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Brief*

Sub.  for  HB  2119  would  make  appropriations  for  the 
Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) for FY 2021, 
FY 2022, and FY 2023; create the Student Empowerment Act 
program; require in-person instruction of students and allow 
for only 240 remote learning hours in a school year; charge 
school  districts  to  use  needs-assessment  to  ensure 
improvement  in  student  academic  achievement;  provide  a 
different  calculation  for  school  finance  related  to  remote 
learning;  reauthorize  the  20-mill  tax  property  levy  and  the 
exemption of a portion of resident property from that levy; and 
expand the Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship 
program.

The bill would also make technical changes.

The  bill  would  be  in  effect  upon  publication  in  the 
Kansas Register.

Appropriations for FY 2021, FY 2022, and FY 2023

FY 2021 (Section 1)

The  bill  would  modify  the  State  General  Fund  (SGF) 
appropriation, in FY 2021, for KSDE. The bill would authorize 
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the following be lapsed from moneys appropriated from the 
SGF in FY 2021:

● $2.0  million  for  the  Kansas  Public  Employees 
Retirement  System  (KPERS)  non-Unified  School 
Districts (USDs) ;

● $6.9 million for the KPERS-USDs;

● $1.2  million  for  the  Mental  Health  Intervention 
Team (MHIT) Pilot Program;

● Any  unencumbered  balance  in  the  Education 
Super Highway Account;

● $782,064 for the School District Juvenile Detention 
Facilities and Flint Hills Job Corps Center Grants;

● $140,755 for the Governor’s Teaching Excellence 
Scholarships and Awards; and

● $18.9 million for State Foundation Aid.

The bill would further recommend that a bonus of $500 
be  provided  to  classroom  teachers  from  federal  moneys 
received under federal COVID-19-related legislation. The bill 
would define “classroom teacher”  as any person holding a 
certificate to teach who is under a full-time contract to teach, 
or who is under a contract to teach full-time but who does so 
via a licensure waiver. “Classroom teacher” would not include 
any superintendent,  assistant superintendent, supervisor, or 
principal  employed  under  the  school  district  board  of 
education  powers  and  duties,  student  teachers, 
paraprofessionals,  and  any  other  person  employed  by  a 
board of education.

FY 2022 (Section 2)

The  bill  would  appropriate  $5.8  billion,  including  $4.2 
billion SGF, for FY 2022 for KSDE. This would include $5.2 
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billion, including $4.1 billion SGF, for the major categories of 
school  finance and KPERS-USDs and KPERS-non-USDs . 
Appropriations from the SGF include the following:

● $14.1 million for operating expenditures;

● $41.9 million for KPERS-non-USDs;

● $538.0 million for KPERS-USDs;

● $25.8 million for KPERS layering payments;

● $2.8  million  for  the  ACT  and  WorkKeys 
Assessments Program;

● $7.5 million for the MHIT Pilot Program;

● $67,700  for  the  Education  Commission  of  the 
States dues;

● $10,000 for the School Safety Hotline;

● $5.1  million  for  the  School  District  Juvenile 
Detention  Facilities  and  Flint  Hills  Job  Corps 
Center Grants;

● $2.5 million for School Food Assistance;

● $1.3 million for the Mentor Teacher Program;

● $110,000  for  Educable  Deaf-blind  and  Severely 
Handicapped Children’s Programs Aid;

● $512.8 million for Special Education Services Aid; 
and

● $2.4 million for Supplemental State Aid.

The bill would also appropriate funding from several no 
limit special revenue funds, including federal funds and fee 
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funds.  The  bill  would  appropriate  the  following  from  the 
Children’s Initiatives Fund (CIF):

● $375,000  from  the  Children’s  Cabinet 
Accountability Fund;

● $18.1 million for CIF Grants;

● $500,000 for Quality Initiative Infants and Toddlers;

● $50,000  for  Early  Childhood  Block  Grant  Autism 
Diagnosis;

● $8.4 million for the Parent Education Program, also 
known as Parents as Teachers;

● $1.0  million  for  Communities  Aligned  in  Early 
Development and Education; and

● $4.2 million the Pre-K Pilot Program.

The bill would also provide for the following transfers:

● $550,000 on March 30, 2022, and June 30, 2022, 
from  the  State  Safety  Fund  to  the  SGF  to 
reimburse costs associated with services provided 
by other state agencies on behalf of KSDE;

● $73,750, quarterly, from the State Highway Fund of 
the  Department  of  Transportation  to  the  School 
Bus Safety Fund of KSDE;

● An  amount  certified  by  the  Commissioner  of 
Education  from  the  Motorcycle  Safety  Fund  of 
KSDE to the Motorcycle Safety Fund of the Kansas 
Board of Regents, to cover costs of driver’s license 
programs conducted by community colleges; and

● $70,000 from the Universal Service Administrative 
Company E-rate program federal  fund in  Kansas 

4- 2119



Board  of  Regents  to  the  Education  Technology 
Coordinator Fund of KSDE.

