
Newborn Safety Devices; CARE Program; Representative Gail Finney Memorial 
Foster Care Bill of Rights; HB 2024

HB 2024 amends the Revised Kansas Code for Care of Children (Code) relating to the 
Newborn Infant Protection Act (Act) to provide an alternate means to legally surrender an infant 
pursuant  to  the  Act;  creates  a  program  within  the  Kansas  Department  of  Health  and 
Environment (KDHE) for the training of and payment for Child Abuse Review and Evaluation 
(CARE)  providers  who  conduct  CARE exams;  and  enacts  the  Representative  Gail  Finney 
Memorial Foster Care Bill of Rights (Bill of Rights) to enumerate and codify in statute the rights 
of children in need of care in the child welfare system (foster youth) and the rights of foster 
parents and kinship caregivers. 

The bill takes effect upon publication in the Kansas Register.

Newborn Infant Protection Act Amendments—Newborn Safety Devices

Impact of Newborn Infant Protection Act on Indian Child Welfare Act of 1978 (ICWA)

The bill states the Act does not abridge the rights or obligations created by ICWA, and 
adds the Act to the list of statutes that may not apply when an Indian child is involved in such 
proceedings, thereby invoking ICWA, in the statute governing jurisdiction of child in need of care 
proceedings.

Surrender to Newborn Safety Device

The bill authorizes a parent or other person having lawful custody of an infant who is not 
more than 60 days old and who has not suffered great bodily harm as determined by a person 
licensed to practice medicine or surgery, an advanced practice registered nurse, or licensed 
physician assistant to surrender physical custody to a newborn safety device, defined by the bill, 
installed at a police station, sheriff’s office, law enforcement center, fire station, city or county 
health  department,  hospital,  ambulatory  surgical  center,  or  recuperation  center  (authorized 
facility). [Note: Current law provides that an infant may only be physically surrendered to an 
employee of an authorized facility.]

The bill makes the relinquishing parent who follows the above procedure immune from 
civil or criminal liability for surrendering an infant meeting the criteria stated above.

The bill requires, after the infant has been surrendered to a newborn safety device, an 
employee of the authorized facility where the device is located to take physical custody of the 
infant without a court order. The bill also specifies that, after an employee of the authorized 
facility notifies a law enforcement agency of a surrender pursuant to the bill, such agency is 
required  to  report  the  surrender  to  the  Secretary  for  Children  and  Families  (Secretary),  in 
addition to the requirement for the agency to deliver the infant to a facility or person designated 
by the Secretary in continuing law.
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Definitions

The bill  defines ”newborn safety device” as a device or container designed to safely 
accept delivery of an infant and that is:

● Voluntarily installed in an authorized facility that is staffed 24 hours a day by an 
employee of  such facility,  or  has  a  dual  alarm system that  will  dispatch  first 
responders when all employees of the facility are unavailable;

● Located  on  a  structural  wall  in  an  area  that  is  conspicuous  and  visible  to 
employees of the authorized facility;

● Equipped with an automatic  lock  that  restricts  access to the device  from the 
outside of the authorized facility when an infant is placed inside the device;

● Equipped with a temperature control; and

● Equipped  with  an  alarm  system that  complies  with  requirements  established 
elsewhere in the bill and that is triggered by an infant being placed inside the 
device.

The  bill  also  amends  the  definitions  of  “non-relinquishing  parent”  and  “relinquishing 
parent” to reflect the new provisions added by the bill.

Alarm System Requirements

The bill provides that an authorized facility that installs a newborn safety device must 
also install a dual alarm system connected to the physical location of the device, which requires 
weekly testing and twice-daily visual checks to ensure the system is in working order.

Genetic Testing of Non-relinquishing Parent 

The bill amends a provision in the Act governing the procedure for a non-relinquishing 
parent to establish parental rights after the surrender of an infant to specify when a person 
seeks to establish parental rights, the court must require the person to submit, at such person’s 
own expense, to a genetic test to verify that person is the biological parent of the child.

Determining Tribal Status of Infant or Parent

The bill requires an employee of an authorized facility to ask the person surrendering an 
infant pursuant to the Act if the infant or either biological parent is a member of, or eligible for 
membership in, a federally recognized Indian tribe, and the identity of the tribe. An authorized 
facility utilizing a newborn safety device is required to provide a means for surrendering persons 
to provide information pertaining to tribal status. The employee taking custody of the infant after 
inquiring about tribal status is required to send the information to the Secretary. The Secretary is 
then required to provide such information to the court with jurisdiction over the infant.
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Information to be Made Available to Relinquishing Parent

The bill requires an authorized facility receiving an infant pursuant to the Act to make 
available, if possible, the following information to the relinquishing parent: 

● A notice stating that 60 days after the surrender of the infant to the facility, the 
Secretary  shall  commence proceedings  for  termination  of  parental  rights  and 
placement of the infant for adoption; 

● A list  of  providers  that  provide  counseling  services  on  grief,  pregnancy,  and 
adoption or other placement or care regarding an infant; 

● The language of this section, the rights of birth parents, including a questionnaire 
that a birth parent may use to answer questions about medical or background 
information of the child, including any information pertaining to tribal status; and 

● A brochure on postpartum health. 

