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CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

MR.  PRESIDENT  and  MR.  SPEAKER:  Your  committee  on  conference  on  House 

amendments to SB 119 submits the following report:

The Senate accedes to all House amendments to the bill, and your committee on conference 

further agrees to amend the bill as printed with House Committee amendments, as follows: 

On page 5, following line 19, by inserting:

"Sec. 4. K.S.A. 40-247 is hereby amended to read as follows: 40-247. (a) An insurance 

agent  or  broker  who  acts  in  negotiating  or  renewing  or  continuing  a  contract  of  insurance 

including any type of annuity by an insurance company lawfully doing business in this state, and 

who receives any money or substitute for money as a premium for such a contract from the 

insured, whether such agent or broker shall be entitled to an interest in same or otherwise, shall 

be deemed to hold such premium in trust for the company making the contract. If such agent or 

broker fails to pay the same over to the company after written demand made upon such agent or 

broker, less such agent's or broker's commission and any deductions, to which by the written 

consent of the company such agent or broker may be entitled, such failure shall be prima facie 

evidence that such agent or broker has used or applied the premium for a purpose other than 

paying the same over to the company.

(b) (1) An agent or broker who violates the provisions of this section shall be guilty of 

a:

(A) Severity level 7, nonperson felony if the value of the insurance premium is $25,000 

or more;

(B) severity level 9, nonperson felony if the value of the insurance premium is at least 

$1,000 but less than $25,000; or

(C) class A nonperson misdemeanor if the value of the insurance premium is less than 
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$1,000.

(2) If the value of the insurance premium is less than $1,000 and such agent or broker 

has,  within  five  years  immediately  preceding  commission  of  the  crime,  been  convicted  of 

violating this section two or more times shall be guilty of a severity level 9, nonperson felony.

Sec.  5. K.S.A.  40-2,125 is  hereby amended to  read as  follows:  40-2,125. (a)  If  the 

commissioner determines after notice and opportunity for a hearing that any person has engaged 

or is engaging in any act or practice constituting a violation of any provision of Kansas insurance 

statutes or any rule and regulation or order thereunder, the commissioner may in the exercise of 

discretion, order any one or more of the following:

(1) Payment of a monetary penalty of not more than $1,000 for each and every act or 

violation, unless the person knew or reasonably should have known such person was in violation 

of the Kansas insurance statutes or any rule and regulation or order thereunder, in which case the 

penalty shall be not more than $2,000 for each and every act or violation;

(2) suspension or revocation of the person's license or certificate if such person knew or 

reasonably should have known that such person was in violation of the Kansas insurance statutes 

or any rule and regulation or order thereunder; or

(3) that such person cease and desist from the unlawful act or practice and take such 

affirmative action as in the judgment of the commissioner will carry out the purposes of the 

violated or potentially violated provision.

(b) If any person fails to file any report or other information with the commissioner as 

required  by  statute  or  fails  to  respond  to  any  proper  inquiry  of  the  commissioner,  the 

commissioner,  after  notice and opportunity for hearing,  may impose a civil  penalty of up to 

$1,000, for each violation or act, along with an additional penalty of up to $500 for each week 

thereafter that such report or other information is not provided to the commissioner.
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(c) If the commissioner makes written findings of fact that there is a situation involving 

an  immediate  danger  to  the  public  health,  safety  or  welfare  or  the  public  interest  will  be 

irreparably harmed by delay in issuing an order under subsection (a)(3), the commissioner may 

issue an emergency temporary cease and desist order. Such order, even when not an order within 

the meaning of K.S.A. 77-502, and amendments thereto, shall be subject to the same procedures 

as an emergency order issued under K.S.A. 77-536, and amendments thereto. Upon the entry of 

such an order, the commissioner shall promptly notify the person subject to the order that: (1) It 

has been entered; (2) the reasons therefor; and (3) that upon written request within 15 days after 

service of the order the matter will be set for a hearing which shall be conducted in accordance 

with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act. If no hearing is requested and 

none is  ordered by the commissioner,  the order  will  remain in  effect  until  it  is  modified or 

vacated by the commissioner. If a hearing is requested or ordered, the commissioner, after notice 

of and opportunity for hearing to the person subject to the order, shall by written findings of fact 

and conclusions of law vacate, modify or make permanent the order.