The bill  would  appropriate $260,535 from the Kansas 
Endowment  for  Youth  Fund  for  the  Children’s  Cabinet 
administration.

The bill would also allow the Commissioner of Education 
to  transfer  any  part  of  an  appropriation  from  the  SGF  to 
another SGF appropriation in KSDE.

The  bill  would  appropriate  $41.1  million  from  the 
Expanded Lottery Act Revenues Fund for KPERS-non-USDs. 

The  bill  would  lapse  $3.3  million  of  the  $2.4  billion 
appropriated from the SGF for State Foundation Aid for FY 
2022.

The bill would also direct KSDE to expend $5.0 million 
for  School  Safety  and  Security  Grants,  $3.9  million  for 
expanding  the  MHIT Pilot  Program,  and  $100,000  for  the 
Communities  in  Schools  program,  all  from  federal  funds 
received  from  federal  COVID-19-related  legislation,  unless 
the program would not qualify for the federal funds. 

The bill would also direct KSDE to expend moneys from 
federal  funds  received  from  federal  COVID-19-related 
legislation,  unless  the  program  would  not  qualify  for  the 
federal  funds,  and  then  from  within  existing  resources,  to 
implement Phase 3 of the Language Assessment Program in 
the Kansas State School for the Deaf.

FY 2023 (Section 3)

The bill  would appropriate from the SGF for  FY 2023 
$2.5 billion for  State Foundation Aid and $534.1 million for 
Supplemental  State  Aid.  The  bill  would  also  authorize 
expenditures from the State School District Finance Fund and 
the Mineral Production Education Fund.
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Student Empowerment Act (Sections 4 to Section 20 , 29, 
and Section 32)

The bill  would designate sections 4 through 20 as the 
Student Empowerment Act.

Purpose (Section 5)

The  bill  would  state  the  purpose  of  the  bill  is  to 
acknowledge  that  each  student  has  unique  educational, 
social, emotional, and environmental needs and that for each 
student  to  become  a  productive  member  of  society  that 
diversity  must  be  supported  through  different  educational 
approaches.  The bill  would  further  invite  parents to  act  on 
behalf  of  their  child when determining the best educational 
approach. The bill would specify that this section take effect 
beginning July 1, 2021.

Definitions (Section 6) 

The bill would define terms, including the following:

● “BASE aid” would mean the base aid for student 
excellence  defined  in  the  Kansas  School  Equity 
and Enhancement Act (KSEEA), and amendments, 
for the immediately preceding school year;

● “Eligible  student”  would  mean a Kansas resident 
who  has  not  graduated  from  high  school  or 
obtained  a  general  educational  development 
credential and who, on or after July 1, 2022:

○ Is enrolled in any school of  a school district 
and qualifies for free or reduced-priced meals 
under the National School Lunch Act;

○ Has  been  identified  by  the  resident  school 
district  as  eligible  to  receive  at-risk 
educational services because of below-grade-
level performance in English language arts or 
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mathematics, a high rate of absenteeism, or 
any  other  reason  specified  by  the  school 
district; or

○ Has  a  Student  Empowerment  Account 
established pursuant to the bill;

● “Parent”  would  mean  a  parent,  legal  guardian, 
custodian, or other person with authority to act on 
behalf of an eligible student;

● “Qualified  private  school”  would  mean  any 
accredited private school or nonaccredited private 
school that provides specified instruction required 
in  current  law  and  is  approved  by  the  State 
Treasurer (Treasurer) according to provisions in the 
bill. A qualified private school would not mean any 
nonaccredited private home school or home school 
organization, community, consortium, or group; and

● “Resident  school  district”  would  mean the school 
district in which the student is currently or would be 
enrolled based on the student’s residence.

The  bill  would  also  define  the  terms  “account,” 
“postsecondary  educational  institution,”  “program,”  and 
“Treasurer.”

The  bill  would  specify  that  this  section  take  effect 
beginning July 1, 2021.

Establishment (Section 7) 

The  bill  would  establish  the  Treasurer  as  the 
administrator  of  the  Student  Empowerment  Program 
(Program) beginning July 1, 2022. The bill would require the 
Treasurer  to  maintain  a description  of  the Program on the 
State Treasurer website and provide, upon request,  a hard 
copy of: 

● Options for participation in the Program;
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● Allowable uses of the funds; 

● Responsibilities of students and parents; 

● The effects of an Individualized Education Program 
(IEP) on eligible students in the Program;

● Duties of the Treasurer;

● The appeals process; 

● The  contact  information  for  the  Treasurer’s 
employee  who  can  answer  questions  about  the 
Program; and 

● A list of qualified schools. 

The  bill  would  specify  that  this  section  take  effect 
beginning July 1, 2021.

