 1 day, 4.5 days per month, or 7.5 days per month served depending on conviction.	*Good time multiplied by 1.5 for successful completion of educational program 90 days for completion of GED, 180 days for a bachelor's degree, and 180 days for a master's or professional degree		*Good time multiplied by 1.5 for successful completion of substance abuse or behavior modification program	*Good time multiplied by 1.5 for successful completion of correctional industry assignments			*Good time multiplied by 1.5 for successful completion of life skills program or reentry planning. Up to 180 days at Director's discretion for "good conduct"	*These multipliers are only available for those inmates receiving 1 day of credit per 1 day served.



		EARNED TIME							
STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
Indiana §35-50-6-3.1; §35-50-6-3.3	1 day per 1 day served, 1 day per 3 days served, or 1 day per 6 days served depending on classification of prisoner (Class A, B, and C respectively)	*6 months for GED, 1 year for high school diploma, up to 1 years for associates degree, and up to 2 years for bachelor's degree	*Up to 1 year for completion of career and technical or vocational education programs	*Up to 6 months for completion of a substance abuse program				*Up to 6 months for completion of a reformative program *Up to 6 months for completion of a literacy and basic life skills program	*Total credits in these categories not to exceed the lesser of 2 years or 1/3 of sentence
Iowa §903A.2	1 2/10 ^{ths} days per 1 day served or 15/85 ^{ths} of a day per 1 day served depending on category of inmate (Categories A and B respectively)						Up to 365 days for exemplary acts of Category A inmates		Good time issued for good conduct, although Category A inmates must also participate in certain programs
Kansas §21-6821	*Not more than 15% or 20% of prison term (percentage depending on type of crime and severity level)	See other	See other	See other				GED, technical or vocational	*Circumstances to qualify and amount allotted to be determined by secretary of corrections
Kentucky §197.045; §197.047	Up to 10 days per month served (based on conduct)	90 days per completion of GED, high school diploma, college degree, or approved postsecondary education diploma or degree	90 days per completion of vocational or technical education program	Up to 90 days per completion of a drug treatment program	**1 day per 40 hours worked in a governmental services program or for maintenance or operational services of a detention facility		*Up to 7 days per month for exceptionally meritorious service or duties of outstanding importance *Up to 7 days per month for acts of exceptional	Up to 90 days per completion of evidence-based program or any other approved promising practice or life skills program	*Awards given at discretion of commissioner **Credit given at discretion of DOC, however if given must be uniform and in this amount



		EARNED TIME							
STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
							service during emergency		
	30 days per 30 days, 3 days per 17 days, 13 days per 7 days, or 1 day per 3 days depending on type of conviction				180 days for participation in workforce development work release program	30 days per 30 days working on disaster remediation.			Good time earned through good behavior and self-improvement activities and/or work
Maine N/A									
	5 or 10 days per month or 5 days depending on conviction	See other	See other	See other	5 days per month for performing work tasks satisfactorily Also see other			5 days per month for satisfactory progress in or completion of courses/therapy in: vocation, education, workforce development, cognitive-behavior, substance abuse, life skills, or antiviolence Up to 20 days (or 10 depending on conviction) per month for special work projects or other special programs	Credits to be prorated for portions of the time served
Massachusetts 127 §129C and §129D	2 ½ days per month served in a prison camp		*7.5 or 5 days (depending on incarceration location) per month for participation in		*7.5 or 5 days (depending on incarceration location) per month for working at a			*7.5 or 5 days (depending on incarceration location) per month for other	*Total credits from these categories not to exceed 15 or 10 days (depending on incarceration location) per month
		or participating	participation in		state hospital,			programs	location) per month



STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
		in other educational course	a vocational program		state school, employed on work release, or in the prison industry.			Up to 10 days for at least 6 month completed program at designation of commissioner Up to 80 days for successful completion of a program or activity at discretion of commissioner	
Michigan N/A									
Minnesota N/A									
Mississippi §47-5-138; §47-5-138.1; §47-5-142	4.5 days per 30 days for compliance with good conduct and performance requirements.	*30 days per 30 days of participation in educational or instructional programs			*30 days per 30 days for participation in work projects			*30 days per 30 days of participation in special incentive program	*Requirement that offender have "trusty status"
Missouri §558.041		programs							DOC instructed to create credit policy
Montana N/A									
Nebraska §83-1,107	Six months per year served (pro rata for any portion)								
	Additional 3 days per 12 months without a Class I or II offense or more than 3 Class III offenses								



