Adam Proffitt, Director



Phone: (785) 296-2436 adam.c.proffitt@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

March 21, 2022

The Honorable Kellie Warren, Chairperson Senate Committee on Judiciary Statehouse, Room 346-S Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Senator Warren:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for SB 533 by Senate Committee on Federal and State Affairs

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning SB 533 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

SB 533 would amend the Kansas Uniform Commercial Drivers' License Act by prohibiting a prosecuting attorney from masking or defer imposition of judgment or allowing an individual to enter into a diversion program that would prevent a commercial learner's permit or commercial driver's license holder's conviction from appearing on the CDLIS driver record of any violation of a state or local traffic control law that occurred in any type of motor vehicle. These provisions would apply regardless of whether the driver was convicted for an offense committed in the state where the driver is licensed or in any another state. The bill would clarify that these provisions would not apply to parking, vehicle weight, or vehicle defect violations. The bill also would include technical amendments to current law.

The Kansas Department of Revenue indicates the enactment of SB 533 would have no fiscal effect on revenues or expenditures. The Office of the Judicial Administration indicates any fiscal effect on the Judicial Branch from the enactment of the bill would be negligible. The Kansas Association of Counties (KAC) indicates SB 533 could increase expenditures for counties from prosecuting and negotiating plea deal options for these cases. KAC indicates the bill could also increase revenue to counties from fees collected for these offenses. However, fiscal effect cannot be determined. Any fiscal effect associated with SB 533 is not reflected in *The FY 2023 Governor's Budget Report*.

Sincerely,

- (.-- * \$

Adam Proffitt Director of the Budget

cc: Vicki Jacobsen, Judiciary Lynn Robinson, Department of Revenue Wendi Stark, League of Municipalities Jay Hall, Association of Counties