Notification of Eligibility (Section 8) 

The  bill  would  establish  that,  when  a  student  in  a 
resident  school  district  becomes eligible,  the school  district 
must notify the parent of the student. That notification must 
include:

● The basis of the student’s eligibility; 

● A  copy  of  the  student’s  results  from  the  most 
recently administered state assessment for English 
language  arts  and  state  assessment  for 
mathematics; and 

● The name and  telephone  number  for  the  school 
district  employee,  Department  of  Education 
employee,  and  the  Treasurer’s  office  employee 
who can be contacted regarding the Program. 
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The bill would require notification to also include either a 
written description of the Program, including the information 
that  must  be  published  on  the  Treasurer’s  website  or  the 
website  address  for  the  Treasurer’s  website  where  such 
information can be found. Notice must be provided annually 
so long as the student remains enrolled in the school district 
and remains eligible for the Program.

The bill would specify that this section would take effect 
beginning July 1, 2022.

Written Agreement (Section 9) 

The bill would require a written agreement between the 
parent of an eligible student and the Treasurer for the student 
to participate in the Program. If a parent has more than one 
eligible  student,  the  bill  would  require  a  separate  written 
agreement for each student.

The written agreement would be terminated on July 31 
immediately after the agreement is effective if the parent fails 
to  consent  to  renewal,  or  if  the  Treasurer  determines  the 
money was not used for an allowable purpose, the student is 
no longer eligible, or the student no longer participates in the 
Program. The parent may end the agreement at any time. 

When a  written agreement  is  terminated,  the account 
would become inactive.

The  Treasurer  would  be  authorized  to  terminate  a 
written  agreement  when  one  of  the  following  has  been 
determined:

● Moneys  in  the  account  have  been  used  for 
ineligible purposes;

● The  student  no  longer  qualifies  as  an  eligible 
student; or
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● The eligible  student  no longer  participates in  the 
programs in accordance with the program.

The bill would allow the parent to terminate the written 
agreement at any time as long as they notify the Treasurer 
with a written letter of termination.

The bill would specify that this section would take effect 
beginning July 1, 2022.

Student Empowerment Fund (Section 10)

The bill  would create the Student Empowerment Fund 
(Fund). The bill  would require the Director of Accounts and 
Reports to establish a process for eligible students to have 
individual  accounts  within  the  Fund  that  will  earn  interest 
based on the average daily balance and the net earnings rate 
of  the pooled money investment portfolio for the preceding 
month.  The bill  would require the amount  of  interest  to be 
added monthly to each student’s account. 

When  an  account  is  created  within  the  Fund,  the 
Treasurer would be required to notify the student’s resident 
school district of its creation.

If  an  eligible  student  is  enrolled  in  a  qualified  private 
school,  the  Treasurer  would  be  required  to  transfer  the 
aggregate  annual  amount  equal  to  the  BASE aid  into  the 
student’s account or, if the student is still enrolled part-time in 
the resident school district, the amount of BASE aid inversely 
proportional to the amount of time the student is enrolled in 
the resident school district.

The Treasurer would be allowed to deduct a percentage 
of  the  transfer  for  administrative  costs.  The  bill  would 
authorize up to 5.0 percent each year for the first two years 
and 2.5 percent each year thereafter. 
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The  bill  would  also  state  that  accounts  are  to  be 
considered active unless:

● A written agreement is terminated;

● The date is July 31 following the graduation of the 
student from high school; or

● There  have  been  two  consecutive  years  of 
nonrenewal of agreement.

The  Treasurer  would  be  authorized  to  close  any 
accounts determined to be inactive and the money remaining 
in  the  accounts  would  remain  in  the  Fund.  The  Treasurer 
would be required to contract out the system by which the 
funds will be distributed to parents.

The bill would specify that this section would take effect 
beginning July 1, 2022.

Student Participation (Section 11)

The  bill  would  state  that  eligible  students  would 
participate  in  the  Program by  receiving  additional  services 
under the Program while still enrolled in their resident school 
district part-time or by enrolling in a qualified private school. 
The  parent  of  the  eligible  student  would  report  to  the 
Treasurer if the student is still enrolled in the resident school 
district, and, if so, the number of hours the student attended.

The bill would specify that this section would take effect 
beginning July 1, 2022.

Amount Transferred (Section 12) 

The bill  would  require  the  Treasurer  to  determine the 
amount to be transferred to the Fund on or before August 1 of 
each year. The amount transferred would be the BASE aid 
multiplied  by  the  number  of  eligible  students  enrolled  in 
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qualified  schools  and  the  total  amount  of  the  inverse 
proportion of the BASE aid for those students enrolled part-
time in the resident school district. The bill would require the 
Treasurer to certify that amount and the Director of Accounts 
and  Reports  would  transfer  that  certified  amount  from the 
State General Fund to the Fund.

The bill would specify that this section would take effect 
beginning July 1, 2022.

Allowable Uses of Money (Section 13)

The bill would allow moneys in each student’s account 
of the Fund to be expended only for:

● Tuition and fees charged by qualified schools;

● Textbooks  and  supplies  required  by  qualified 
schools;

● Costs for transporting students to qualified schools, 
if the qualified school provides transportation;

● Educational  therapies  or  services  provided  by  a 
licensed or accredited education provider; 

● Tutoring provided by a certified tutor;

● Curriculum materials; 

● Tuition  or  fees  charged  by  an accredited  private 
online learning program;

● Fees  for  any  nationally  standardized  norm-
referenced achievement test, advanced placement 
examination,  or  other  examination  related  to 
admission  to  a  postsecondary  educational 
institution;
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● Classes, services, programs, activities, classes, or 
any  other  resources  or  programs  provided  or 
contracted by a school district;

● Tuition  and  fees  charged  by  a  postsecondary 
educational institution; and

● Any  other  education  expenses  approved  by  the 
Treasurer. 