The bill states that the relinquishing parent is not be required to accept the information 
provided by an authorized facility. The bill states the form and manner of the information under 
this  section  is  prescribed  by  the  Secretary,  who  is  required  to  maintain  the  questionnaire 
described above on a public website. 

Disclosure of Information

The  bill  requires  an  employee  taking  custody  of  an  infant  to  reveal  all  personal 
information received from the relinquishing parent  when such parent  indicates the  infant  or 
parent is a tribal member (or eligible for tribal membership) or there is a reasonable suspicion 
that the infant has suffered great bodily harm. 

The  bill  specifies  the  individuals  who  are  prohibited  from  publicly  disclosing  any 
information  concerning  the  relinquishment  of  an  infant  and  individual  involved  except  as 
otherwise  required  by  law.  The  bill  states  the  prohibition applies  to  medical  professionals, 
employees, and other persons engaged in the administration or operation of:

● An authorized facility; 
● A newborn safety device; 
● Agencies providing services for children in need of care; or 
● Any location where an infant has been surrendered under the Act. 

Amendment to Child Abandonment Statute

The bill amends the criminal child abandonment statute to reflect language amended in 
the Act. 
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Child Abuse Review and Evaluation (CARE) Program

Definitions

The bill adds the following definitions to the Code:

● “Child abuse medical resource center” means a medical institution affiliated with 
an accredited children’s hospital or a recognized institution of higher education 
that has an accredited medical school program with board-certified child abuse 
pediatricians who provide training, support, mentoring, and peer review to CARE 
providers on CARE exams;

● “Child abuse review and evaluation exam” or “CARE exam” means a forensic 
medical evaluation of a child alleged to be a victim of abuse or neglect conducted 
by a CARE provider;

● “Child  abuse  review  and  evaluation  network”  or  “CARE  network”  means  a 
network  of  CARE  providers,  child  abuse  medical  resource  centers,  and  any 
medical provider associated with a child advocacy center that has the ability to 
conduct a CARE exam that collaborate to improve services provided to a child 
alleged to be a victim of abuse or neglect;

● “Child  abuse  review  and  evaluation  provider”  or  “CARE  provider”  means  a 
person licensed to practice medicine and surgery, advanced practice registered 
nurse,  or  licensed  physician  assistant  who  performs  CARE  exams  of  and 
provides medical  diagnosis and treatment to a child alleged to be a victim of 
abuse or neglect and who receives:

○ Kansas-based initial intensive training regarding child maltreatment from 
the CARE network;

○ Continuous trainings on child maltreatment from the CARE network; and

○ Peer review and new provider mentoring regarding medical evaluations 
from a child abuse medical resource center; and

● “Child abuse review and evaluation referral”  or “CARE referral” means a brief 
written review of allegations of physical abuse, emotional abuse, medical neglect, 
or physical neglect submitted by the Secretary for Children and Families or law 
enforcement  agency  to  a  child  abuse  medical  resource  center  for  a 
recommendation of such child’s need for medical care that may include a CARE 
exam.

CARE Referrals 

Continuing law in the Code requires, as part of any investigation of reports of child abuse 
or neglect, the Secretary or the investigating law enforcement agency to visually observe the 
child who is the alleged victim of abuse or neglect.
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The bill amends the Code to require the Secretary for Children and Families or a law 
enforcement agency, upon investigation by law enforcement or assignment by the Secretary of 
any investigation of physical abuse or physical neglect, pursuant to this provision, that concerns 
a child five years of age or younger, to make a CARE referral for such child. The bill allows, in 
any other investigation of physical abuse, emotional abuse, medical neglect, or physical neglect 
conducted pursuant to the section, the Secretary, the law enforcement agency, or the agency’s 
designee to make a CARE referral for such child.

CARE Exams and Review

The bill  requires a CARE provider,  when a CARE referral  by a child  abuse medical 
resource center recommends a CARE exam be conducted by such CARE provider during an 
investigation of child abuse or neglect, to report a determination in a completed review that a 
child has been subject to physical abuse, emotional abuse, medical neglect, or physical neglect 
to the Secretary for Children and Families, the local law enforcement agency, or the agency’s 
designee, if such a determination is made. The bill requires the Secretary, upon receipt of such 
review, to  consider  and include the review in  making recommendations regarding the care, 
safety, and placement of the child and maintain the review in the case record.

The  bill  provides  such  review  to  be  confidential  and  not  be  disclosed,  with  certain 
exceptions outlined in the bill and in continuing law.