		EARNED TIME							
STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
Nevada §209.4465; §209.448; §209.449	20 days per month served with no serious infractions and performing duties assigned	60 days for GED, 90 days for HS diploma, 120 days for 1st associate degree and up to 90 days for additional degrees at Director's discretion	60 days for completion of vocational education or training or any other program approved by Director- up to 60 days more for exceptional achievement in completing program	Up to 60 days for completion of alcohol or other substance abuse treatment	See other	See other	Up to 90 days per year for exceptional meritorious service	Up to 10 days per month for diligence in "labor and study" At Director's discretion up to 10 days per month for participation in restitution center, reentry program, conservation camp, work release, or another program	At Governor's determination through executive order- up to 5 days per month may be deducted (must be uniformly applied to all offenders)
New Hampshire §651-A:22; §651-A:22-a	Up to 12.5 days per month	90 days for GED, 120 days for HS diploma, and 180 days each for Associate's, Bachelor's, Master's, and Doctorate Degrees	60 days for successful completion of authorized vocational program	60 days for meaningfully participating in recommended or mandated mental health and/or substance use treatment				60 days for a parent who meaningfully participates in programming offered by Family Connections	
New Jersey §30:4-92; §30:4-92a; §30:4-140	Time awarded increases with minimum and maximum sentencesee chart in §30:4-140	See other Commissioner may award extra time for achievements in education	See other Commissioner may award extra time for achievements in workforce training		For work in honor camps, farms or details: 3 days per month for first year, then 5 days per month			Up to 1 day for each 5 days of education, workforce skills, and vocational training	
New Mexico §33-2-34	Up to 4, 8 or 30 days per month dependent on type of crime and	*3 months for GED, 4 months for associate's degree, 5	See other	See other			*Some award amount (at discretion of director) for	*1 month for completion of vocational, substance abuse,	*Credit from these categories not to exceed more than 1 year per award, and



		EARNED TIME							
STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
	quality of participation in approved programs	months for bachelor's degree or graduate qualification					heroic act, extraordinary conduct for benefit of the state, or extraordinary conduct showing commitment to self- rehabilitation	or mental health program (3 months if prisoner demonstrates disability that prevents acquisition of GED)	awards totaled not to exceed 1-year credit for a 12- month period
New York Correction §803 - §805	*Up to 1/3 of sentence (depending on type of sentence) for good behavior and performance of duties assigned or progress in an assigned treatment program	See other	See other	See other	See other			*1/3, 1/6, or 1/7 of sentence (depending on type of sentence) for participation in the assigned work and treatment program and completion of one of the following: GED, alcohol/ substance abuse treatment, vocational trade certificate (with at least 6 months of programming), or at least 400 hours as part of community work crew	*Credits not to exceed 1/3, 1/6, or 1/7 in aggregate 6-month credit will be applied to end of prison term if all other good time was earned
North Carolina §148-13; §15A-1340.13; §15A-1340.18; §15A-1340.20									Statute instructs Secretary of Public Safety to adopt rules, rates, and circumstances



		EARNED TIME							
STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
									determining earned time allocation
North Dakota §12-54.1-01 et seq.							Some amount (approved by the Director) for heroic act, outstanding performance, or as a special control or security	for good performance. Criteria to include participation in recommended treatment and programs and	*2 days per month maximum if given for these reasons
Ohio §2967.193		month for participation in an education program	*1 or 5 days per month for participation in vocational training 90 days or 10% of sentence (whichever is lesser) for a technical vocational school program	*1 or 5 days per month for participation in substance abuse treatment 90 days or 10% of sentence (whichever is lesser) for a community drug program, and for all 3 phases of the department's outpatient drug treatment	*1 or 5 days per month for employment in prison industries 90 days or 10% of sentence (whichever is lesser) for meeting criteria for a certificate of achievement and employability		measure*	good work performance *1 or 5 days per month for participation in any other "constructive program"	*Prisoner may earn up to 5 days per month for a second program or activity— these credits cannot exceed 8% of sentence
Oklahoma §57-138; §57-138.1; §57-65	*0, 22, 33, 44, 45 or 60 credits per month depending on class level and criminal history	200 days for Bachelor's Degree, 100 days for Associate's Degree, 90 days for GED, 10-30 days for other	80 days for vocational certificate	70 days for alcohol/ chemical abuse treatment program (minimum of 4 months)				donated pint of blood in first 30 days, and 5 days	*See §57-138 for class stratifications