The bill would require the Treasurer to notify the parent if 
non-allowable expenditures are made and the parent would 
have 30 days  from that  notification  to repay the cost.  The 
money remaining in the account at the end of the school year 
would shift into the next year. 

If  a  qualified  private  school  provides  educational 
services,  the  funds  would  be  reimbursed  directly  into  the 
student’s account. No personal deposits would be allowed to 
be made into an account.

The  bill  would  require  the  Treasurer  to  conduct,  or 
contract  for,  an  annual  audit  of  the  accounts  to  ensure 
compliance with this act. If the Treasurer determines money 
in an account has been used for non-allowable purposes, the 
Treasurer would be authorized to prohibit expenditures from 
the  account,  prorate  the  deposit  into  that  account  by  the 
amount  used  for  non-allowable  purposes,  or  terminate  the 
account. 

The bill would specify that this section would take effect 
beginning July 1, 2022.

State Board of Education (Section 14) 

The bill  would require the Treasurer to provide to the 
Kansas State Board of Education (State Board), on or before 
August 1, 2023, and every year thereafter: 
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● The  names  of  students  participating  in  the 
Program; 

● The  resident  school  districts  with  participating 
students; and 

● The  qualified  private  schools  where  each 
participating  student  is  enrolled  in  the  current 
school year.

On  or  before  September  1,  2022,  and  each  year 
thereafter,  the  State  Board  would  determine  the  adjusted 
weightings funding amount for the Director of Accounts and 
Reports  to  transfer  to  the  Fund.  This  amount  would  be 
determined for any participating student who has participated 
for  less  than  three  years  and  is  the  amount  of  the  state 
foundation  aid  for  the  student’s  last  year  enrolled  in  the 
resident  school  district  attributable  to  the  low  enrollment 
weighting, high enrollment weighting, bilingual weighting, at-
risk  student  weighting,  and  career  technical  education 
weighting. The aggregate of those amounts for each resident 
school  district  totaled  would  be  the  adjusted  weightings 
funding amount.

The bill would specify that this section would take effect 
beginning July 1, 2022.

School Approval and Revocation (Section 15) 

The bill would require that, to become a qualified private 
school  under  the  Program,  a  school  must  submit  to  the 
Treasurer  an  application  of  the  Treasurer’s  making.  The 
application  must  include  proof  that  the  applicant  is  an 
accredited  or  nonaccredited  private  school.  The  Treasurer 
must  then  accept  the  application,  ask  for  additional 
information,  or  deny  the  application  within  45  days  of  the 
application’s receipt.

The bill would require the Treasurer to audit a qualified 
private  school,  randomly  selected,  each  year  to  ensure 
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compliance.  If  the  Treasurer  determines a qualified  private 
school has routinely failed to comply with the provisions of the 
Act  or  applicable rules and regulations or  failed to  provide 
educational  services  to  an  eligible  student  receiving 
instruction  from  the  school,  if  the  school  is  accepting 
payments  from  the  student’s  account,  the  Treasurer  may 
revoke approval.

Prior to revocation, the Treasurer would be required to 
notify the school and allow 30 days for the school to cure the 
defect. If a school’s approval has been revoked, the school 
may  not  participate  in  the  Program  until  the  Treasurer 
determines the school  is  in  compliance with the act.  Upon 
revocation of a school’s approval, the Treasurer must notify 
the parent of a participating student receiving instruction from 
the school. If a school’s approval was revoked due to misuse 
of  moneys from the account,  the Treasurer  may notify  the 
Attorney  General  or  the  county  or  district  attorney  of  the 
county where the school is located. 

The bill would specify that this section would take effect 
beginning July 1, 2022.

Parental Placement (Section 16) 

The bill would consider enrollment in a qualified private 
school  as parental  placement under  the federal  Individuals 
with Disabilities Education Act. The bill would specify that this 
section would take effect beginning July 1, 2022.

Report to the State Board (Section 17) 

The  bill  would  require  the  Treasurer  to  report  to  the 
State  Board  on  the  Program  on  or  before  December  31, 
2022, and each December 31 thereafter, including the:

● Number of students participating in the Program;
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● Number  of  participating  students  enrolled  on  a 
part-time basis in a school district and the average 
number  of  hours  such  students  attended  public 
school;

● Number  of  participating  students  enrolled  in  a 
qualified private school;

● Number of qualified private schools;

● Results of any audits the Treasurer conducted or 
contracted for; and

● Total cost to administer the Program.

The State Board would present the information included 
in that report, along with the state foundation aid adjustments, 
in  a  report  to  the  Governor  and  Legislature  on  or  before 
January 15, 2023, and every January 15 thereafter.

