## **Driver's License Changes; SB 127**

**SB 127** amends laws related to renewal of driver's licenses and certain provisions applicable when a driver's license has been suspended for failure to comply with a traffic citation. The bill is in effect upon publication in the *Kansas Register*.

## Driver's License Renewal

**Online renewal.** The bill adds a commercial driver's license (CDL) to the driver's licenses that could be renewed online, except if the CDL has a hazardous materials endorsement. The bill requires any person seeking to renew a CDL to provide the Division of Vehicles (Division), Kansas Department of Revenue, with a valid medical examiner's certificate and proof of the completion of the truckers against trafficking training (training in human trafficking identification and prevention, required by KSA 2020 Supp. 8-2,157) prior to the Division renewing the CDL.

The bill extends the maximum age for online application for renewal of a driver's license from less than age 50 to less than age 65.

**Electronic notification.** The bill authorizes the Division to send a notice of driver's license expiration or renewal application electronically if authorized by the person at an email address provided to the Division.

**Extended renewal period.** The bill states a licensee whose driver's license or nondriver's identification card expired after March 12, 2020, and before March 31, 2021, has until June 30, 2021, to renew such license or identification card.

## Provisions Related to Driving Privileges after Failure to Comply with a Traffic Citation

**License suspension time period.** The bill amends, in a statute requiring suspension of a driver's license for driving when the person's driving privileges are canceled, suspended, or revoked, a provision requiring the Division to extend a period of suspension or revocation an additional 90 days, to state the suspension or revocation shall not be extended for any additional time if the person's license was suspended for failure to comply with a traffic citation.

**Eligibility and application for restricted driving privileges.** Concerning eligibility for restricted driving privileges for a person whose driver's license expired while the license was suspended for failure to pay fines for traffic citations, the bill removes the requirement that the person has not previously received a stayed suspension as a result of a driving while suspended conviction.

The bill removes a nonrefundable \$25 fee that current law requires to be submitted to the Division by an applicant for restricted driving privileges in lieu of suspension of driving privileges for failure to comply with a traffic citation.

**Reinstatement fee.** The bill makes a technical amendment to the period during which the Supreme Court is authorized to impose an additional charge per reinstatement fee.

Continuing law requires a court to assess a \$100 reinstatement fee when the court notifies the Division of failure to comply with a traffic citation.

**Waiving a fine or court costs.** The bill allows a person assessed a fine or court costs for a traffic citation to petition the court to waive all or a portion of the costs. The bill authorizes the court to waive or modify payments upon determining that paying the amount due would impose manifest hardship on the person or their immediate family.