	EARNED TIME								
STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
		program not specified						housed in county jail)	
Oregon §421.121	Up to 20% of term of incarceration for good behavior and participation in basic skills development program								Credit may not be used to shorten actual confinement to less than 6 months
Pennsylvania N/A									
Rhode Island §42-56-24; §42-56-26	10 days per month for good behavior			5 days per month for participation in recommended programs, with up to 30 days for completion	industries		3 days per month (max of 36 days per year) for heroic acts, extraordinary ideas that benefit programs or the state, and/or high efficiency or performance in academic or vocational education program		Inmates serving time for murder, kidnapping a minor, sexual assault, or child molestation cannot earn good time.
South Carolina §24-13-210 to 235	3 or 20 days per month (depending on offense category) for good conduct	See other	See other		If in custody at local detention facility: up to 1 day per 2 days working a duty assignment and 1 day per 8 hours labor on public works or ways			*Up to 1 day per 2 days or 6 days per month (depending on offense category) for participation in an academic, technical, or vocational training program	*Max annual credit for this category is 180 days or 72 days (depending on offense category)



STATE	GOOD TIME	Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
South Dakota N/A									
Tennessee §41-21-236	Up to 8 days per month for good behavior	*60 days for completing one or more of the following: GED, 2 or 4-year college degree, 2 or 4-year applied sciences certification, and/or the vocational requirement	*60 days for completing a vocational education diploma and/or an educational requirement	60 days for at least 9 months substance use disorder treatment				Up to 8 days per month for satisfactory program performance	*Prisoners may receive this award only one time regardless of completion of more than one degree or requirement. Inmates can earn a total of up to 16 days per month.
Texas Gov. Code §498.002 - §498.003	10, 20, or up to 30 days per month depending on inmate's classification		See other	See other	See other			Up to 15 days per 30 days served for industrial, agricultural, educational, treatment, or vocational programs or other work programs	
Utah §77-27-5.4								4+ months each for up to 2 recommended and approved programs	Statute gives board discretion to grant additional earned time
Vermont 28 VSA §811 to §819	5 days per month for good behavior, no new convictions, and milestones met			1 day per day for substance use disorder treatment	Up to 30 days per month for time in work camp		Up to 30 days for an act of heroism at commissioner discretion		
Virginia §53.1-191;							Some amount at Board's discretion for	Up to 4.5 days per 30 days for participation in	



NCSL: Sentence Credits March 2020 Page 13

	GOOD TIME	EARNED TIME							
STATE		Education	Vocation	Treatment	Work	Disaster / Conservation	Meritorious	Other	NOTES
§53.1-202.2 et seq.							preventing an escape, blood donation to a prisoner, extraordinary service, or bodily injury	assigned programs	
Washington §9.94A.729	Up to 1/3 of total sentence for good behavior and performance.								Statute instructs correctional agency with jurisdiction to develop procedures to earn time. Good time cannot exceed 1/3 of total sentence. For some offenses, limit is 10% or 15%. *50% does not apply to inmates convicted after July 1, 2010.
West Virginia §15A-4-17	1 day per 1 day			See other			Some amount (approved by commissioner) for exceptional work or service		arcer early 2, 2020.
Wisconsin N/A									
Wyoming §7-13-420									Statute instructs governor to create policy for good time allowances

NCSL Criminal Justice Program

Denver, Colorado

Ph.: (303) 364-7700 || E-mail: cj-info@ncsl.org

Statutes and bills may be edited or summarized; full text can be retrieved from NCSL's State Legislative Directory