The bill would specify that this section would take effect 
beginning July 1, 2022.

Rules and Regulations (Sections 18-20)

The bill  would  subject  the  Treasurer’s  actions  for  the 
Program to the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act and be 
deemed reviewable under the Kansas Judicial Review Act. 

The bill would require the Treasurer to adopt rules and 
regulation to carry out the Act on or before January 1, 2022. 

The bill would state it should not be deemed to limit the 
autonomy of the qualified private school or deem the actions 
of a qualified private school those of state government. 

The bill  would  specify  that  the  sections  regarding the 
review of the Treasurer’s actions and the autonomy of private 
schools would take effect beginning July 1, 2022.
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State Foundation Aid Adjustment Per the Student 
Empowerment Act (Section 29)

The bill  would  amend the  KSEEA to reflect  the State 
Board’s determination of State Foundation Aid beginning in 
FY  2023  to  include  subtracting  the  adjusted  weightings 
amount calculated under the Student Empowerment Act from 
the State Foundation Aid amount  each school  district  shall 
receive in the year. 

Student Empowerment Act Tax Implications (Section 34)

The bill  would  amend a  statute  to  allow the amounts 
deposited in a student empowerment account by a taxpayer 
to be subtracted from the federal adjusted gross income for 
taxable years beginning after December 31, 2021.

Remote Learning Calculation (New Section 21)

The  bill  would  amend  KSEEA  to  include  remotely 
enrolled state aid.

The bill  would define “remotely enrolled student”  as a 
student enrolled in a school district in the current school year, 
if  the  student  attended  school  full-time  through  remote 
learning:

● During a declared state of disaster emergency for 
more than a total of 240 school term hours during 
the  school  year,  regardless  of  the  length  of  the 
declared state of disaster emergency; or

● For  more  than  a  total  of  40  school  term  hours 
during the school year if no such state of disaster 
emergency is declared.

The bill  would  state that  when calculating  a student’s 
total school term hours, the school term hours for each day 
instruction is provided via remote learning would be counted.
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The bill would require that each school district that offers 
remote learning, on or before June 30 of each school year, to 
determine the remote enrollment of the district based on the 
number  of  remotely  enrolled  students  and  for  the  clerk  or 
superintendent  of  that  school  district  to certify to  the State 
Board a report showing remote enrollment by the grades of 
the schools in that school district.

The  bill  would  require  the  State  Board  determine  the 
number  of  remotely  enrolled  students  by  school  district, 
provide remote enrollment state aid of $5,000 per remotely 
enrolled student, and notify each school district of the amount 
of  remote  enrollment  state  aid.  The  bill  would  not  provide 
remote enrollment state aid for students enrolled part-time in 
remote learning during the school  day.  The bill  would also 
require the State Board to require each such school district 
return  any  payment  over  $5,000  (an  overpayment)  in  the 
current school year for such students, or to deduct the excess 
amounts over $5,000 to be paid to the school district  from 
future payments to be made to the school district.

The bill would specify that a remotely enrolled student is 
not included in the adjusted enrollment of the school district 
for the current school year.

The  bill  would  require  each  school  district  that 
determines remote enrollment for the purposes of this section 
submit  any  requested  documentation  or  information  to  the 
State Board.

The  bill  would  specify  that  this  section  take  effect 
beginning July 1, 2021.

Using Needs-Assessment in Budget Process (New 
Section 22)

The  bill  would  amend  law  that  requires  the  board  of 
education of each school district to conduct an assessment of 
the  educational  needs  of  each  school  in  the  district  and 
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requires  the information  from the needs assessment  to  be 
used  when  preparing  the  school  district’s  budget.  The  bill 
would  require  the  information  obtained  from  the  needs 
assessments to be used to ensure improvement in student 
academic  performance.  The  bill  also  would  require  school 
district  budgets  to  allocate  sufficient  moneys  in  a  manner 
reasonably  calculated  to  ensure  all  students  achieve  the 
“Rose capacities,” which are codified in KSA 72-3218(c).

Requiring In-Person Instruction (Section 23 and 24)

School Days and School Hours Definitions (Section 23)

The bill  would amend KSA 72-3115, relating to school 
attendance, to limit the days of the school term as only those 
during which each student  enrolled in  the school  district  is 
allowed to physically attend school in person on a full-time 
basis. Further, the bill would limit school hours to include only 
those hours  in  which  a school  district  allows each student 
enrolled in the school district to physically attend in person on 
a full-time basis.

The bill would create an exception to the hours and days 
requirements  set  in  school  attendance  law.  This  exception 
would allow a school board to provide for 40 days or less of 
school using remote learning or 240 hours or less of remote 
learning, if the State Board authorizes that exception. The bill 
would allow the State Board to authorize this days and hours 
exception if:

● The school  district  certifies  that,  due  to  disaster, 
property  damage caused  by  a  disaster,  or  other 
conditions, the operation of public schools will  be 
restricted for an inordinate period of time; and

● The State Board determines that the school district 
cannot  reasonably  adjust  the  school  schedule  to 
comply with the days and hours requirements set 
forth in law unless remote learning is conducted, 
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not  to  exceed  the  limitation  of  40  days  or  240 
hours.