(d) For purposes of this section:

(1) "Person"  means  any  individual,  corporation,  association,  partnership,  reciprocal 

exchange,  inter-insurer,  Lloyd's  insurer,  fraternal  benefit  society  and  any  other  legal  entity 

engaged in the business of insurance,  rating organization, third party administrator,  nonprofit 

dental service corporation, nonprofit medical and hospital service corporation, automobile club, 

premium  financing  company,  health  maintenance  organization,  insurance  holding  company, 

mortgage guaranty insurance company,  risk retention or purchasing group, prepaid legal  and 

dental  service  plan,  captive  insurance  company,  automobile  self-insurer  or  reinsurance 

intermediary and any other legal entity under the jurisdiction of the commissioner. The term 

"person" shall does not include insurance agents and brokers as such terms are defined in K.S.A. 
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40-4902, and amendments thereto.

(2) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of insurance of this state.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 40-2c01 is hereby amended to read as follows: 40-2c01. As 

used in this act:

(a) "Adjusted  RBC  report"  means  an  RBC  report  that  has  been  adjusted  by  the 

commissioner in accordance with K.S.A. 40-2c04, and amendments thereto.

(b) "Corrective order" means an order issued by the commissioner specifying corrective 

actions that the commissioner has determined are required to address an RBC level event.

(c) "Domestic insurer" means any insurance company or risk retention group that is 

licensed and organized in this state.

(d) "Foreign  insurer"  means  any  insurance  company  or  risk  retention  group  not 

domiciled in this state that is licensed or registered to do business in this state pursuant to article 

41 of chapter 40 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or K.S.A. 40-209, 

and amendments thereto.

(e) "NAIC" means the national association of insurance commissioners.

(f) "Life and health insurer" means any insurance company licensed under article 4 or 5 

of chapter 40 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, or a licensed property 

and casualty insurer writing only accident and health insurance.

(g) "Property  and  casualty  insurer"  means  any  insurance  company  licensed  under 

articles  9,  10,  11,  12,  12a,  15  or  16  of  chapter  40  of  the  Kansas  Statutes  Annotated,  and 

amendments  thereto,  but  does  not  include  monoline  mortgage  guaranty  insurers,  financial 

guaranty insurers and title insurers.

(h) "Negative trend" means, with respect to a life and health insurer, a negative trend 

over a period of time, as determined in accordance with the "trend test calculation" included in 
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the RBC instructions defined in subsection (j).

(i) "RBC" means risk-based capital.

(j) "RBC instructions"  means  the risk-based capital  instructions  promulgated by the 

NAIC that are in effect on December 31, 2021 2022, or any later version promulgated by the 

NAIC as may be adopted by the commissioner under K.S.A. 40-2c29, and amendments thereto.

(k) "RBC level" means an insurer's company action level RBC, regulatory action level 

RBC, authorized control level RBC or mandatory control level RBC where:

(1) "Company action level RBC" means, with respect to any insurer, the product of 2.0 

and its authorized control level RBC;

(2) "regulatory action level RBC" means the product of 1.5 and its authorized control 

level RBC;

(3) "authorized control level RBC" means the number determined under the risk-based 

capital formula in accordance with the RBC instructions; and

(4) "mandatory  control  level  RBC"  means  the  product  of  0.70  and  the  authorized 

control level RBC.

(l) "RBC plan" means a comprehensive financial plan containing the elements specified 

in K.S.A. 40-2c06, and amendments thereto. If the commissioner rejects the RBC plan, and it is 

revised by the insurer, with or without the commissioner's recommendation, the plan shall be 

called the "revised RBC plan."

