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MEMORANDUM
To: House Committee on Transportation
From: Office of Revisor of Statutes
Date: January 31, 2024
Subject: Bill Brief — HB 2523

HB 2523 allows farm permit holders to drive to and from religious activities held by any
religious organization beginning at age 14.

K.S.A. 8-296 provides the procedures for anyone older than 14 years of age but younger
than 17 years of age to apply for a farm permit. Such person must reside on a farm in Kansas or
be employed by a farm in Kansas to apply for a farm permit. A farm permit authorizes the holder
to operate any class C motor vehicle. A farm permit holder is who is at least 14 years of age but
less than 16 years of age, is permitted to drive a motor vehicle to and from any farm job or farm-
related work, to and from school for the purpose of school attendance or whenever the farm
permit holder is accompanied by an adult in the vehicle.

HB 2523 would grant an additional permission to a farm permit holder who is at least 14
years of age but less than 16 years of age. That additional permission would allow the farm
permit holder to drive to and from any religious activity held by a religious organization from 6
a.m.to 9 p.m.

The bill becomes effective upon publication in the statute book.
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