
Kansas Child Mutilation Prevention Act; SB 26

SB 26 creates  the  Kansas  Child  Mutilation  Prevention  Act  (Act).  The  bill allows  an 
individual who had gender reassignment service performed as a child to bring a civil cause of 
action under the Act against the physician who performed such service. The bill establishes the 
statute of limitations for such cause of action, the relief that could be sought, and the time frame 
to which the Act applies. The provisions of the Act do not apply if the child was born with a 
medically verifiable disorder of sex development, as defined in the bill. 

The bill  also requires the Kansas State Board of Healing Arts (Board) to revoke the 
license of a physician who has performed a childhood gender reassignment service.

Definitions

The bill defines the following terms:

● “Childhood gender reassignment service” means performing, or causing to be 
performed, acts including, but not limited to, any of the following performed on a 
child under 18 years of age for the purpose of attempting to affirm the child’s 
perception of the child’s sex or gender, if that perception is inconsistent with the 
child’s sex:

○ A surgery that sterilizes or is intended to result in sterilization, including, 
but  not  limited  to,  castration,  vasectomy,  hysterectomy,  oophorectomy, 
orchiectomy and penectomy;

○ A  surgery  that  artificially  constructs  tissue  with  the  appearance  of 
genitalia,  including,  but  not  limited to,  metoidioplasty,  phalloplasty,  and 
vaginoplasty;

○ A mastectomy;

○ Prescribing,  dispensing,  administering,  or  otherwise  supplying  the 
following medications:

-  Puberty-blocking medication to delay,  hinder,  stop,  or  reverse 
normal puberty;

- Supraphysiologic doses of testosterone to females; or

- Supraphysiologic doses of estrogen to males; or

○ Removing any body part or tissue;

● “Physician”  means a person licensed by  the  Board  to  practice  medicine  and 
surgery;

● “Sex”  means  the  biological  state  of  being  female  or  male  based  on  the 
individual’s sex organs, chromosomes, and endogenous hormone profiles; and
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● “Supraphysiologic doses” means a pharmacologic dosage regimen that produces 
blood concentrations greater than the accepted range for a child’s age and sex.

Medically Verifiable Disorder of Sex Development

The Act does not apply if a child was born with a medically verifiable disorder of sex 
development, including, but not limited to:

● A  child  with  external  biological  sex  characteristics  that  are  irresolvably 
ambiguous, such as a child born having 46,XX chromosomes with virilization, 
46,XY chromosomes with undervirilization, or both ovarian and testicular tissue; 
or

● When a physician has otherwise diagnosed a disorder of sexual development, 
determined through genetic or biochemical testing, that the child does not have 
the normal sex chromosome structure, sex steroid hormone production, or sex 
steroid hormone action for a male or female of the child’s age.

Civil Cause of Action

Statute of Limitations

The bill allows a civil cause of action under the Act to be commenced no more than 3 
years after the date the individual attains 18 years of age.

Time Frame for Application of Act

The Act applies to: 

● Any action commenced on or after July 1, 2023, including any action that would 
be barred by the period of limitation applicable prior to such date; and

● Any action commenced prior to July 1, 2023, and pending on such date.

Available Relief

The bill provides that an individual who brings a civil cause of action under the Act could 
seek actual damages, exemplary or punitive damages, injunctive relief, and other appropriate 
relief. The bill requires the court to award the prevailing plaintiff the cost of the suit including 
reasonable attorney fees.
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Physician License Revocation

The  bill  requires  the  Board  to  revoke  a  physician’s  license  upon  a  finding  that  the 
physician had performed a childhood gender reassignment service, as defined by the Act.
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