(m) "RBC  report"  means  the  report  required  by  K.S.A.  40-2c02,  and  amendments 

thereto.

(n) "Total adjusted capital" means the sum of:

(1) An insurer's capital and surplus or surplus only if a mutual insurer; and

(2) such other items, if any, as the RBC instructions may provide.
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(o) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of insurance."; 

On page 9, following line 9, by inserting:

"Sec. 8. K.S.A. 40-3203 is hereby amended to read as follows: 40-3203. (a) Except as 

otherwise provided by this act, it shall be unlawful for any person to provide health care services 

in the manner prescribed in subsection (n) or subsection (r) of K.S.A. 40-3202(n) or (r), and 

amendments thereto, without first obtaining a certificate of authority from the commissioner.

(b) Applications for a certificate of authority shall be made in the form required by the 

commissioner and shall be verified by an officer or authorized representative of the applicant and 

shall set forth or be accompanied by:

(1) A copy of the basic organizational documents of the applicant such as articles of 

incorporation, partnership agreements, trust agreements or other applicable documents;

(2) a copy of the bylaws, regulations or similar document, if any, regulating the conduct 

of the internal affairs of the applicant;

(3) a  list  of  the  names,  addresses,  official  capacity  with  the  organization  and 

biographical information for all of the persons who are to be responsible for the conduct of its 

affairs, including all members of the governing body, the officers and directors in the case of a 

corporation and the partners or members in the case of a partnership or corporation;

(4) a sample or representative copy of any contract or agreement made or to be made 

between the health maintenance organization or medicare provider organization and any class of 

providers  and  a  copy  of  any  contract  made  or  agreement  made  or  to  be  made,  excluding 

individual employment contracts or agreements, between third party administrators, marketing 

consultants  or  persons  listed  in  subsection  (3)  and  the  health  maintenance  organization  or 

medicare provider organization;

(5) a  statement  generally  describing  the  organization,  its  enrollment  process,  its 
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operation, its quality assurance mechanism, its internal grievance procedures, in the case of a 

health  maintenance  organization  the  methods  it  proposes  to  use  to  offer  its  enrollees  an 

opportunity to participate in matters of policy and operation, the geographic area or areas to be 

served,  the  location  and hours  of  operation  of  the  facilities  at  which health  care healthcare 

services will be regularly available to enrollees in the case of staff and group practices, the type 

and specialty of health care healthcare personnel and the number of personnel in each specialty 

category  engaged  to  provide health  care healthcare services  in  the  case  of  staff  and  group 

practices, and a records system providing documentation of utilization rates for enrollees.  In 

cases  other  than  staff  and  group  practices,  the  organization  shall  provide  a  list  of  names, 

addresses and telephone numbers of providers by specialty;

(6) copies of all contract forms the organization proposes to offer enrollees together 

with a table of rates to be charged;

(7) the following statements of the fiscal soundness of the organization:

(A) Descriptions  of  financing  arrangements  for  operational  deficits  and  for 

developmental costs if operational one year or less;

(B) a copy of the most recent unaudited financial statements of the health maintenance 

organization or medicare provider organization;

(C) financial projections in conformity with statutory accounting practices prescribed or 

otherwise permitted by the department of insurance of the state of domicile for a minimum of 

three years from the anticipated date of certification and on a monthly basis from the date of 

certification  through  one  year from  the  date  of  application.  If  the  health  maintenance 

organization or medicare provider organization is expected to incur a deficit, projections shall be 

made for each deficit  year and for one year thereafter,  up to  a maximum of five years.  All 

financial projections shall include:
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(i) Monthly statements of revenue and expense for the first year on a gross dollar as 

well  as  per-member-per-month  basis,  with  quarters  consistent  with  standard  calendar  year 

quarters;