The bill would not allow the State Board to waive the in-
person requirements.

The bill would create the following definitions:

● “Disaster” would mean:

○ A state of disaster declared by the Governor 
pursuant  to  the  Kansas  Emergency 
Management Act;

○ Closure of  a school ordered by a county or 
joint  Board  of  Health,  local  health  officer 
under Chy J. Miller’s law, or the Secretary of 
Health and Environment under Chy J. Miller’s 
law; or

○ Occurrence  of  any  widespread  or  severe 
damage,  injury,  or  loss  of  life  or  property 
resulting  from natural  or  man-made causes; 
and

● “Remote  learning”  would  mean  a  method  of 
providing education in which a student is regularly 
enrolled  in  a  school  district,  does  not  physically 
attend  the  attendance  center  where  the  student 
would  otherwise  attend  in  person  on  a  full-time 
basis,  and  the  instruction  is  prepared,  provided, 
and  supervised  by  teachers  and  staff  of  such 
school district to replace the instruction that would 
have occurred in the attendance center classroom.

Waiver of School Term Duration (Section 24)

The bill  would amend the definition of disaster in KSA 
72-3117, which defines when a State Board may waive the 
school  term  duration.  “Disaster”  would  mean  only  the 
occurrence of widespread or severe damage, injury, or loss of 
life or property from natural or man-made causes. 
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Tax Credit for Low Income Students Scholarship 
Program (Sections 25 and 26)

The bill  would expand the Tax Credit  for  Low Income 
Students  Scholarship  Program  (Program)  by  amending 
Program provisions relating to student eligibility requirements, 
school eligibility requirements, and reporting requirements. 

Student Eligibility for the Tax Credit for Low Income Students 
Scholarship Program (Section 25)

The bill  would amend the Program to expand student 
eligibility in two ways. 

First,  the  bill  would  amend  the  definition  of  “eligible 
student”  to  include  students  who  are  eligible  for  free  or 
reduced-priced  meals  under  the  National  School  Lunch 
Program.  Current  law  limits  eligibility  to  students  who  are 
eligible for free meals. Continuing law requires the student to 
also reside in Kansas and be enrolled in a public school or 
eligible to enroll in a public school.

Second,  the bill  would amend the definition of  “public 
school” to be any school operated by a unified school district 
in Kansas. Current law defining public school limits eligibility 
to  those students  enrolled  or  eligible  to  be enrolled  in  the 
lowest  100 performing elementary schools,  as identified by 
the State Board.

Accountability Reports (Section 32)

The  bill  would  require  KSDE  to  prepare  one-page 
accountability reports for all accredited nonpublic schools in 
the  state.  The  bill  would  also  require  KSDE  to  include 
accredited nonpublic schools in the longitudinal achievement 
report submitted to the Governor and Legislature each year.
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Publication of Accountability Reports (Section 26)

The  bill  would  require  the  websites  of  accredited 
nonpublic schools participating in the Program to include a 
prominent  link  to  KSDE’s  website  where  the  one-page 
accountability reports are published. 

Technical Amendments

The bill would also make technical amendments to and 
retain two provisions in current law. The first provision allows 
any student who has previously received a scholarship under 
the Program and has not graduated high school or is not 21 
years old to remain eligible for the Program.

The  second  provision  includes  in  the  definition  of 
qualified  school  that  the  school  is  accredited  by  the  State 
Board  or  a  national  or  regional  accrediting  agency  that  is 
recognized by the State Board for the purpose of satisfying 
the  teaching  performance  assessment  for  professional 
licensure.

Kansas School Finance (Sections 27-28)

Citation (Section 27)

The bill would amend the KSEEA to include Section 21 
of  the  bill,  which  relates  to  the  calculation  of  remote 
enrollment state aid.

Definitions (Section 28)

The  bill  would  amend  the  definitions  of  “adjusted 
enrollment” and “enrollment” to exclude remote enrollment as 
determined under Section 21 of the bill. 

The bill  would define “remote enrollment” and “remote 
learning” as follows:
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● “Remote  enrollment”  would  mean  the  number  of 
students regularly enrolled in a school district who 
attended school  via remote learning in excess of 
40 school days or 240 school term hours; and

● “Remote  learning”  would  mean  a  method  of 
providing education in which a student is regularly 
enrolled  in  a  school  district,  does  not  physically 
attend  the  attendance  center  where  the  student 
would  otherwise  attend  in  person  on  a  full-time 
basis,  and  the  instruction  is  prepared,  provided, 
and  supervised  by  teachers  and  staff  of  such 
school district to replace the instruction that would 
have occurred in the attendance center classroom. 
This definition would not include virtual school as 
defined in the the Virtual School Aid Act.

These  definitions  would  not  apply  to  any  school  year 
prior to the 2021-2022 school year. 

