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Chair Warren and Members of the Senate Judiciary Committee, 

I am Richard A. Samaniego, Chair of the Kansas Crime Victims Compensation Board (CVCB). I’m a 

practicing attorney in Wichita, Kansas, and I have been honored to serve as Chair of the Kansas Crime 

Victims Compensation Board since 2018. I thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony in 

support of HB 2781. 

The CVCB is dedicated to assisting victims of crimes in Kansas with compensation for loss of 

earnings and out-of-pocket medical expenses as a direct result of a violent crime. The Board also 

approves claims to assist victims’s families with reimbursement of funeral, burial, or cremation 

expenses, as well as grief therapy. 

The CVCB is composed of a three-member board, with each member appointed by the Attorney 

General subject to Senate confirmation. The other current board members include Stuart Hite and 

Becky Dickinson. The dedicated staff of the Crime Victims Compensation Division at the Attorney 

General’s office work tirelessly to help victims in Kansas with their claims. 

The Board meets once a month to review and approve claims to be paid from the Crime Victims 

Compensation Fund and to hear requests for reconsideration for denied claims pursuant to the Kansas 

Administrative Procedure Act. The Board works with staff to develop policies to facilitate the 

processing of claims in the most expeditious manner. Through the claims and hearing process, the 

board and staff will note areas to improve victim compensation that require legislative changes, such 

as the proposal before you. The Board unanimously approved the original draft of the legislation 

introduced in the House, and the amended version of the bill is consistent with the Board’s intent to 

broaden assistance for victims of violent crimes.  

HB 2781 amends K.S.A. §74-7305 with important provisions relating to the Fairness for Rape Kit 

Backlog Survivors Act of 2022 that are required for claims to be eligible to receive Federal Victims of 

Crime Act (VOCA) Compensation grants, which match 75% of every state dollar spent for victims. 

Revisions to the statute last year limited the language to claims for mental health counseling. The 

relevant provision of HB 2781 will simply allow the board to approve a claim without the reduction 

for mental health counseling only. 



HB 2781 will also increase the statutory limits for work-loss claims. Last year, the Legislature 

increased the allowable expenses for funerals from $5,000.00 to $7,500.00, which has helped many 

grieving families with the rising costs of funeral expenses. Likewise, victims who experience a loss of 

income related to a violent crime are subject to the rising cost of living. The work loss limits are 

currently $400.00 per week and have not been increased since 1998. HB 2781 will increase the work 

loss limits to $800 per week or actual loss, whichever is less. Compensation for work loss for a victim 

of human trafficking or aggravated human trafficking will be eligible to receive an amount not less 

than $350 per week and not more than $800 per week. The proposed range allows the board to 

determine the weekly work loss amount based on all financial factors, including the number of 

dependents and the amount of resources. 

Work loss under the Crime Victims Compensation Act is defined as loss of income from work the 

injured person would have performed if such person had not been injured and expenses reasonably 

incurred by such person in obtaining services in lieu of those the person would have performed for 

income, reduced by any income from substitute work actually performed by such person or by income 

such person would have earned in available appropriate substitute work that the person was capable of 

performing but unreasonably failed to undertake. 

The proposed legislation will also help remove an administrative barrier to the processing of claims. 

Under the current law, compensation may be awarded only if the board finds that unless the claimant 

is awarded compensation, the claimant will suffer financial stress as the result of an economic loss that 

is otherwise reparable. In making its determination of financial stress, the board is required to consider 

all relevant factors, including several factors listed in the statute that require supporting documentation 

from the victim or claimant. Often, victims are not able to complete these requirements, and the claim 

is not able to be processed. The proposed legislation simply allows the Board to consider the totality of 

the circumstances, including “other factors deemed appropriate by the Board,” to determine financial 

distress. 

In addition, K.S.A. §74-7305(f) provides that compensation may not be awarded unless the criminally 

injurious conduct resulting in injury or death was reported to a law enforcement officer within 72 

hours after its occurrence or the board finds there was good cause for the failure to report within that 

time. HB 2781 proposes to broaden this section to allow for compensation in cases involving a victim 

who obtains a forensic medical examination within seven days after the occurrence of the criminally 

injurious conduct or where the board finds there was good cause for the failure to report or obtain an 

examination within the time limits provided in this subsection. 

Finally, HB 2781, as amended, would provide the Board with the authority to approve a claim for a 

victim of a violent crime if the claim is filed within 5 years after the injury or death upon which the 

claim is based. Current law requires a claim to be filed within two years after the injury or death upon 

which the claim is based in most cases. The Board originally requested broader discretion to approve a 

claim beyond the two-year statute of limitations if the Board determined that denying compensation 

due to the statute of limitations would result in a severe injustice. This would allow the Board to 

continue to prioritize assistance to victims during the most crucial time when it is needed most, while 

recognizing there are grave circumstances that warrant a waiver of the statute of limitations in the 

interest of justice.  

For example, victims of domestic violence often feel unsafe immediately after reporting a crime. 

Victims can experience severe violence at the hands of the abuser, and fleeing requires a careful, well-

planned escape. Sometimes, this process can take several years and leave the victim in financial ruin. 



Victims may not learn about crime victims compensation or may not be safe enough to apply for it 

until several years later, when they are able to access advocacy or safely participate in the criminal 

justice process. For domestic violence victims, there is no exception allowing the Board to waive the 

statute of limitations, whether for 2 years or 5 years.  

On behalf of the Board, I thank you for your consideration of this proposed legislation and respectfully 

request the committee’s favorable recommendation of HB 2781. I would be happy to stand for 

questions. 
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