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Brief*

HB 2595 would amend law regarding titling procedures for certain antique vehicles.

The bill would change, from prior to 1950 to 60 years old or older, the vehicle model years 
for which a bill of sale would be accepted as prima facie evidence that the applicant is the owner 
of the vehicle, if the bill of sale is submitted with a completed application for certificate of title. 
Continuing law requires the application be made on a form furnished by the Division of Vehicles, 
Kansas Department of Revenue, and that a certificate of title for the vehicle be issued when 
those requirements are met.

The bill also would change a requirement for vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection 
by the Kansas Highway Patrol (KHP) before a certificate of title for an antique vehicle can be 
issued  if  the  application  and  bill  of  sale  are  used  as  proof  of  ownership,  to  require  such 
inspection on any vehicle having a model year newer than 60 years rather than model year of 
1950 or later.

The bill would make technical changes. 

Conference Committee Action

The Conference Committee agreed to the contents of HB 2595 as amended by the Senate 
Committee on Transportation with these changes: from 50 years or older to 60 years or older 
the model year for which a bill of sale would be accepted as prima facie evidence of ownership, 
and from newer than 50 years old to newer than 60 years old the model years for which VIN 
inspection would be required.

Background

The bill  was  introduced  by  the  House  Committee  on Transportation  at  the  request  of 
Representative Proehl.

____________________
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House Committee on Transportation

In the House Committee hearing, written-only opponent testimony was received from the 
Superintendent  of  the  KHP.  The  Superintendent  expressed  concerns  that  changing  the 
inspection requirement would increase the possibility that acts of fraud or theft for this type of 
vehicle would go undetected. 

No other testimony was provided.

Senate Committee on Transportation

In the Senate Committee hearing, written-only opponent testimony was received from the 
Superintendent of the KHP. No other testimony was provided.

The Senate Committee amended the bill to authorize an application with a bill of sale to be 
accepted as evidence of ownership for an antique vehicle of a model year 50 years old or older, 
rather than a model year prior to 1950, and to change the requirement for a VIN inspection to 
being required for an antique vehicle newer than 50 years rather than for model year 1950 or 
later. [Note: The Conference Committee changed the qualifying model year as described above, 
using a threshold of 60 years rather than 50 years for the requirements.]

KSA 2021 Supp. 8-166 defines an antique vehicle for these purposes as a vehicle more 
than 35 years old, regardless of the age or type of the components or equipment installed on 
the vehicle.

Fiscal Information

According  to  the  fiscal  note  prepared  by  the  Division  of  the  Budget  on  the  bill  as 
introduced, the Kansas Department of Revenue estimates enactment of the bill would increase 
its expenditures by $960 for costs related to training and for updates to manuals and forms. Any 
fiscal effect associated with enactment of the bill is not reflected in  The FY 2023 Governor’s 
Budget Report.
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