The bill would amend the calculation of one student to 
include  a  student  enrolled  in  the  school  district  attending 
school part-time via remote learning and part-time in-person 
to the nearest tenth of the student’s proportion of in-person 
attendance to full-time attendance. The bill would not count 
as a student any remotely enrolled students.

20-Mill Property Tax Levy Re-authorization and 
Homestead Exemption (Sections 30 and 33)

The bill would re-authorize the 20-mill property tax levy 
for school years 2021-2022 and 2022-2023.

The  bill  would  continue  the  exemption  of  residential 
property up to $20,000 of its appraised valuation from the 20- 
mill property tax levy for taxable years 2021 and 2022. 
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High-Density At-Risk Weighting (Section 31)

The bill would extend the high-density at-risk weighting 
through June 30, 2022.

Background

The bill was introduced by the House Committee on 
K-12 Education Budget. 

House Committee on K-12 Education Budget

In the House Committee hearing on February 8, 2021, 
proponent testimony  was  provided  by  representatives  of 
Americans for Prosperity, EdChoice, Frontier Peace Advisors, 
Kansas Policy Institute, and Urban Preparatory Academy in 
Wichita,  and  two  private  citizens.  Written-only  proponent 
testimony  was  provided  by  representatives  of  the  Berean 
Academy and ExcelinEd. The proponent testimony generally 
stated that the bill allows for greater choice, which leads to 
better  outcomes  for  students  and  accountability  in  the 
education  system.  Further,  proponent  testimony  noted  that 
the COVID-19 pandemic has widened the gap between low-
income students and high-income students, in part because 
high-income students could take advantage of school choice 
or  educational  services that  low-income students could not 
afford.

Opponent testimony was provided by representatives of 
GameOn for Kansas Schools, Kansas Association of School 
Boards, Kansas PTA, and Piper School District (USD 203), 
and  by  three  private  citizens.  Written-only  opponent 
testimony  was  provided  by  representatives  of  Americans 
United  for  Separation  of  Church  and  State,  Blue  Valley 
Schools  (USD  229),  Dighton  School  Board  (USD  482), 
Education First Shawnee Mission, Garden City High School 
(USD 457), Geary County Schools Board of Education (USD 
475),  Goddard  Public  Schools  (USD  265),  Kansas 

24- 2119



Association  of  Retired  School  Personnel,  Kansas  National 
Education  Association,  Kansas  State  Board  of  Education, 
Mainstream Coalition, Maize Board of Education (USD 266), 
Olathe Public Education Network, Olathe Schools (USD 233), 
Renwick  Board  of  Education  (USD  267),  Seaman  School 
District (USD 345), Shawnee Mission School District, Spring 
Hill  School  District  (USD 230),  and Topeka Public  Schools 
(USD 501), and four private citizens. The opponent testimony 
generally stated the bill failed to focus on the students most in 
need  of  educational  services  and  would  instead  give  the 
choice  to  private  schools  to  seek  out  high-performing 
students both academically and athletically. Further, opponent 
testimony  noted  that  private  schools  need  not  serve  all 
students or meet the special needs of students.

Written-only  neutral  testimony  was  provided  by  the 
Kansas  Department  of  Administration.  The  Department  of 
Administration noted concern with some language in the bill 
that appears contradictory in regards to the account and fund 
creation.  The  Department  of  Administration  also  noted  a 
presumption that the Student Empowerment Fund would be 
created  within  SMART  using  existing  Department  of 
Administration resources. 

The House Committee amended the bill to:

● Modify the definition of “eligible student” to include 
students  who  qualify  for  free  and  reduced-price 
lunch only if the student is enrolled in any school in 
a school district;

● Modify the definition of “eligible student” to include 
students  who  have  attended  school  through  a 
remote  learning  or  hybrid  model  learning  for  set 
hours in the current school year or current calendar 
year after January 1, 2021;

● Specify  that  “qualified  private  school”  does  not 
mean any nonaccredited  private  home school  or 
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home school organization, community, consortium, 
or group; 

● Provide  that  the  Treasurer  must  contract  with  a 
third party via competitive bids for the system that 
would  provide  the  electronic  funds  transfers  for 
participating parents;

● Modify one of the allowable uses of the funds to 
reflect both services provided by and contracted by 
a school district, not just services contracted by the 
school district; and

● Amend the KSEEA to require the State Board to 
calculate the high-density at-risk weighting for each 
school  district  on  or  before  July  1,  2021,  and 
extend the weighting through July 1, 2022.

Re-Referred to the House Committee on K-12 Education 
Budget

The  bill  was  withdrawn  from  the  House  Calendar  on 
February 23, 2021, and re-referred to the House Committee 
on K-12 Education Budget.