(ii) quarterly Statements of revenue and expense for each subsequent year;

(iii)(ii) a quarterly balance sheet for each year; and

(iv)(iii) a statement and justification of assumptions;

(8) a description of the procedure to be utilized by a health maintenance organization or 

medicare provider organization to provide for:

(A) Offering enrollees an opportunity to participate in matters of policy and operation 

of a health maintenance organization;

(B) monitoring of the quality  of care  provided by such organization including,  as a 

minimum, peer review; and

(C) resolving complaints and grievances initiated by enrollees;

(9) a written irrevocable consent duly executed by such applicant, if the applicant is a 

nonresident, appointing the commissioner as the person upon whom lawful process in any legal 

action against such organization on any cause of action arising in this state may be served and 

that such service of process shall be valid and binding in the same extent as if personal service 

had been had and obtained upon said nonresident in this state;

(10) a plan, in the case of group or staff practices, that will provide for maintaining a 

medical  records  system which that is  adequate  to  provide  an  accurate  documentation  of 

utilization by every enrollee,  such system to identify clearly,  at  a minimum, each patient by 

name, age and sex and to indicate clearly the services provided, when, where, and by whom, the 

diagnosis,  treatment  and  drug  therapy,  and  in  all  other  cases,  evidence  that  contracts  with 

providers require that similar medical records systems be in place;
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(11) evidence of adequate insurance coverage or an adequate plan for self-insurance to 

respond to claims for injuries arising out of the furnishing of health care healthcare;

(12) such  other  information  as  may  be  required  by  the  commissioner  to  make  the 

determinations required by K.S.A. 40-3204, and amendments thereto; and

(13) in  lieu  of  any  of  the  application  requirements  imposed  by  this  section  on  a 

medicare provider organization, the commissioner may accept any report or application filed by 

the medicare provider organization with the appropriate examining agency or official of another 

state or agency of the federal government.

(c) The commissioner may promulgate rules and regulations the commissioner deems 

necessary to the proper administration of this act to require a health maintenance organization or 

medicare provider organization, subsequent to receiving its certificate of authority to submit the 

information,  modifications  or  amendments  to  the  items  described  in  subsection  (b)  to  the 

commissioner prior to the effectuation of the modification or amendment or to require the health 

maintenance organization to indicate the modifications to the commissioner. Any modification or 

amendment for which the approval of the commissioner is required shall be deemed approved 

unless disapproved within 30 days, except the commissioner may postpone the action for such 

further time, not exceeding an additional 30 days, as necessary for proper consideration."; 

Also on page 9, in line 10, by striking "and" and inserting ", 40-247, 40-2,125,"; also in line 

10, after "40-955" by inserting "and 40-3203 and K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 40-2c01"; in line 13, by 

striking "Kansas register" and inserting "statute book"; 

And by renumbering sections accordingly; 

On page 1, in the title,  in line 1, by striking "relating to insurance law;";  in line 2, by 

striking "obsolete"; also in line 2, by striking "therein" and inserting "in chapter 40 of the Kansas 

Statutes  Annotated;  specifying  certain  requirements  of  documents  submitted  by  medicare 
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provider organizations and health maintenance organizations to demonstrate fiscal soundness; 

removing the requirement of a documented written demand for premium as part of a prima facie 

case;  adding  certain  legal  entities  to  the  definition  of  person  for  purposes  of  violations  of 

insurance  law;  updating  the  version  of  risk-based  capital  insurance  in  effect";  in  line  3,  by 

striking the first  "and" and inserting ",  40-247, 40-2,125,";  also in  line 3,  after  "40-955" by 

inserting "and 40-3203 and K.S.A. 2022 Supp. 40-2c01"; 

And your committee on conference recommends the adoption of this report.

___________________________

___________________________

___________________________
Conferees on part of House

___________________________

___________________________

___________________________
Conferees on part of Senate


