
Kansas Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act; Notice of Excavation; Virtual 
Whitelining; HB 2226

HB 2226 amends the Kansas Underground Utility  Damage Prevention Act  regarding 
excavation notification and whitelining (i.e., the marking of a site for excavation).

The bill  changes several definitions, including updating the definition of whitelining to 
allow for virtual whitelining with the use of technology and makes several changes to notification 
and  location  requirements  including,  but  not  limited  to,  extending  the  maximum  allowable 
number of days for notice of intent to excavate from 15 to 20 days, and requiring immediate 
notification of contact or damage to underground facilities.

Definition Changes

The bill changes the definition of “permitted project” by requiring a permit applicant to 
serve notice to all underground facility operators of an intent to excavate instead of locating 
such facilities in the area of work.

Further, the bill  changes the definition of “tolerance zone” to mean not more than 24 
inches outside the dimensions of an underground facility for facilities in which a larger tolerance 
zone has not been established in rules and regulations by the Kansas Corporation Commission 
(KCC) or not more than 60 inches outside the dimensions of an underground water or waste 
water facility.

The bill amends the definition of “whitelining” to include the use of technology developed 
for the purpose of the identification of routes or boundaries, allowing an excavator to provide a 
virtual excavation path when applying for a ticket.

Notification and Location Requirements 

The bill increases the maximum number of calendar days for a notice to excavate to be 
served from 15 to 20. The bill also increases the number of calendar days an intent to excavate 
notification is  valid  from 15 to 20 days and allows the KCC to adjust,  not  withstanding the 
statutory maximum, the extent of time that a notice is valid through the rules and regulations 
process.

The  bill  also  changes  the  two-working-day  notification  requirement  for  providing 
tolerance zone locations to a determination made by the KCC in rules and regulations and no 
longer requires an operator, after notification from an excavator, to re-identify tolerance zones 
whose  physical  identifiers  have  been  improperly  removed  or  altered  within  one  day  of 
notification from the notification center.

The bill requires individuals filing a notice of intent to excavate to whiteline the site at the 
request of the operator in all instances and removes the requirement that a whiteline must be 
completed prior to facility locations being identified.
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Notification of Damage

The bill requires an excavator to immediately notify an underground facility operator and 
the notification center when contact or damage has been made to an underground facility. The 
bill also requires the notification center to contact the underground facility operator when such 
contact or damage occurs.

The bill changes the notification threshold for civil action when there is a failure of an 
operator  to inform the excavator  of  the tolerance zone of  the underground facility  from two 
working days to prior to the excavation start date.
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