The  House  Committee  further  amended  the  bill on 
February 25, 2021, to:

● Appropriate moneys for  the KSDE budget  for  FY 
2021, FY 2022, and FY 2023;

● Define “eligible student” to not include remote and 
hybrid learning methods;

● Remove  the  definitions  of  remote  and  hybrid 
learning;

● Amend  the  Student  Empowerment  Act  Program 
start date to be July 1, 2022;
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● Insert HB 2068, which would expand the Tax Credit 
for Low Income Students Scholarship Program;

● Insert HB 2067, which would require the board of 
education  use  the  information  from  the  needs-
assessment  to  improve  student  academic 
achievement and to  allocate sufficient  moneys to 
ensure all students achieve the “Rose capacities,” 

● Modify the Kansas school attendance law to limit 
school  days  and  hours  to  only  those  days  and 
hours in which a school district allows students to 
physically attend school in person full-time;

● Modify the ability of the State Board to waive the 
school  days  and  school  hours  required  under 
school attendance law;

● Modify school attendance law to include definitions 
of “disaster” and “remote learning”;

● Modify  the  KSEEA to  include  remote  enrollment 
state aid;

● Modify the definitions of “adjusted enrollment” and 
“enrollment”  under  KSEEA  to  exclude  those 
students remotely enrolled;

● Modify the calculation of one student under KSEEA 
to include a student enrolled in the school district 
attending school part-time via remote learning and 
part-time  in-person  to  the  nearest  tenth  of  the 
student’s proportion of in-person attendance to full-
time attendance;

● Modify  KSEEA  to  not  count  as  a  student  any 
remotely enrolled students; and

● Reauthorize the 20-mill  property tax levy and the 
Homestead exemption for FY 2022 and FY 2023.
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The  House  Committee  recommended  the  amended 
contents be incorporated into a substitute bill.

HB 2067 – Student Academic Achievement

The bill was introduced by the House Committee on K-
12 Education Budget.

[Note:  HB  2067  is  identical  to  2020  SB  353,  as 
recommended by the Senate Committee on Education.]

House Committee on K-12 Education Budget

In the House Committee hearing, proponent testimony 
was  provided  by  a  representative  of  the  Kansas  Policy 
Institute,  who  stated  the  focus  of  schools  should  be  on 
instruction  so  that  all  students  attain  statutory  educational 
goals. 

Opponent testimony was provided by a representative 
of  the  Kansas  Association  of  School  Boards,  stating  that 
student  achievement  is  not  solely  about  the  allocation  of 
resources  and  the  bill  does  not  consider  that  local  needs 
differ.

No other testimony was provided.

HB 2068 –  Tax Credit for Low Income Students 
Scholarship Program

The bill was introduced by the House Committee on K-
12 Education Budget.

[Note: A companion bill, SB 61, has been introduced in 
the  Senate.  HB  2068  is  identical  to  2020  HB  2465,  as 
amended  by  the  House  Committee  on  K-12  Education 
Budget.]
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House Committee on K-12 Education Budget

In the House Committee hearing on January 26, 2021, 
proponent testimony  was  presented  by  representatives  of 
ACE  Scholarships  SGO,  Kansas  LLC; Catholic  Education 
Foundation; EdChoice; Frontier Peace Advisors; Holy Savior 
Catholic  Academy in  the  Catholic  Diocese  of  Wichita;  and 
Support for Catholic Schools; and a private citizen. Written-
only proponent testimony was provided by representatives of 
Americans  for  Prosperity; Catholic  Diocese  of  Wichita; 
ExcelinEd  in  Action; Kansas  Catholic  Conference; Kansas 
Policy Institute; Holy Family Catholic School (Topeka); Sacred 
Heart  Cathedral  Catholic  School  (Dodge  City); St.  Anne 
Catholic  School  (Wichita); and  St.  Patrick  Catholic  School 
(Wichita); and two private citizens. The proponents generally 
stated the changes would open the Program to more students 
who  may  be  struggling  and  better  align  the  Program with 
similar programs in other states.

The opponent testimony  was  presented  by 
representatives  of  Game On  for  Kansas  Schools; Kansas 
Association of School Boards; Kansas Association of Special 
Education Administrators; Kansas PTA; Mainstream Coalition; 
Olathe  Public  Education  Network; Pittsburg  Community 
Schools; Shawnee Mission School District; and USA-Kansas 
and  Kansas  School  Superintendents  Association.  Written-
only opponent testimony was provided by representatives of 
Blue Valley Schools; Gardner Edgerton School District (USD 
231); Goddard  Public  Schools  (USD  265); Kansas 
Association of Special Education Administrators; Kansas City 
Kansas  Public  Schools; Kansas  National  Education 
Association; Olathe Public Schools (USD 233); Schools for 
Quality Education; Shawnee Mission School District; Spring 
Hill School District (USD 230); Stand Up Blue Valley; and the 
State Board; and a private citizen. The opponents generally 
stated the changes to the Program would draw funding away 
from public schools that must accept and educate every child, 
allow  students  to  transfer  from  a  better  performing  public 
school to a lower performing private school, and expand the 
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Program beyond its usual intent to aid poorly performing, low-
income students.

No neutral testimony was provided.

Fiscal Information

A fiscal note for Sub. for HB 2119 was not immediately 
available.

Education;  school  choice;  tax  credit  for  low  income  students  scholarships;
appropriations; 20 mill tax levy
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