The bill specifies that, in order to provide forensic evaluation services to a child alleged 
to  be a  victim of  physical  abuse,  emotional  abuse,  medical  neglect,  or  physical  neglect  in 
investigations that include a CARE exam:

● Child  abuse  medical  resource  centers  be  allowed  to  collaborate  directly  or 
through technology with CARE providers to provide forensic medical evaluations, 
medical training, support, mentoring, and peer review to enhance the skill and 
role  of  child  abuse  medical  resource  centers  and  the  CARE  providers  in  a 
multidisciplinary context;

● CARE providers and child abuse medical resource centers be required to provide 
and receive specialized training for medical evaluations conducted in a hospital 
or child advocacy center, or by a private health care professional, without the 
need for an agreement between such center and provider; and

● The CARE network  be  required  to  develop  recommendations  concerning the 
medical-based screening process and forensic evidence collection for a child and 
provide  such  recommendations  to  CARE  providers,  child  advocacy  centers, 
hospitals, and licensed practitioners.

Responsibilities of the Secretary of Health and Environment

The bill requires the Secretary of Health and Environment to implement and administer 
training for CARE providers to establish and maintain compliance with the requirements of the 
Code and assist in the implementation of the bill’s provisions.
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The bill  requires the Secretary of Health and Environment to pay for and manage a 
network referral system and to adopt rules and regulations as necessary, subject to available 
appropriations. A CARE provider is required to submit all charges for payment of reviews and 
CARE exams to the Secretary within 90 days of  performing a CARE review or  exam. The 
Secretary is required to pay all charges directly to a CARE provider within 30 days after charges 
are submitted. The bill specifies such payment amount to be only for the exam at a rate not to 
exceed $750, excluding treatment that may be required due to the diagnosis, or any facility fees, 
supplies, or laboratory or radiology testing.

The bill also bans a provider found to have submitted fraudulent charges from the CARE 
network,  requires  the  Secretary  of  Health  and  Environment  to  report  such  incident  to  the 
provider’s  licensing board,  and requires  such licensing board  to investigate the Secretary’s 
report to determine whether unprofessional conduct had occurred.

The bill also requires the Secretary of Health and Environment to prepare and present, 
on or before January 31, 2024, a report to House Committee on Child Welfare and Foster Care 
and the Senate Committee on Public Health and Welfare, or their successor committees, of the 
activities  and  operations  under  the  CARE Program.  The  bill  requires  the  report  to  include 
specified items. 

CARE Fund

The bill establishes in the State Treasury the Child Abuse Review and Evaluation Fund 
(Fund), to be administered by the Secretary of Health and Environment. The bill requires all 
expenditures from the Fund to be for payments of CARE exams, training of CARE providers, 
and the implementation and administration of the CARE program, as described above. The bill 
requires all expenditures from the Fund to be made in accordance with appropriation acts upon 
warrants of the Director of Accounts and Reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the 
Secretary or the Secretary’s designee. The bill requires all moneys received for CARE exams 
and  CARE provider  training  to  be  remitted  to  the  State  Treasurer  and  requires  the  State 
Treasurer to deposit the entire amount in the State Treasury to the credit of the Fund. 

Representative Gail Finney Memorial Foster Care Bill of Rights

Jurisdiction, Indian Child Welfare Act

The bill amends law governing jurisdiction of proceedings under the Code to specify the 
provisions contained in the Bill of Rights may not apply when an Indian child is involved in a 
child in need of care (CINC) proceeding, and states the ICWA applies instead.

Definition of “Kinship Caregiver”

The bill adds a definition of “kinship caregiver” to the Code: an adult that the Secretary 
for Children and Families has selected for placement for a CINC with whom the child or child’s 
parent already has close emotional ties.
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Rights of Foster Youth

The bill provides that, consistent with the policy of the State expressed in the Code to 
provide proper care and protection of foster youth, such youth have certain rights, as described 
by the bill, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 

Rights of Foster Parents and Kinship Caregivers

The bill  states that,  consistent with the policy of the State expressed in the Code to 
ensure  active  participation  of  foster  parents  and  kinship  caregivers  as  an  integral, 
indispensable, and vital role in the State’s efforts to care for foster youth, such foster parents 
and kinship caregivers have certain rights, as described by the bill, unless otherwise ordered by 
the court. 

Notification of Rights; Prohibition on Private Right of Action 

The bill  requires the Secretary for  Children and Families to  provide written and oral 
notification of the Bill of Rights as well as information for filing complaints to foster youth, foster 
parents,  and  kinship  caregivers,  and  make  the  Bill  of  Rights  available  on  the  Secretary’s 
website.

The bill also requires case management providers to make available physical and digital 
copies of the Bill of Rights.

The  bill  specifies  that  the  Bill  of  Rights  does  not  create  a  private  right  of  action 
independent of the Code, but may be enforced through equitable relief in a corresponding CINC 
case. 
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